We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and Sushi Bar

Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and Sushi Bar
71895 California 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
805-927-2390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Vegetarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good for the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

a few dishes excellent; chicken entree a touch dry but good. a bit pricey but understandable for the location. If it were in a city it would get 3 stars.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southern Cal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Sushi and sushi bar experience is excellent! "Continental" breakfast served to resort guests was very good. Pasta at dinner was not great. Have sushi instead!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved the large portions and cozy yet healthy comfort food. My boyfriend and I ordered individual appetizers and shared a large entree and a dessert. Heavenly. It was a little pricey.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food, unique flavors, locally grown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at Treebones and had stayed there a while back. There have been many improvements to the food. We loved it so much the first night that we decided to eat there again our second night. Our first night, we started with a Caprese salad and crab cakes. Both items were wonderful. The salad included a variety of tomatoes that were beautiful and tasty. The crab cakes were filled with tons of fresh crab meat and very little filler. The sauce was a perfect accompaniment to the cakes. I had the pasta primavera for my entree that included mushrooms and baby artichokes in a slightly creamy pesto sauce - amazing. My boyfriend had the salmon with quinoa. I had a taste, and it was perfectly cooked. The quinoa was nicely seasoned, and I am not the biggest fan of quinoa. The dessert was out of this world! There is a woman who lives nearby and makes the desserts in her home. We decided on the white chocolate mousse cheesecake - it was so delicious we ordered it again the second night! The second night we split a flatbread pizza that was topped with an interesting combination of figs, bacon, goat cheese, and arugula. I was curious, and it was a wonderful combination of sweet and savory. My boyfriend also had a bowl of mulligatawny soup that he enjoyed. He ordered the chicken dish that was again cooked perfectly. I would go into more detail about that, but I can't even remember after having my entree. I had never ordered ribs in my life because I hate barbeque sauce. These ribs had a soy honey glaze, so I thought this was the perfect opportunity to try ribs - best move I have ever made! I am going to try to recreate them. The chef was more than happy to come out and describe the preparation. The only disappointment was that we didn't get a chance to go to the sushi restaurant that is on the property. It is also supposed to be amazing. I guess that is just another reason to return! I can't say enough good things about this place. If you are in Big Sur, you must go. It is a little difficult to spot, but it is just north of Gorda, where the Whale Watcher cafe is located.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachmuse63
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed here so ate breakfast and dinner here. The food is fresh and veggies from their garden is very appealing to me. The wine list very nice also. The bread was so yummy and they kept it coming. Loved the service too!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;