We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Unique !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truly Unique !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I really took some time to research different hotels in big sur. This seemed to offer the best balance of price/location with an added quirky touch. The lack of wifi and cell service made for a relaxing departure from everyday chaos. Free coffee and tea are served in the AM and an assortment of delicious breakfast dishes can be purchased at a really reasonable price. Dinner is on the pricey side but that's par for the course at big sur. That aside, the food was amazing. My room had journals filled with entries back to the late 90s which really made for an interesting experience. Big sur is a place to just let go and take some deep breaths. This is by far the best place to make that happen.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    81
    32
    14
    13
See reviews for
30
170
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Charming place with wonderful ambiance. Service was friendly and efficient but although I really enjoyed it I am not used to paying close to two hundred for a room with shared bathroom. The room and dinning area was decorated with a wonderful eclectic flare. I can only imagine what the gardens would be like in the summer. We took advantage of the Esalen Institute 1 to 3 am hot springs which is when it is open to the public and were treated to a bath alone and a meteor shower display. Incredible. We had dinner and breakfast at deetjens and although it was expensive both were well worth
It. One of the top 10 meals I have had in years. My wallet was lighter after our stay but I am happy we spurged.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Compared with the Ventana and Post Ranch inns close by, Deetjen's is the clear cheaper alternative in Big Sur and I imagine this is main reason many people stay there. (Indeed, we heard our neighbors saying exactly this through the famously thin walls.) In itself, though, Deetjen's is an absolutely charming hotel, completely un-standardized, with great attention to detail: the pillows and beds, for example, are very comfortable, and the rooms and wood-burning stoves are cleaned impeccably each day. Yes, in some of the rooms you can hear a lot of what your neighbors are doing and the doors don't lock, but somehow it doesn't matter much -- especially with Big Sur to head out into. Our only disappointment on our second stay was with the bathroom, which needed updating and enlarging -- there was barely enough legroom to sit on the toilet. Also, it seems you have to pick your room carefully at Deetjen's -- our room this time was significantly nicer than the last time we stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

After the breathtaking drive down PCH - pulling into Deetjens was perfect. Rustic and charming. Check in was simple. We stayed in the room called Edys, which was a nice size for two of us (a couple) and it had its own bathroom. Oh and a buddha statue out the window, which we loved. We had a little siesta before dinner and we laughed when we heard the neighbors using the bathroom next door. This place is not for everyone - you can hear everything! The wood is creaky and the walls are thin. Dinner was delicious, too - steaks and veg and a California red of some sort. Not cheap but delicious and excellent to be able to have a few glasses of wine without having to get in a car - just walked over to Edys and tucked in for a cosy nights sleep.

Room Tip: Make a reservation for dinner at Deetjens! Food is great and it's so nice to just pull in and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed at Deetjen's many years ago. Returned recently. Still a rustic blast from the past. No door locks. Funky and not for everyone. Stayed in Stokes this time. Could enjoy the sound of the creek.The restaurant is still great with good food and is cozy especially in the rain. Cat claims the chair closest to the fire place. Feline knows best. Enjoyed the quiet of no phone, TV or internet or w- fi. The written comments in the room books from past guests were funny and telling. Deetjan's is an institution and on big sur time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Deetjen's is a great spot for touring Big Sur. Close to Nepenthe, Ventana Inn, Post Ranch Inn, beautiful state parks, etc. It's not everyone's cup of tea, as it's rustic, and you will hear your neighbors. The bed we had was surprisingly good, firm, with a nice down comforter. The cabin itself was rustic but certainly functional. This is not your typical vacation lodging, but if you can accept that you'll find the service is very friendly, the food is decent and the setting is very charming. And if you've never been to Big Sur, do yourself a favor and get there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Deetjen's is a small B&B style inn nestled in the trees just off the road in Big Sur. The best part of staying at Deetjen's is its restaurant which has very good food and friendly, informed service. The downside is that the rooms are a bit small ("cosy"), the buildings old shabby wood (but fairly nicely appointed inside) and the Inn is off by itself (except for a very "small library," there is no common area). So if you go there, you probably better like solitude -- which many would describe as a key element of the Big Sur experience.

An alternative approach is to stay up in the Carmel/Monterey area -- which offers a lot more activity & accommodation options -- and make the hour drive down to Big Sur. The Big Sur coast is worth seeing for its extraordinary views of the Pacific Ocean and the steep rise from the ocean to the mountains above -- a photographer's playground.

Deetjen's rooms are priced in the $200-250/night range which may seem pricey for what you are getting but are a screaming bargain relative to the "high end spas" in the area (Ventana and Post Ranch Inn) where the prices usually start at $600+. If you are looking to do the trip less expensively, look into the many camping options in the area ... or consider the Monterey/Carmel area options.

Room Tip: Note that some of the rooms share a bath room -- avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deetjen's Big Sur Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Deetjen's Big Sur Inn to your Saves list