We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“remember, you're lucky enough to not be in a smelly tent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Sur Lodge
Save
You added Big Sur Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   47225 Highway One, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“remember, you're lucky enough to not be in a smelly tent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you want to camp, then go camping. If you want luxury or really clean rooms, this is not for you.
However, the location is great. The 2 room cabins are nice for a family. The kitchenette is nice for a family. The pool is great. The restaurant is quite good.
If we came again, I would bring those disinfectant wipes to wipe down every surface and lamp shade and molding because they were QUITE dusty and dirty. One of my white towels had a large brown stain, but the others were clean and the bed linens were clean. The fridge wasnt really clean, but who's is, really? If you want stainless steel pans obviously bring your own. Its warm at night, so we were happy we packed a fan. Check-in was delayed because of lack of housecleaning staff, so that was a drag with a young baby who needed a nap. Other than that- it was a lovely visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Gogotraveling- Thank you for visiting Big Sur Lodge. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the location, swimming pool and restaurant. We are sorry that the condition of the room did not meet your expectations and that your check in was delayed. Anytime you stay with us, you are welcome to reach out to our front desk staff with any concerns. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    133
    63
    29
    32
See reviews for
99
127
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had been in the lodge several years ago but had not stayed in the cottages. Yes, it's a bit out dated but our cottage was huge. We had a fireplace, queen and twin in one room and separate queen bedroom. The balcony in the front was a great place to watch the wild turkey's and enjoy the surrounding redwoods. There are several great hikes that are accessible on the property. We thought the lodge was a great one-stop place; general store, fireplace and seating area, convenient takeout food for snacks or a picnic, outdoor patio overlooking the creek, and the indoor restaurant. We really enjoyed the restaurant and were disappointed that more people weren't taking advantage of the great view of the redwoods and the good food. Both days, our service and food were excellent (try the salmon entree!). We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Sloslp- Thank you for visiting Big Sur Lodge and for being a repeat customer. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room with the balcony and the surrounding redwood trees, wildlife and nearby hiking. Thank you for the compliments about the general store, lobby/lounge, deli, outdoor patio, restaurant, service and food. We appreciate your kind words. Thank you for leaving a review and please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We recently visited the Big Sur Lodge. It was a bit out dated and over priced, but it served it's purpose. Our cabin was clean and had plenty of room. Our cabin had two queen and two twin. Not bad for a family of four. The staff was friendly. There is a nice restaurant in the main lodge and the food is excellent. I was pleasantly surprised at the trails among the redwood. Beautiful. Book your reservation well in advance to get the room you want.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Justme_iris- Thank you for bringing your family to stay at Big Sur Lodge! We are glad that you enjoyed your room, the hiking trails and our restaurant. Thank you for the kind words and compliments about our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We did the drive from LA to San Francisco. Lapped up the the drive along the Big Sur. Took in the views along the way and the manu stops available. It was the perfect final stop before going back into a city.

A rustic stay. Rooms were basic but clean and in the woods overlooking the coast.

Very nice restaurant good food and licensed evem though a State Park facility

Room Tip: Pick a cabin nearest the main lodge. It's hilly and it'll save you you time on the walk to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Alan H- Thank you for staying at Big Sur Lodge on your drive up the Coast. We are delighted to hear that you liked your room and our restaurant. Thank you for your excellent review and please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed here in March of this year (2014). The rooms are actually individual cabins with porches that are connected to each other.

I reserved a cabin with a single queen bed, but there was also a door to a second "bedroom" with twin beds. In addition, that room contained a sink and closet, but the odd thing was that there was another door, which I'm pretty sure led to the cabin next door -- I assumed they are connected in that manner so that either cabin could be used as a 3-bedroom, but still...I was a little uncomfortable because there were no locks on the either of the doors and it felt a little too close for comfort, since the other cabin was occupied as well.

Every thing was clean and neat -- nothing fancy, but clean and nice. There was an ironing board, coffeemaker, and a floor fan, (which was broken.)

Unfortunately, the walls are incredibly thin and the floor of my room (and the room on the other side of mine) were very creaky. On my second night, there was a couple with a small child in the room next door and I could hear EVERYTHING -- I heard the bedtime story, their plans for dinner, every time someone rolled over in bed,etc. It actually sounded like they were in the room with me.

I would have turned on the TV or radio to block out the noise, but I missed the part on the website where it mentioned there are no TVs, no radio, no phones. Nothing. So, bring a book and some games. A previous reviewer mentioned something WiFi, but when I asked at the front desk, the person on duty said they didn't have WiFi, so....who knows.

The main lodge/restaurant, however, were a different story: The gift shop/store was huge and well stocked -- guidebooks, gifts, hats, trinkets, etc., as well as snacks, beer, candy, camping supplies -- everything you might possibly need.

The restaurant was a surprise -- felt more like an upscale restaurant. Prices were pretty high, but the food was good. There's also a large stone patio with tables and heat lamps. There's also a small cafe attached that served coffee/lattes/muffins/pre-made sandwiches, etc.

Part of the draw of staying here was that as a guest, you get free admission to several nearby parks. It's also in a great location -- smack dab in the middle of Big Sur and only minutes from the most beautiful beach I've ever seen: Pfeiffer Beach, which is about a mile south of the lodge. The front desk has a handout with very detailed directions (which you'll need) to beaches and parks that are just north and south of the lodge.

While I didn't get the best night's rest, the location really can't be beat.

Room Tip: I'd would try and ask for a room cabin at the end. The cabins are attached to each other, but in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Lillehammer09- Thank you for your review and for staying at Big Sur Lodge in March 2014. We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our location and all the nearby attractions as well as our gift shop and restaurant. We are also very glad you liked your room and its amenities. As of May 2014, we are happy to report that we do have Wi-Fi for guests now! So, the next time you visit, if you are looking for Wi-Fi, it will be available for you as an elective amenity. Concerning the noise from the guests in the room adjacent to yours, we do sincerely apologize. Any time you stay with us, please feel free to reach out to our front desk attendant, who will be glad to intervene with your neighboring guests if at all possible. These historic room units were built in the 1960s and are single-wall construction, so there can be noise at times. The room unit you stayed in does have a third door, but it is locked on both sides. Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience with other travelers. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I didn't sleep here (I camped).

But the first time I had breakfast here I decided that would be my routine for my stay. Nice service; I happened to have a friendly host with a lot of local knowledge to boot. I had dinner here my last night in the park; it too hit the spot. A boardwalk through redwoods leads down to a nature trail that you should do; just note that it's an out-and-back, but worth it. I spent a considerable time hanging out here too, much of that by the cozy fireplace, and most of the rest in the nice little gift shop which also provisions campers.

If the rooms are as good as my experience of the place, well, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
DonnTheHiker- Thank you for dining with us and visiting our lobby and gift shop during your recent camping trip to Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast and dinner with us as well as the walk on the nature trail. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Come and have breakfast with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband and I went to visit an old friend and took him along on our travels up the coast. I really wasn't expecting much from Big Sur Lodge because it's among the cheaper accommodations in the area. However, we got a roomy, clean (no bugs) cabin with plenty of room for the 3 of us to spread out. Plenty of electrical outlets and surfaces for unpacking, eating, and making coffee or tea. I actually loved that it didn't have a tv. Due to my special diet, we required a fridge, and they sent one over very quickly after we arrived. The dining area in the lodge is nice, but service was better in the evening than at breakfast. The gift shop offers quite a lot, esp. If you forget to pack a hat or warm clothes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Innsbruck- Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your spacious room with lots of counter space, outlets, and a portable refrigerator. Thank you for dining in our restaurant and visiting our gift shop. We greatly appreciate your feedback on the restaurant staff and will be sure to let our Restaurant Manager know. Thank you again for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Sur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Lodge

Address: 47225 Highway One, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Sur Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pfeiffer State Park, Big Sur Lodge offers single, double, and family size rooms with fireplaces and kitchenettes and a myriad of wonderful outdoor activities for all travelers' needs including hiking and swimming. There is a restaurant, outdoor patio, gift store, and deli. Wedding and corporate group events/dining facilities are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Sur Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.