We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Big Sur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Big Sur River Inn to your Saves list
Big Sur River Inn
46840 Highway One, Highway 1 at Pheneger Creek, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Big Sur B&B and Inns
San Diego, Ca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love Big Sur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Yes the rooms are basic, yes there is no internet/phone/t.v, yes our room was right next to highway 1 and yes it is a bit pricey but Big Sur is well worth it. It is such a beautiful, majestic place that I spent no time in my room except to sleep and had no interest in being connected to the internet. I love that my cellphone and internet don't work out there, it is a true "vacation". I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, General Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thanks so very much for taking the time to write a review for Big Sur River Inn. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit. You have captured the essence of what we have here ... a true escape from the stress and distractions of life. Please return when possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    57
    58
    51
    58
See reviews for
68
100
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in room #9, recently remodeled, cozy and wonderful, the bed is great. We slept well but the wall heater was noisy as it turned on and off, and the room is close to traffic but that is mostly absent overnight. We paid a premuim for the room and were very dissapointed to get a towel that was ripped at the hem and toilet paper better suited to the parks oceanside outhouses. The resturant was dissapointing (we were celebrating a birthday which was left unacknowleded), the meat and seafood was overcooked. The staff was friendly. We did have a great time at the bar (Maidens Pub) with live music and over 20 draft beers. Overall, this location is great, everything one might need is close by ... and one pays a premium for that.

Room Tip: The 'heated' pool was not open (or appeared not to be open). No fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, General Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
While we are not very happy about your review, it has helped us take close look at the details of our inn and restaurant. We have spoken with our cleaning staff about triple checking linens and we have met with restaurant staff to make sure that they are on their toes regarding customer service. We are sorry for your less that optimum experience and welcome you back to give us a second chance. We feel sure you will be happy that you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Cafe and the shops are the things to see here. The food is freshly prepared and the setting with the creek just outside the diner is great. We sit in the creek in a wooden chair and have our burgers with a bottle of wine. Interesting thing is there are always some "funky smells" around you at this place. Brings back memories of being a teenager again.. Back to the grounds. They are great. Nice pool too! The lodging is a different story. It is an upgrade from a camp out nut that is it. Not too clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Well looked after, but you did not get much for the price. No Internet or TV, shower was a 32" stall, bedding and beds were comfortable. Paper thin walls, I could hear conversations in the room next door.

Room Tip: Get a room that you are attached to just one side, less noise from neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a night in this place. Room had two double beds, very comfortable. Had a good sleep. Wall are wooden, so when next door uses a restroom, it disturbs your rest. No TV and No internet in you room, helps to be with nature. That is the idea of visiting Big Sur.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stopped for lunch here on our drive from Monterey to pismo beach.

We only had lunch so can not comment on accommodation.

Service was fast and enthusiastic.

We both had milkshakes we were fantastic, I can recommend the vanilla one.

We shared the beef brisket sandwich and a basket of fries. The beef was cooked perfectly and was so juicy and delicious.
The fries were good too, nice and crispy and full of flavour.

Would highly recommend for lunch

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, General Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Many thanks for letting us know of your positive lunch experience. We enjoy the wealth of people like yourself that stop over on their way North or South ... just for a relaxing lunch and the peacefulness of our riverside setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a wedding that I was in and let me tell you, way over priced for what you get. The room my parents were in looked like it had been converted from something else. The doors were shorter than the frame so there were gaps in between the actual door and frame. There is no insulation between rooms so you can here everything going on. Apparently they really want you to get in tune with nature because there is no television and no land line which is really a pain because most of the rooms are across the street from the actual check in, so if you need anything you have to run across busy Highway 1. For $200 plus dollars a night I expect more, but this hotel can charge what they want because it is one of the only hotels in the area and it is Big Sur which translates into mucho dinero.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Sur River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur River Inn

Address: 46840 Highway One, Highway 1 at Pheneger Creek, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint stream-side inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Big Sur River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sur River Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.