We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average lodging in a lovely area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Sur Lodge
Save
You added Big Sur Lodge to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   47225 Highway One, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
SW USA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Average lodging in a lovely area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stay often in lodges in National Parks and thought this would be as nice. They are called cabins but they really aren't. They are more motel style. Each unit has a deck out back, right next to the room next door, not very private at all. The rooms are close to Hwy. 1 so you get some noise. The setting is very "treesy" and there are deer and wild turkeys walking around in the afternoon. Did like that. Pool is heated. Rooms have no a/c so you have to sleep with the windows open, they also supply a fan. It was hot the first night we were there. The bedding had stains on it, not very clean. Good water pressure in the shower. No fridge in room which would have been helpful. Rooms are large, bed not great. No wifi, they are happy to tell you that it is a third party that supplies the wifi and it cost $5.00 per hour, $20.00 per day per device. A real rip off. They don't bother to tell you that just up the road to the north, in the Ripplewood Resort, the Big Sur Public Library offers free wifi to everyone as does, to the south, the Henry Miller Library. The restaurant is expensive and not very good. Almost 8 dollars for a pint of beer on tap, Cobb Salad not great and expensive. Only ate there once, when we arrived. Much better places to eat nearby, such as the Ripplewood Resort, just north of the lodge. Expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
TravelNowSwUsa- My goodness! We are so surprised to read your review. We strive to please each and every customer and we are so disappointed we were unable to live up to your tastes and expectations. We are glad you liked the redwood setting and the swimming pool. As to all other concerns, please know that your feedback will be discussed with management. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. We do receive an abundance of compliments about our side by side decks, as some guests enjoy socializing over coffee in the mornings. The next time you visit if you want more privacy, you might ask for an end unit. Please know that portable fridges are available upon request and we also offer rooms with kitchenettes. Concerning wireless, the majority of our guests do come to Big Sur for the nature setting and retreat-like atmosphere and these guests prefer to be “off the grid” and disconnected from technology. For guests needing Wi-Fi during their stay, we offer the Wi-Fi as an elective amenity. We thank you for visiting and we wish you the very best and a happy summer month ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    135
    64
    29
    33
See reviews for
100
129
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The 4 of us (wife, twin daughters and I) enjoyed our stay in the cabin at the Big Sur lodge. Cabin had 2 rooms with comfortable queen beds and bathroom. When not hiking around the various parks nearby kids and us were in the lodge pool. Very nice setting, in the middle of the giant redwoods, deer and fawns and wild turkeys on the property. We dined a couple of times and had breakfast at the lodge restaurant, very good food and wonderful service.
Wifi available for purchase, we did not use, wanted to stay 'off the grid' as much as possible; cell phone reception is spotty as well along the highway 1 corridor in the area but hey, what's wrong with that?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
mischi2003- Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed being “off the grid” from technology in the redwood tree and wildlife setting of Big Sur Lodge. Thank you for the compliments about your room, the service, and the food. We look forward to your next visit and we hope you and your children will have fun at our swimming pool again soon! Happy summer ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We love Big Sur Lodge! This place is great if you want to enjoy rustic, even 'glamping' esque experience in the stunning redwoods. We are (frankly constant) domestic & world travellers who have stayed everywhere from tent camping to the finest, priciest resorts & we loved our time here. I first stayed here in my early 20s as an affordable place to attend a ritzy wedding nearby. Back then I found the cabins, pool & redwoods charming. Now 13 years later... I returned with my husband & 3 kids & found it just as charming & LOVED it. This time we had a large cabin with 2 bedrooms & a kitchen. And a shocking number of beds (2 x queens & 2 x singles.) There was tons of room & my kids (like me many years ago) loved the pool. The restaurant is surprisingly FABULOUS. Organic, local, California cuisine served with care and pride. We ate all 3 meals there for 2 days straight - just because! It was that good. Kids frolicked in the pool, hiked, marveled at deer and fawn, wild turkeys, and a very happy, well fed skunk. We made friends with other families staying who seemed equally taken with the place. Actually all the people we met were friendly & fun. It's like a small community of people all just having a great time. I can't recommend this enough for the adventurous family who want to have rustic, yet elegant fun in Big Sur. We're definitely going back!

Room Tip: All the cabins seem great but our big one was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
LosAngeles Traveler23- Thank you for your fabulous review! We appreciate you bringing your family to stay with us at Big Sur Lodge and for being a repeat customer. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room, the restaurant, the wildlife and the other guests. We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for recommending Big Sur Lodge to other travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beresford, South Dakota, USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I loved this place - it is so peaceful and beautiful, right inside the state park and the giant redwoods are just outside your cabin. The cabins are tastefully done, and mine had a fireplace which was really nice. The other nice thing about this place is the restaurant, where the food was amazing with another beautiful view of the forest. The only complaint I had is that I only stayed one night, as I was on my way through. Next time I will stay longer.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace. They have wood at the hotel convenience store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
PeterF- Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Big Sur Lodge. The redwood setting is very peaceful and beautiful, isn't it? Thank you for the compliments about your fireplace room and the restaurant and also for sharing a room tip with other travelers. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you want to camp, then go camping. If you want luxury or really clean rooms, this is not for you.
However, the location is great. The 2 room cabins are nice for a family. The kitchenette is nice for a family. The pool is great. The restaurant is quite good.
If we came again, I would bring those disinfectant wipes to wipe down every surface and lamp shade and molding because they were QUITE dusty and dirty. One of my white towels had a large brown stain, but the others were clean and the bed linens were clean. The fridge wasnt really clean, but who's is, really? If you want stainless steel pans obviously bring your own. Its warm at night, so we were happy we packed a fan. Check-in was delayed because of lack of housecleaning staff, so that was a drag with a young baby who needed a nap. Other than that- it was a lovely visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Gogotraveling- Thank you for visiting Big Sur Lodge. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the location, swimming pool and restaurant. We are sorry that the condition of the room did not meet your expectations and that your check in was delayed. Anytime you stay with us, you are welcome to reach out to our front desk staff with any concerns. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had been in the lodge several years ago but had not stayed in the cottages. Yes, it's a bit out dated but our cottage was huge. We had a fireplace, queen and twin in one room and separate queen bedroom. The balcony in the front was a great place to watch the wild turkey's and enjoy the surrounding redwoods. There are several great hikes that are accessible on the property. We thought the lodge was a great one-stop place; general store, fireplace and seating area, convenient takeout food for snacks or a picnic, outdoor patio overlooking the creek, and the indoor restaurant. We really enjoyed the restaurant and were disappointed that more people weren't taking advantage of the great view of the redwoods and the good food. Both days, our service and food were excellent (try the salmon entree!). We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Sloslp- Thank you for visiting Big Sur Lodge and for being a repeat customer. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room with the balcony and the surrounding redwood trees, wildlife and nearby hiking. Thank you for the compliments about the general store, lobby/lounge, deli, outdoor patio, restaurant, service and food. We appreciate your kind words. Thank you for leaving a review and please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We recently visited the Big Sur Lodge. It was a bit out dated and over priced, but it served it's purpose. Our cabin was clean and had plenty of room. Our cabin had two queen and two twin. Not bad for a family of four. The staff was friendly. There is a nice restaurant in the main lodge and the food is excellent. I was pleasantly surprised at the trails among the redwood. Beautiful. Book your reservation well in advance to get the room you want.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Justme_iris- Thank you for bringing your family to stay at Big Sur Lodge! We are glad that you enjoyed your room, the hiking trails and our restaurant. Thank you for the kind words and compliments about our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Sur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Lodge

Address: 47225 Highway One, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Sur Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pfeiffer State Park, Big Sur Lodge offers single, double, and family size rooms with fireplaces and kitchenettes and a myriad of wonderful outdoor activities for all travelers' needs including hiking and swimming. There is a restaurant, outdoor patio, gift store, and deli. Wedding and corporate group events/dining facilities are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Sur Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.