We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hikes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limekiln State Park

Limekiln State Park
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
831-667-2403
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 Attractions in Big Sur
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Chatsworth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hikes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Didn't camp here, but took some great short hikes. One of our favorites - so beautiful! You'll be walking in the woods, next to a creek most of the way on the Limekiln Trail. The Waterfall Trail is an off-shoot from the Limekiln Trail and worth the effort.

Parking is an issue, though the ranger/docent found a place for us, even late in the day.

Take a moment to read about the history of the Limekilns before you make the trek - it's interesting.

The journey, rather than the destination is definitely the reason for this hike though. Enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were lucky enough to pick up a couple of nights at this gem of a state park on the Big Sur coastline. The camping was great. There is a creek that runs through the campground and the beach is just a few paces away, so you fall asleep to the peaceful sounds of both waves crashing and the creek running. The sites are small and placed closed together, but there are a few with privacy and even a couple on a hillside, overlooking the ocean. We were with kids, but we were warned at the beginning that this was a quiet campground so to please respect our neighbors. I appreciated that because our kids are quiet, but there's nothing worse than relaxing by a campfire with people yelling into the night. The staff here was amazing! Shelly and Chris were so kind and helpful and bay, did they work! They were understaffed at the time, but the bathrooms were ALWAYS clean and the campground tidy. They cordially enforced the quiet hours and even patrolled the beach from time to time. They really made the experience perfect! Also, the hiking trails at Limekiln are breathtakingly beautiful, but please watch out for poison oak!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very underrated. Beautiful Hiking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Way underrated hiking place that has short, easy hikes that are lush with greenery and Redwoods. The Falls Trail ends up at a 100-foot waterfall and creek that is beautiful. I hiked all three hikes there while taking my time and it took me about two hours at the most.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Camp here, or not. Either way, check it out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Potential issues: camping is rustic and accommodations for big RVs, not. But the folks I saw in the campground seemed to be having a good time. Parking: get there early, or have a really small car, because day visit parking is at a premium. I felt my parking spot was borderline illegal - nothing else even worth attempting was available - but worth hoping. No ticket, no upset ranger, fairly busy too, and I didn't block anybody, so I guess I was OK. But I don't need the parking to be that close-run a thing everywhere I go, for sure. Guess I fit. But I JUST BARELY fit. (TEENY car.)

Good stuff: Redwoods. Big Sur is the southernmost refuge of the coast redwood, and Limekiln has a very pretty stand. These aren't the mammoth trees of the North Coast, but one of the best things about Big Sur is seeing that big things like coast redwood can come in smaller packages, and still impress. If you have gotten there early, you can have all the hiking the park offers done by noon, taking your time about it and getting a good look at everything. The historic limekiln ruins are worth the visit. Limekiln Falls ("Limekilt" might be a good name for the formation down which the water runs) is one of the prettier and more uniquely configured falls I have seen. But Hare Creek may be the best walk: nothing but redwoods, burbling water, and quiet. I was alone almost the entire time I was on that trail, just me and the water and the trees.

Walk out onto the beach, turn your back on the water, and look up to that prominent conical peak. Uh-huh, it's called Cone Peak. And the rise from where you are standing to that summit is the steepest along the entire coast of the continental United States.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I've camped all over the country and this park is one of the worst! There was nothing nice about it at all except if you were standing on the beach looking out at the ocean! I went with someone who had never camped so we left because I didn't want him to have a bad experience!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limekiln State Park also viewed

 

Been to Limekiln State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limekiln State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.