We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They've ruined Kirk Creek” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kirk Creek Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirk Creek Campground
Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93465   |  
Hotel amenities
Newport Beach
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“They've ruined Kirk Creek”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Kirk Creek was a top-ten site in the US and our favorite until its recent conversion to a primitive campsite. Neither Recreation.gov nor the Forest Service site will tell you that there is NO WATER on the site. Not just potable water. They have turned off ALL the taps. You have to drive 10 miles round trip to Plaskett Creek to fill your water jug.

That makes it easily accessible only to the rich, self-contained RV owners. How is a bicyclist supposed to haul enough water to drink, cook and clean up? Do they expect campers to waste precious water putting out a campfire? What will it take before they put in the filtering system that Monterey county asked them to do? A major fire? We are deeply upset by the changes to what was our favorite site in California.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If youre in a mobile home, and want a natural place to camp, but you have all your amenities with you, this place is great.

We had a fantastic spot at the edge of the cliff (but safe) we pre booked through the National Park website, and the kids loved it. We had racoons and chipmunks running about, which the kids thought were great.

If you have a large mobile home, ask for a flat spot, initially we had a sloped position which was a little scary for our first ever overnight in a massive camper van in the US, especially as we turned up very late at night (try to get to the site before dark) otherwise its hard to navigate, and the chipmunks and racoons are scary (if you haven't seen them before, and its pitch dark !!).

Dont leave your food out unattended as the little critters will eat it all, and they can open tupperware !! Take a torch, there is no light/lamps at night Highway 1 is quiet in the evening, don't be put off by the close proximity to the highway, you cant here it or really see it from the site, and it isn't an unpleasant highway. The ocean is much louder, but soothing.

There are no hook ups here, there are toilets (we didn't use them as we had our own) the campsite manager, is knowledgeable and helpful and you can buy logs for the outdoor pit from him too, but nothing else, it is a back to nature natural spot, perfect for a few days on a longer journey. You cannot dump here either.

Take a camera, the views are magnificent.

We travelled June 2012, with 3 kids in a hired roadbearrv/ motorhome, what a fab time !

Room Tip: Check the plan out on the National Parks website, before you book, and if you have a motorhome/RV, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a fine campground. The views of the Pacific and Big Sur can't be beat. November is a great time to visit because of the weather and the lack of campers during the week. Nigh times are very peaceful on Highway 1 because no one is driving that road a night. Keep you stuff away from the raccoon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

What can you say? The best views money can buy and not much money at that. $18 for a night is probably the best thing i've ever bought. Sat on a small outcrop above the ocean with amazing views both ways along the Pacific Coast, you can walk down to the sea but there is no real beach and the sea is rough. Basic toilet facilities which can be a bit scary at night as there is no lights and what appeared to be a new shower block just been built but not yet open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A campsite with a great view, purched on the side of the ocean, easy to find, just keep on heading south from San Fran on Highway 1 until you see the signs.

The facilities on the campsite were a bit limited and not as adverised on the NPS website

THERE IS NO GENERAL STORE ON SITE !!!!

So unless you want to pay $$$ for food & drink, stock up before you hit Highway 1

You cannot drink the water on site so again unless you want to pay $$$$$ for bottled water, stock up beforehand

Having said the above, it is still a great campsite to base yourself half way between SF & LA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon. UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had driven for hours (via Nacimiento Road) to reach this camp ground and were lucky to get in a day before our due date. It was mid-week. It was our first 'camping' experience on Big Sur, and it set the benchmark for what was to follow. Rick - the manager - was really brilliant to talk to and so very helpful. (There is another guy you may meet by the name of JW - who looks similar - who is not!)

The layout is good, and you have plenty of space. There was one 'pitch' that was bare of any grass that I am glad we didn't get. When booking, have a think about where your vehicle will be parked and if it will block your view. Those on the inside of the inner 'circle' that face the sea may suffer from this.

There is no beach access, and too much Poison Oak to be comfortable.

There is water (that Rick says you must boil before drinking), and little road noise at night. None of the photos on the Camp One site do this place justice.

As for people's comments on the price of wood - get a life! At $22 a night this place would be $100 a night if commercially offered. You have a bargain!

Room Tip: Check on the map if your site will have your vehicle parked and obscuring your sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Having read a previous great review regarding Kirk Creek and it's ocean views we decided to check out the Campground for a night stay March 2012 and we definitely were not disappointed. This campground truly gets you connected with nature. It offers flushable toilets and sinks to wash up in two buildings on site, no showers. Across the road has trails to hike up into the mountains and between #9 & #11 a trail that takes you down to the ocean level where you can enjoy the ocean sounds while sitting on the rocks. We stayed at #17 and even in mid March this campground stays busy. A small bundle of wood is $8.00 so prepare in advance for your firewood. Although you will find everything in the Big Sur area is at a premium price. We stayed in an RV so had comforts of home with the exception of no Wii in this area for several miles. Still I highly recommend it and as another review posted 15, 17, 19, 21 are closest to the water, others still give you great views. Especially at $22 a night, I highly recommend this for your travels through Big Sur. We stayed at several others including Big Sur Campground and paid $57, San Simeon Washburn Primative for $22 and Santa Cruz Redwoods RV for $50. See reviews of those locations.

Room Tip: In the great outdoors any site is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kirk Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirk Creek Campground

Address: Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93465
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty lodging in Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirk Creek Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kirk Creek Campground to your Saves list