We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough room in a great setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Sur Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   47225 Highway One, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Quincy, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good enough room in a great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We paid a ton of money for a fireplace cabin here -- I suspect because there were a couple of weddings going on in the area -- and it was quite nice nonetheless. The rooms are dated and a little worn, but they're large and airy (cathedral ceiling w/skylight) and the roaring fire made for super cozy evenings.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
JonG-Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    126
    58
    29
    31
See reviews for
92
120
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We loved this hotel. It's located in Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park. We got a room with a fireplace. Rooms are very cozy and are in small cottages like bulidings. We had our own porch.
Hotel is situated in the forest so if you want somewhere quite this is the perfect palce. And smell od redwoods is amazing. The hotel is not the cheapest one, but you pay for the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
ania graz- Thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy to hear that you loved staying at Big Sur Lodge and enjoyed your time among the redwoods. Please visit us again; it would be our pleasure to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked in on the day, later on and they had a room with a fire. I booked in even though the cost was high. We followed the crazy map but found the room. When we let ourselves in the room was clearly as the previous occupants left it. The room was a complete mess! Back to reception, another room, this time stuffed with beds everywhere...even next the the fire.. With no seats etc. back to reception. They said they'd clean the first room...45 minutes. They said they'd come and get us. We'd been hiking all day and wanted to freshen up. However we got a drink at the bar (just wine and beer). No one came. We were hungry. No one came. We had a meal in the empty and sole less restaurant...a passable steak at a very high price. Eventually went to the reception.."oh yes, it is ready I think?" Checked in the room which was now clean (except for a few trash items left behind.

Next day checked out. Staff gave me a discount.. Appreciated. If only they could work their computer system

I'd book elsewhere. The company notice at reception said every member of staff had a button with their toll free number on...oh no they didn't! This hotel is clearly disorganised, has little charm, it's public rooms are dull and lack warmth. Big Sur = old world charm, big fires, snuggling up, great meals and relaxation. This hotel was charmless, manager less, disorganised and a disappointment. The only saving grace was the kindly man at reception who tried to apologise. Avoid this place if you can .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
DavidTilmuss-We are so sorry that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately, as you did not have a reservation at the time of arrival, we were limited to the rooms we had available. We apologize that the available fireplace rooms were not prepared or to your liking; we had other “non-fireplace” rooms available, but you elected to wait for a fireplace room, and we are sorry that the wait was longer than you anticipated. Thank you for your feedback, which we will use to improve operations as to last-minute, “walk-in” guests, and we appreciate your acknowledgment of the “kindly man at reception” who apologized and gave you a rate adjustment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

On arrival we are given a confusing map to our cabin (at least in the dark it is hard to follow....too many trees in the way ;)). The cabin is huge, we were overawed by the space. Easy to light fire and good facilities. Obviously no TV and WiFi as expected. The swimming pool was cold for a heated pool and the breakfast was not very tasty. We took the 5 km walk which left us gasping for breath but was worth it for the views. Not worth going to the waterfall (at this time of year) as it was just a dribble.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Jon T-Thank you for visiting us from England. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the setting, the spacious cabin and the 5K walk. Thank you for your feedback about your difficulty using the room map after dark, the swimming pool temperature, and breakfast; we will look into those issues as a result of your feedback. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

the location of this park is wonderful, you really feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, but with some home comforts! our room was spacious and in a great spot by the pool. the lodge / restaurant is only a short walk away and there are some kid friendly hikes close by. on check in we were disappointed that our kitchen was really dirty and had not been cleaned properly. i had to wash all the crockery before using. I did not expect luxury here but I do expect everything to be clean, and it was not. Not a great welcome. the food in the lodge was very good, but the service varies dramatically by individual. overall a great place to stay and explore with the family, it was a joy to see deer and turkey right outside our room,and to take an early morning trip to the beach. kids also loved the nature centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
roscopcoltraine-Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you found the location to be “wonderful,” that you liked your “spacious” room near the swimming pool, that you saw deer and a turkey right outside your room and that you enjoyed the surroundings so much. Our apologies that you felt your kitchen was not clean, and we wish you had called the front desk so that we could have sent housekeeping to assist. Whenever you visit, please feel free to always contact the front desk for any of your needs and we will be glad to correct any issue of concern. Thank you for your feedback about the restaurant; we are glad you found the food “very good,” and we will bring the need for consistency of service to the attention of the Restaurant Manager. Thank you again for spending time with us; we hope that you will visit us from Switzerland again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was my first trip to Big Sur, even though I'm a California native! I was shocked how close it was to the SF Bay Area. It was a kick driving over the beautiful & old Bixby Bridge on the way there. Anyway, I am glad my wife chose to book the Big Sur Lodge. The location was great, accommodations clean and comfortable, and nice environment. We stayed two nights.

The lodge itself is quite nice, located just off the highway, the staff was reasonably cordial, and general store had everything we needed. We had ice cream adjacent to the restaurant. We chose to have dinner elsewhere, but we had breakfast both mornings there - excellent!

The cabins were up the hill, away from the highway, surrounded by forest. A flock of turkey's makes its home there, and deer roamed the lawns surrounding the cabins. Stellar's jays and other birds abundant.

The pool was inviting but we had other activities to burn our time with. There is parking for one vehicle per room - adequate for us. We chose a unit with no kitchen and no fireplace - we were getting away from cooking and it was too warm for a fireplace (days were around 70 F).

From the cabins, it's a short walk to the trailhead for the water falls and for the valley view, as well as to the Big Sur State Park entrance and to the lodge itself. The room is expensive, but my wife and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
saxman48-Thank you for staying with us on your “first trip” to Big Sur. We are glad you enjoyed the drive over the beautiful Bixby Creek Bridge and that you and your wife would like to stay with us again. We appreciate your kind comments about the location, the accommodations, the parking, the service, the General Store, and your breakfasts in our restaurant. Thank you also for sharing your experience here with other readers and travelers and for letting them know about the birds, deer and the flock of turkeys that you encountered during your visit. Thank you again for your wonderful review; we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a two-week vacation in California. Of all the places we stayed (LA, Hollywood, San Fran), Big Sur Lodge was our family's favorite! We have stayed at many other state/national parks, and I had prepared my kids for "no frills". Imagine our surprise when we drove up the hill to find a beautiful swimming pool! The kids couldn't wait to get unpacked. We were also pleasantly surprised by the rooms. Large rooms, updated bedding, twin beds for the kids, extra towels and a deck to view the turkeys and deer roaming the grounds. We spent the afternoon at the pool, the evening playing games and the next morning hiking to the waterfall and showing our kids the Redwood trees. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer!! I would highly recommend Big Sur Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Mahtomedigirl- Thank you for your excellent review and recommendation. What a wonderful compliment to us that Big Sur Lodge was your “family’s favorite” during your two week vacation in California. We are so happy that your children enjoyed the swimming pool and that you liked your “large rooms,” bedding, “extra towels,” and the wildlife critters you saw from your deck. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Sur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Lodge

Address: 47225 Highway One, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Sur Lodge 3*
Also Known As:
Big Sur Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Big Sur Lodge to your Saves list