We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch so you can be on your way to see the sights!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur Deli

Big Sur Deli
47520 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
831-667-2225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Cuisines: American
Description: This is not an official restaurant, but a delicious deli below Big Sur Lodge.
Restaurant details
Description: This is not an official restaurant, but a delicious deli below Big Sur Lodge.
Albuquerque, Nm
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Quick lunch so you can be on your way to see the sights!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

So here's my advice... stop in to the Big Sur Deli inside the Big Sur General Store, grab a quick lunch and take it with you to your next beautiful stop so you can enjoy the view and enjoy a good sammich. I had the pastrami sandwich and my traveling companion had the meatloaf sandwich. The portions are huge; you can easily share a meal or have leftovers for later (we had a cooler with us). It is a busy place but they were pretty quick. I thought the prices for the sammiches were reasonable, particularly considering their size. (Be aware, though, that the prices of the other snacks and goodies in the general store are on the pricey side.)

The turnoff to Pfeiffer State Beach is north of there on the left; take your lunch there and enjoy the scenery!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good Pitstop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you're driving route 1 and don't feel like taking time out for a full meal, this little bodega has great sandwiches (prewrapped or custom made), plus good homemade tamales. I suggest grabbing food here and heading to one of the local picnic spots. Really cheap too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Bare hands of the cashier handling our bread and cheese, UGH!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We arrived in Big Sur late and tired and we didn't feel like going out to diner so we chose to grab some take-out from the Big Sur Deli. Being that we were in Big Sur I was expecting classier service than having the cashier who just finished handling the cash in the register making our sandwiches with his bare hands without even pretending to wipe or wash his hands. Honestly, I wouldn't even expect that from a fast food dump much less a deli. We get grossed out easily and I had to keep what I saw a secret in addition to blocking it out of my own head so I could actually eat my sandwich. The food was very good and I would have given them 4 stars if not for the bare hands incident.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches and Tamales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is the deli right next to the Tap House. The sandwiches are outstanding, as are the wings, and tamales. We came back three times. This was the only place we found that didn't cost your first born son to eat some great food. The guys were super helpful and friendly. I am so glad to have found this spot.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stopped here to pick up sandwiches and beer to take to the beach. Food is great and the price is right. Lots of fun stuff in the general store type atmosphere. This place is good to pick up some really cool local souvenirs.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Deli also viewed

 

Been to Big Sur Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.