We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful and very special place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Save Saved
You added Deetjen's Big Sur Inn to your Saves list
48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“wonderful and very special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

stayed two nights while driving down the coast on highway 1-
Wonderfully located in the middle of the redwood forest on highway 1.
Truely a historic place with old wooden cabins built in the 1930's by the founder.
Most in original redwood.
So the comforts are also according to the place: a little sparce, but then you get so much else.
Woodfired fireplace in room. old pioneer spirit charm, and a great atmodsphere also in the restaurant which serves great food.
Can only recommend to try this place for everyone.
Be aware that the walls between the rooms are VERY VERY thin.
You can hear everything. But most people act accordingly and with consideration for their neighbours so this was only a minor annoyance.

Room Tip: check the website carefully and choose according to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    86
    32
    14
    13
See reviews for
35
175
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The room was cosy, and super-warm once we had got the fire going, and at night all you can hear is the creek (and sometimes your neighbours in the next room - the walls are thin). This place is brilliantly ramshackle, and there are some nice trails up the hill, which are worth walking while you're here. Food here is good, and it was a wonderful, homely, place to be for a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I really took some time to research different hotels in big sur. This seemed to offer the best balance of price/location with an added quirky touch. The lack of wifi and cell service made for a relaxing departure from everyday chaos. Free coffee and tea are served in the AM and an assortment of delicious breakfast dishes can be purchased at a really reasonable price. Dinner is on the pricey side but that's par for the course at big sur. That aside, the food was amazing. My room had journals filled with entries back to the late 90s which really made for an interesting experience. Big sur is a place to just let go and take some deep breaths. This is by far the best place to make that happen.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Charming place with wonderful ambiance. Service was friendly and efficient but although I really enjoyed it I am not used to paying close to two hundred for a room with shared bathroom. The room and dinning area was decorated with a wonderful eclectic flare. I can only imagine what the gardens would be like in the summer. We took advantage of the Esalen Institute 1 to 3 am hot springs which is when it is open to the public and were treated to a bath alone and a meteor shower display. Incredible. We had dinner and breakfast at deetjens and although it was expensive both were well worth
It. One of the top 10 meals I have had in years. My wallet was lighter after our stay but I am happy we spurged.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Compared with the Ventana and Post Ranch inns close by, Deetjen's is the clear cheaper alternative in Big Sur and I imagine this is main reason many people stay there. (Indeed, we heard our neighbors saying exactly this through the famously thin walls.) In itself, though, Deetjen's is an absolutely charming hotel, completely un-standardized, with great attention to detail: the pillows and beds, for example, are very comfortable, and the rooms and wood-burning stoves are cleaned impeccably each day. Yes, in some of the rooms you can hear a lot of what your neighbors are doing and the doors don't lock, but somehow it doesn't matter much -- especially with Big Sur to head out into. Our only disappointment on our second stay was with the bathroom, which needed updating and enlarging -- there was barely enough legroom to sit on the toilet. Also, it seems you have to pick your room carefully at Deetjen's -- our room this time was significantly nicer than the last time we stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

After the breathtaking drive down PCH - pulling into Deetjens was perfect. Rustic and charming. Check in was simple. We stayed in the room called Edys, which was a nice size for two of us (a couple) and it had its own bathroom. Oh and a buddha statue out the window, which we loved. We had a little siesta before dinner and we laughed when we heard the neighbors using the bathroom next door. This place is not for everyone - you can hear everything! The wood is creaky and the walls are thin. Dinner was delicious, too - steaks and veg and a California red of some sort. Not cheap but delicious and excellent to be able to have a few glasses of wine without having to get in a car - just walked over to Edys and tucked in for a cosy nights sleep.

Room Tip: Make a reservation for dinner at Deetjens! Food is great and it's so nice to just pull in and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed at Deetjen's many years ago. Returned recently. Still a rustic blast from the past. No door locks. Funky and not for everyone. Stayed in Stokes this time. Could enjoy the sound of the creek.The restaurant is still great with good food and is cozy especially in the rain. Cat claims the chair closest to the fire place. Feline knows best. Enjoyed the quiet of no phone, TV or internet or w- fi. The written comments in the room books from past guests were funny and telling. Deetjan's is an institution and on big sur time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deetjen's Big Sur Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.