We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ventana Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ventana Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Ventana Inn & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   48123 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Explore the Big Sur
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I got married on 7/7 in Pleasanton, CA and then drove the 1.5 hours down to Mission Ranch in Carmel to spend the first day of my honeymoon there. We then drove the 30 minutes from Carmel to Big Sur to stay at Ventana.

COULD NOT HAVE SPENT A MORE ROMANTIC 2 DAYS IF I HAD TRIED!

Breakfast here is insane - sticky buns are one of the best things I've ever eaten. Our room was very rustic, but in a high end way (think luxury tree house), which contrasted with Mission Ranch, where our room was just rustic (not very luxurious. The have a shampoo and conditioner dispenser rather than small bottles of soap!). The wine and cheese reception was over the top, the wine was poured by the Sommelier who was also knowledgeable about the cheese selection.

Service was impeccable, with a shoutout to Memo for ferrying us around in the golf carts whenever we needed it.

We visited the restaurant, which was great. Food, service, and most importantly the view were all top notch (we also ate at the Big Sur Bakery, and had drinks at Sierra Mar at Post Ranch. Big Sur Bakery was severely overpriced and the service was lackign, Sierra Mar has a great view, but Post Ranch oozes pretension).

Overall, this place is the ideal spot for a relaxing honeymoon or an epic date. We also did wine tastings in Carmel Valley, and they have vouchers at the front desk for free tastings, which certainly came in handy as tastings are generally $7-$10/person.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    121
    42
    25
    15
See reviews for
29
487
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in the Big Sur suite during a babymoon with our second child. The room was large and modern. I loved having a wood burning fireplace in the room as the evenings could get quite chilly. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. We hiked on the path to the restaurant on the property, which was a nice 10 minute walk. Although not advertised, the hotel also has a shuttle that will take you to restaurants in the area. It was great to park your car upon arrival and not have to think about driving during our stay.

The hotel was extremely laid back; people walk around the property in just their bath robes. There are two pools and Japanese baths on the property, one of which is clothing optional.
The hotel also offers a complimentary continental breakfast. They even had a barista so that you can order espresso, cappuccinos, etc.

I had a prenatal massage and prenatal scrub at the spa during our stay. However, the treatments were very average, and the spa did not have any special facilities.

Because the hotel does not allow children, I do not know if we will be back. However, I would recommend the hotel to others who are looking for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Ventana Inn is just across Hwy 1 from Post Ranch which I reviewed recently. I have been asked over the years which resort is better? Both resorts have their own distinctive character and both are fantastic getaways. Ventana is built on a forested hill side with distant ocean views. Post ranch is built on an ocean ridge. Both inn's are newly redecorated. Ventana has flat screen TV’s. Both resorts are best described as romantic getaways, with nothing much for children to do. Ventana has a clothing optional pool and a regular pool. We have been taking an annual trip to Big Sur for 20 years and it our honeymoon location. As for Ventana inn itself. The rooms are cozy and exude rustic luxury. The restaurant is fantastic and there is a daily wine reception. Most rooms have a hot tub and fireplace. Ventana though not inexpensive usually costs us less than Post Ranch. Most of the staff has been there for years and many remember us from previous stays. The drive along the California coast from Cambria to Monterey is one of the most beautiful coast drives in the world. Ventana Inn is a wonderful place stop for a few days or stay a week, relax take a spa treatment and reconnect with that special person in your life. If you are looking for a place to getaway for a few days and wind down Big Sur is a great place to reset you life clock. We avoid Big Sur in the summer because of the mobile homes and slow traffic pulling trailers on Hwy 1. Also the coast of California has more fog along the coast in summer than winter (Ventana is usually above the clouds even in summer). We always travel to Big Sur during the week and in the off season, to avoid traffic.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon and loved the peace and beauty of Ventana. It's a place that members of our family have stayed at many times over the years, but it was our first time and it certainly won't be the last. The drive through Big sur is spectacular and you wonder where the hotel could be, and when you round the corner and pull into the check-in area it's stunning. Wild lavendar and daisies everywhere you look. The rooms are great, service is top notch -we got there hours before required check-in and our room was ready, food, ambiance just everything is fabulous. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: We heard some fellow travelers talk about The Pacific House. We stayed in a different part of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We drove from LA to San Francisco making four stops and this was the best.Very nice room and the people working were great.The food for dinner was outstanding .Try the 3 course dinner .you'll be happy.There is a trail to the restaurant thru the woods,it was fun walking back with the flashlight from the room.They do have lights on the trail.We went to the clothing optional pool because it was very close to our room.A word of advice during the day some people were naked..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at the ventana at least 6 times over the last 17 years. This time we had the pleasure of staying for FOUR nights in summer! ( we typically stay 2 nights in fall or winter). We really enjoyed our visit. We splurged on a Ocean view suite with a hot tub... So much room and amazing.. Four nights in our own heaven . We keep returning to Ventana for it's laid back attitude, wonderful accommodations, great service, hot tubs, saunas, the fabulous granola breakfast, the wine/ cheese hour ( and no children policy... Love my kids but this is OUR place) and of course all in our favorite location in the world .... Big sur. I also enjoyed TWO massages in the spa... Really need I say more..? Worth every penny....

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We decided to splurge heading down the Pacific Coast Highway. Ventana was one of two expensive resorts around Big Sur. We stayed for two nights. The service was incredible and, more importantly, low key. Being relatively small Ventana does a great job of making you feel special. The rooms are very nice and include awesome views. My wife and I spent a sunset watching deer meander across the meadow in front of our room. Some day will return for a longer visit.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ventana Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventana Inn & Spa

Address: 48123 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ventana Inn & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ventana Inn & Spa is a luxurious resort nestled in the mountains above California’s central coast. Situated on 243 acres of wooded hillside, 1,200 feet above the Pacific Ocean on the Big Sur coast, Ventana Inn & Spa is quiet, secluded and beautiful. The Inn provides a peaceful and soothing atmosphere enhanced by its proximity to the area’s natural wonders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ventana Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventana Inn And Spa
Ventana Hotel Big Sur
Ventana Resort Big Sur
Ventana Inn Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventana Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.