We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stop here if it's essential to do so” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur Deli

Big Sur Deli
47520 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
831-667-2225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Cuisines: American
Description: This is not an official restaurant, but a delicious deli below Big Sur Lodge.
Restaurant details
Description: This is not an official restaurant, but a delicious deli below Big Sur Lodge.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Only stop here if it's essential to do so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife & I stopped here on our drive down the coast and were both really looking forward to it - she got a tray of spaghetti and meatballs for almost $10, and I got a coffee and a big burrito for about $15. The coffee was stone cold before I even took it to the counter, although the checkout girl did remove the cost of the coffee when I mentioned it, and it was then microwaved to make it a lovely lukewarm. We then went outside and sat down to eat, during which I found that my burrito was cold in the middle too, the point of being almost frozen, and all the cheese had been put into one small area. Lovely. Apparently the spaghetti and meatballs were good though.

Unless you have a thing for cold microwaved food, the only reason to stop here is if you really need the bathroom or to pick up some bottled drinks or some pre-packed snacks. There are a lot of restaurants and cafes on the road through Big Sur. You would be much better off stopping at one of those instead, or just going to Subway before you get to Big Sur.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stop in for deli sandwiches, coffee, and whatever you need to kep you fuelled up for your Big Sur explorations. Reasonable prices, friendly service staff.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had read about the deli and decided to try it as an alternative to The Post Ranch experience. We were not disappointed. We both ordered the arugula salad which was huge and totally fresh. In addition, we both ordered vegetarian sandwiches to go for our dinner. They were also superb and with the remainder of our salad constituted our dinner that night while we watched the meteors on our porch at Post Ranch. Go here for an amazing value and food that equals Post ranch!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville OH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great stop both ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have not eaten at the restaurant but have bought food from the deli and store. They have cookies and muffins as big as your face! They are always busy and have clean bathrooms. They have a small room in the store to buy tee shirts and such. Good quality tees and sweat shirts and hoodies. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Get your packed lunch here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stopped here prior to hiking in Andrew Molera state park. Good sandwiches, reasonable prices. Samosas and tamales available too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Deli also viewed

 

Been to Big Sur Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.