We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ratty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Big Sur River Inn to your Saves list
Big Sur River Inn
46840 Highway One, Highway 1 at Pheneger Creek, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Big Sur B&B and Inns
stinky_philip
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ratty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Nice creek in the back. The room had stained carpets -- we wore our shoes until we got in the bed. We got a room with beds for the kids, and their beds were uncomfortable. My daughter had a sore back for days afterwards.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    59
    53
    58
See reviews for
70
103
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My stay at the Big Sur River Inn was nothing but very pleasant! The cabins were basic and rustic (no cable or TV), but still very comfy and welcoming, so, this might not the right place if you're expecting a 5-star hotel. Having a restaurant, convenience store and gas station around made it very convenient as well. We've walked through the little creek behind the restaurant and could see this being a romantic destination. Would definitely go back! The rates were very reasonable as well, compared to other locations in Big Sur.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Gave a very down home feeling, nice and secluded. Didn't like that there wasn't any tv and very little to no cell reception. Small room, very primitive. A bit pricey for the accommodations. LOVED the Big Sur area despite the hotel. We ended up joining some local dinner event at the restaurant that was pricey for the quality of food served, but got to schmooze with the locals. Our room was RIGHT on Highway 1, would probably clarify next time where the room (I'd like a river side room).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Big Sur Inn is allways a special place for a stop over. Wooden chairs in the river, but your feet in the water,have a break, it will make your stop between LA and SF very relaxing.Very cosy place in the woods! The restaurant has some good food!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Room was ok - it was clean and had a small porch with table and chairs.
No TV - but it had wifi.
We checked in at night and left early so I didn't spend much time here.
Ate at the restaurant at night ... it was blah.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarhurst, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Did a trip up the coast and stayed there with my family, total of 4 rooms and they gave us a discount of $120/night each room. Very friendly. Restaurant part food good, little pricey tho, but love the fire place in common area and the lodge cozy feel. Very accommodating. Rooms were across the road... But not to inconvenient. Rooms were basic, but clean, bathrooms need major updating. No tv. Feels very outdoorsy. Would stay again tho.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We had a riverfront room with a balcony. It was a little lacking, especially the bedding. The bed itself was nice, but the bedding could be nicer for the price you pay. The restaurant and bar are very nice and accommodating with a big fireplace and charming warm decorations. What really turned me off was the awful attitude and personality of the young woman who was the hostess of the restaurant on the afternoon and evening of Friday, October 11, 2013. What a rude and poorly trained individual to have greeting guests that enter the property. For example, she rudely scolded me for adding a log to the fire that was almost out in the large and open fireplace around which we were seated with several other guests. (An open box containing firewood was located right beside the fireplace). She said I should have asked her to add the log and that I had no right to do so. I asked her why she was not tending to the fire and why, if the Inn would not want a guest to add a log, there was no notice advising guests of this policy. (I asked this in a very polite manner as I was somewhat embarrassed by her hostile attitude). She basically told me to shut up and walked away giving me a very menacing and obnoxious glare. Based upon this treatment, the scales were tipped in favor of NOT staying here again. We dropped ALOT of $$ at this place and we would never expect to encounter this type of horrible behavior anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Sur River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur River Inn

Address: 46840 Highway One, Highway 1 at Pheneger Creek, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint stream-side inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Big Sur River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sur River Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.