We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ventana Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ventana Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ventana Inn & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   48123 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Inn for first time since the late 80s. It's as good now as it was then. All the other reviews hit the nail on the head. It's in a beautiful spot with wonderful rooms and nothing is too much trouble from excellent staff. Enjoyed the restaurant dinners and thought food was superb. My only small niggle would be that I thought breakfast was not great. Plus waiter walking around announcing "5 minutes left for breakfast!" didnt quite fit with star rating of hotel. But, hey, it's a small criticism compared with overall experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    110
    35
    24
    14
See reviews for
27
423
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My partner and I just returned from a perfect Thanksgiving trip to this wonderful place. I first visited Ventana about 25 years ago, and over the course of several visits over the years I have seen it grow and improve. This time we were upgraded to a Pacific House room, which I highly recommend if you can spare the (substantial) dough. Lounging in the private hot tub on the deck with a glass of wine while hummingbirds and deer hover and browse a few feet away and the Pacific shimmers in the distance.... It is hard for me to imagine anyone not liking this place. All staff were friendly and correct, every amenity was in place, and the privacy and quiet were everything a city dweller dreams of.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

What an incredible, magical place! My now-husband and I went to Big Sur to elope this past weekend and were fortunate enough to stay in a king suite at Ventana Inn. Not only did we have to most incredible room with ocean views and a wood burning fireplace, there was a hammock on our private deck and a bottle of champagne waiting for us upon arrival. We had a HUGE bathtub, which has ruined any other tub I will ever bathe in. The staff is incredible as well, 5-star client care and so very nice. The lovely ladies up at the front saved my lil wedding by grabbing me flowers (saving me a 1 hour drive to the nearest store that sells flowers). This place is magnificent, we truly had a spectacular weekend here.

The only reason I'm not giving a full 5 stars, is that there were some jarring noises at odd hours. The suite we stayed in was next to an area where there was the occasional loud knocking noise, sometimes in the middle of the night. We weren't sure what it was but it sounded like either the staff or other guests slamming a door or utility closet. Also, the grease truck came to the restaurant kinda early in the morning while we were sleeping, and made a horrendous sound for un uncomfortable amount of time. It would probably have been better to wait til mid afternoon to make that cacophony....we would have liked to enjoy a peaceful morning (esp since we paid a handsome penny to stay here).
Even still, it was worth every penny and we will be back again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a king suite with ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventana M, Guest Relations Manager at Ventana Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Congratulations on your elopement! We wish you a lifetime of happiness and hope you return to us for many anniversaries. Thank you so much for writing your review of your stay. We constantly strive to provide memorable experiences for our guests and we are ecstatic that we were able to almost make it here with you. I can tell you that our staff loves the opportunity to make things happen for our guests, be it wedding flowers or setting the stage for a proposal and it is fantastic that this was shared with you. And you just let us know if you need any information for a bathroom remodel ~
Thank you also for letting us know about the noise concerns. We will be addressing this with our head of maintenance and hope to come up with a proper resolution so that all guests may have a peaceful and magical stay with us.

Sincerely

Tiffany Thomas
Guest Experience Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Recommended by some friends we had met a few days earlier in San Francisco, we saw the sign as we headed down Highway 1. We were hungry so we thought we'd just pop in for lunch and they had room. I love the way in The US that you are presented with a jug of iced water as you are seated - something restaurants should do in the UK! Food was great and very reasonably priced considering this place having a reputation for expense - must be the hotel and spa bit. Service was great and the November weather was brilliant. Also it was claimed by the waiters that there were Californian Condors circling in the surrounding hills. Great spot and would recommend

Room Tip: Great for a drop in lunch - we were out of the main holiday season - so may need to book ahead, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was our first time at Ventana and we loved it! The staff is great and we got one of the rooms with an outdoor spa looking out to the ocean. The rooms were reportededly redone about 3 years ago and are spacious and comfortable. Simply one of the most appealing places we've stayed in a long time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel was the best I have ever been to. All the stress washes away when you arrive. Glass of wine on arrival. Japanese bath, spa, amazing grounds with nature at your doorstep, wine and cheese hour and the most amazing rooms. We chose a ground floor with hot tub on the terrace. Bed was so comfortable and it opens onto the bathroom which is very romantic. Each night on the terrace we would get visits from all different types of animals and wild life. This is cheaper than the post ranch but better in my opinion, found that hotel a bit too prentious. Look no further for complete luxorious relaxation

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Most comfortable bed ever....fabulous restaurant! Rustic feel. Lobby nice inviting feel with fireplace...nice staff. Restaurant was delicious..fireplace..nice atmosphere...very good service!
Room was very clean and inviting

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ventana Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventana Inn & Spa

Address: 48123 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ventana Inn & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ventana Inn & Spa is a luxurious resort nestled in the mountains above California’s central coast. Situated on 243 acres of wooded hillside, 1,200 feet above the Pacific Ocean on the Big Sur coast, Ventana Inn & Spa is quiet, secluded and beautiful. The Inn provides a peaceful and soothing atmosphere enhanced by its proximity to the area’s natural wonders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ventana Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventana Inn And Spa
Ventana Hotel Big Sur
Ventana Resort Big Sur
Ventana Inn Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventana Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.