We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirk Creek Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirk Creek Campground
Save Saved
You added Kirk Creek Campground to your Saves list
Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93465   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

What can you say? The best views money can buy and not much money at that. $18 for a night is probably the best thing i've ever bought. Sat on a small outcrop above the ocean with amazing views both ways along the Pacific Coast, you can walk down to the sea but there is no real beach and the sea is rough. Basic toilet facilities which can be a bit scary at night as there is no lights and what appeared to be a new shower block just been built but not yet open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A campsite with a great view, purched on the side of the ocean, easy to find, just keep on heading south from San Fran on Highway 1 until you see the signs.

The facilities on the campsite were a bit limited and not as adverised on the NPS website

THERE IS NO GENERAL STORE ON SITE !!!!

So unless you want to pay $$$ for food & drink, stock up before you hit Highway 1

You cannot drink the water on site so again unless you want to pay $$$$$ for bottled water, stock up beforehand

Having said the above, it is still a great campsite to base yourself half way between SF & LA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon. UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had driven for hours (via Nacimiento Road) to reach this camp ground and were lucky to get in a day before our due date. It was mid-week. It was our first 'camping' experience on Big Sur, and it set the benchmark for what was to follow. Rick - the manager - was really brilliant to talk to and so very helpful. (There is another guy you may meet by the name of JW - who looks similar - who is not!)

The layout is good, and you have plenty of space. There was one 'pitch' that was bare of any grass that I am glad we didn't get. When booking, have a think about where your vehicle will be parked and if it will block your view. Those on the inside of the inner 'circle' that face the sea may suffer from this.

There is no beach access, and too much Poison Oak to be comfortable.

There is water (that Rick says you must boil before drinking), and little road noise at night. None of the photos on the Camp One site do this place justice.

As for people's comments on the price of wood - get a life! At $22 a night this place would be $100 a night if commercially offered. You have a bargain!

Room Tip: Check on the map if your site will have your vehicle parked and obscuring your sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Having read a previous great review regarding Kirk Creek and it's ocean views we decided to check out the Campground for a night stay March 2012 and we definitely were not disappointed. This campground truly gets you connected with nature. It offers flushable toilets and sinks to wash up in two buildings on site, no showers. Across the road has trails to hike up into the mountains and between #9 & #11 a trail that takes you down to the ocean level where you can enjoy the ocean sounds while sitting on the rocks. We stayed at #17 and even in mid March this campground stays busy. A small bundle of wood is $8.00 so prepare in advance for your firewood. Although you will find everything in the Big Sur area is at a premium price. We stayed in an RV so had comforts of home with the exception of no Wii in this area for several miles. Still I highly recommend it and as another review posted 15, 17, 19, 21 are closest to the water, others still give you great views. Especially at $22 a night, I highly recommend this for your travels through Big Sur. We stayed at several others including Big Sur Campground and paid $57, San Simeon Washburn Primative for $22 and Santa Cruz Redwoods RV for $50. See reviews of those locations.

Room Tip: In the great outdoors any site is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

If you are looking for a campground which offers the best views of the Pacific ocean, then this is it. It is situated on a buff overlooking the sea. Most other campgrounds are located on the wrong end of the Pacific coast highway i.e. near the mountains, but this is the only one is near the ocean. There is a trail that starts from the south side of the campground which goes to the beach down below.

It's very popular, so book early. I booked 5 months in advance for a slot in May 2011. The site I got was #19, which is the one of the very few sites closest to the ocean and the one in my opinion which gives the best view. The sites are comfortably spaced apart, as much as can be expected.

My wife and I had such a romantic time watching the sunset from our campsite, sipping wine and then falling asleep to the sound of the waves.

The facilities of the campground leaves a lot to be desired. I agree completely with what the previous reviewer said. However my wife and I came here for the view and therefore our expectations were satisfied and exceeded several fold. See my picture to get an idea about the view you'll get.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This campground has fantastic views over the ocean and coast, but that's it. In July 2011, water was non potable and had to be boiled for 5 minutes. There are no showers on site and no place in 50+ miles around to take a shower. The bathrooms were rustic and not perfectly clean. The camp host was somewhat grumpy at check in, but was OK afterwards. The closest place to this campground is Lucia with a hotel/restaurant/store that sales everything at incredible prices (4$ for a bottle of water, 40$ for a bottle of wine you usually pay 10$, etc.). The place is of incredible beauty, but facilities are lacking. For the fee paid (22$ a night), OK.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirk Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirk Creek Campground

Address: Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93465
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty lodging in Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirk Creek Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.