We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rustic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Save
You added Deetjen's Big Sur Inn to your Saves list
48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“rustic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed at Deetjen's many years ago. Returned recently. Still a rustic blast from the past. No door locks. Funky and not for everyone. Stayed in Stokes this time. Could enjoy the sound of the creek.The restaurant is still great with good food and is cozy especially in the rain. Cat claims the chair closest to the fire place. Feline knows best. Enjoyed the quiet of no phone, TV or internet or w- fi. The written comments in the room books from past guests were funny and telling. Deetjan's is an institution and on big sur time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    101
    39
    14
    16
See reviews for
46
210
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Deetjen's is a great spot for touring Big Sur. Close to Nepenthe, Ventana Inn, Post Ranch Inn, beautiful state parks, etc. It's not everyone's cup of tea, as it's rustic, and you will hear your neighbors. The bed we had was surprisingly good, firm, with a nice down comforter. The cabin itself was rustic but certainly functional. This is not your typical vacation lodging, but if you can accept that you'll find the service is very friendly, the food is decent and the setting is very charming. And if you've never been to Big Sur, do yourself a favor and get there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Deetjen's is a small B&B style inn nestled in the trees just off the road in Big Sur. The best part of staying at Deetjen's is its restaurant which has very good food and friendly, informed service. The downside is that the rooms are a bit small ("cosy"), the buildings old shabby wood (but fairly nicely appointed inside) and the Inn is off by itself (except for a very "small library," there is no common area). So if you go there, you probably better like solitude -- which many would describe as a key element of the Big Sur experience.

An alternative approach is to stay up in the Carmel/Monterey area -- which offers a lot more activity & accommodation options -- and make the hour drive down to Big Sur. The Big Sur coast is worth seeing for its extraordinary views of the Pacific Ocean and the steep rise from the ocean to the mountains above -- a photographer's playground.

Deetjen's rooms are priced in the $200-250/night range which may seem pricey for what you are getting but are a screaming bargain relative to the "high end spas" in the area (Ventana and Post Ranch Inn) where the prices usually start at $600+. If you are looking to do the trip less expensively, look into the many camping options in the area ... or consider the Monterey/Carmel area options.

Room Tip: Note that some of the rooms share a bath room -- avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Love it or hate it (we love it), Deetjen's is old, rustic, never changing and loaded with history. You must want and expect the laid back Big Sur life style to stay at Deetjen's Big Sur Inn because there is no Internet, no cell phone reception, no TV, no radios, no room service, no hot tubs, no fancy rooms and no bathrobes. But, that's what relaxing in Big Sur is all about! Deetjen's is along the spectacular, world famous, unspoiled stretch of Route 1, and the vistas get no better than this. Deetjen's serves great breakfasts and dinners -- perhaps the best in Big Sur, and view-intensive lunches can be enjoyed at nearby Nepanthe and at the nearby Coastal Gallery Cafe.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Booked this hotel as it appeared to be the only one in the area that looked good , and did not cost a fortune! A strange experience! Our "room" was like an upstairs wooden shack--you could actually see through the planks There was a lovely balcony to sit and relax, which was very relaxing as the coast road is tortuous. The room was very clean , there is no phone , television or any device to bring you into contact with the big bad world! The shower was quint , as was the whole set up. Worth a stay just for the novelty factor.
Reception was efficient but frosty--dinner was a delight. Great food , excellent staff and wonderful ambiance--would unreservedly recommend.
A door key would have been helpful--we were traveling for 5 weeks so had valuables with us that we had to lock in the car. Having had every thing stolen from our car a couple of years ago this is not a good solution.

Room Tip: There was a little cottage on its own--ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

we stayed here about a year ago and loved it....stayed in the champagne cottage. the rooms are quaint,rustic,but comfortable. no locks on doors though...that really scared me but it was so peaceful there. there was a creek outside and you could hear it; puts you right to sleep, you could walk a path that led you to a spectacular view of big sur...you are in the woods and in a very serene environment. The restaurant is amazing....so homey and the food is sooo good......nice place to stay....we will be back.

Room Tip: i really like the cottage that is apart from everyone else....that is where i want to stay next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at Deetjen's with my daughter. It is certainly an interesting hotel, quaint and countrified and its surrounding really beautiful. Our dinner at the restaurant was superb, with great wines. Our room (Grandpa's) was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was that none of the rooms have a key, which I found rather worrying. I locked all my belongings in the car whilst we ate at the restaurant and could only sleep that night after wedging a couple of chairs beneath our door. I was assured by the staff at reception that no-one had ever had a problem but I still found the lack of security a concern. Maybe if you are used to camping (which I am not) this would be okay. All in all, we enjoyed our stay but I would only return if I could have a key to my room!

Room Tip: Have a relaxed attitude - be a hippy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
24.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
19.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
23.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.9 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
4.9 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deetjen's Big Sur Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.