We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Meryl Streep of Hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ventana Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ventana Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Ventana Inn & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   48123 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Wilderness Activity Offer
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“The Meryl Streep of Hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

^ enough said. but i guess trip advisor needs me to elaborate. everyone is so kind and helpful. Tony at the front desk was kind enough to check me in to my Southwest flight on time, so I could go exploring for a bit and not worry about it. I got an A boarding position due to him! Emily was great too.

The breakfast in the morning is great too.

Big Sur is the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    142
    55
    28
    15
See reviews for
41
611
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

First, location. Big Sur is a paradise, full of life and amazing views. The hotel offers boths.
The restaurant is good, with fantastic view.
The rooms are well decorated and comfortable. The only point is the air conditioner, old noisy and nod good to keep the temperature stable.
The swimming pool and the sauna are perfect, the way they planned a gender separation, with a common area, was very well thought. And having two swimming pool, one where you do not need to use clothes, make it be close to a Scandinavian experience.
The cherry on the cake was seeing a bobcat. Amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We loved our stay here. We were lucky to secure a good rate on expedia (I won't say it was a bargain...) and we loved our spacious room with its hammock and huge deck. We loved the peacefulness of the place - and the sense that it was well cared for. The restaurant was good, particularly good at breakfast. The views of the sea are quite distant but wonderful. The spa was great. My husband was delighted to find he could watch English soccer on the TV. Bathroom was huge and water hot and plentiful. We preferred our yurt experience at Treebones - and the views from Lucia Lodge are far better - but would return to Ventana if we came back to Big Sur for the overall experience.

Room Tip: I am not convinced it is worth paying so much extra for a sea view room as the sea is far away and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Never have I ever experienced such tranquility. After driving down on the beautiful (and terrifying with my husband driving) Pacific Coast Highway we make the left up into the resort and were immediately wowed with the views, the grounds, just everything was breath-taking. We were greeted at our car by a golf cart and taken into the beautifully appointed lobby and treated to a glass of wine... how much more could you ask for? I can't even describe the feeling when we were escorted to our room. I am still longing for it... the wood burning fireplace (fully functioning fyi) the HUGE soaker tub, and the private balcony with hammock-- I couldn't ask for more.
There was so much attention to detail really making sure your stay was perfect. We also opted to have dinner on the grounds... WOW. We walked to dinner via a trail through the woods which was GORGEOUS. They have some chairs stationed at some of the most picturesque locales..We also got to meet a nice family of deer in our travels. We both had the delicious (pricey but worth it) prix fixe. Crazy views overlooking the ocean, then coffee on the patio in front of a cozy fire. Another nice touch is a Range Rover to shuttle you between the actual hotel and the restaurant.
I really can't say enough good things about Ventana. Sadly we only were staying for one night on our trip down the coast but we have been trying to calculate exactly what we both have to do for a living in order to stay there for 6 months of the year. CAN.NOT.WAIT.TO.RETURN!!!!!! I guess i should also mention it was our Honeymoon <3 they definitely treated us as such!

I am also pretty sure we were in room 10 or 101 either way it was right behind the lobby very convenient yet still very private.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
243 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We decided to spend to nights at Carmel Valley Ranch, and one night at Ventana. That is our regret.
CVR is a nice place, but Ventana is fantastic. Quiet, serene, great service and fantastic food. Nice size room, great bed, fireplace in the room.... Everything just perfect. Best of all, no families with children!

Love the afternoon wine and cheese tasting, the short walk to the restaurant along a narrow path in the woods, the fresh air...

One negative thing. There was a lot of flies outside during our stay. But can't blame the hotel for this.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stopped at Ventana Inn & Spa for breakfast after staying down the road at some far inferior accommodation. We wanted food that wasn't on the menu and they were happy to oblige, when it was served to our table 10 minutes later it was delicious. The view was beautiful even thought it was a very fogged morning. We had a nose around the facilities after our meal and would love to stay there but unfortunately way out of our price range!....... One day maybe, it is added to my wish list!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have just stayed at the Ventana inn for the first few days of our US vacation . Whilst pricey this place is truly amazing and worth every dollar. The rooms are rustic but luxurious, the wine and cheese every day a nice addition with the surprise of seeing deer and wild turkey roaming around the property. Service is ok but not great, we ate in the restaurant one evening and ate breakfast each morning.Food was good but the service was a little haphazard but the views make up for it. Above all else the place is peaceful, quiet and really helps you relax the moment you get there. We envy the folks who can get here regularly...if you have the chance give it a go I am sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
24.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
23.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
24.3 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
#18 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventana Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventana Inn & Spa

Address: 48123 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ventana Inn & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ventana Inn & Spa is a luxurious resort nestled in the mountains above California’s central coast. Situated on 243 acres of wooded hillside, 1,200 feet above the Pacific Ocean on the Big Sur coast, Ventana Inn & Spa is quiet, secluded and beautiful. The Inn provides a peaceful and soothing atmosphere enhanced by its proximity to the area’s natural wonders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ventana Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventana Inn And Spa
Ventana Hotel Big Sur
Ventana Resort Big Sur
Ventana Inn Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventana Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.