We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We go here to eat and sit by the creek. I would not spend the night..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Big Sur River Inn to your Saves list
Big Sur River Inn
46840 Highway One, Highway 1 at Pheneger Creek, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Big Sur B&B and Inns
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“We go here to eat and sit by the creek. I would not spend the night..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Cafe and the shops are the things to see here. The food is freshly prepared and the setting with the creek just outside the diner is great. We sit in the creek in a wooden chair and have our burgers with a bottle of wine. Interesting thing is there are always some "funky smells" around you at this place. Brings back memories of being a teenager again.. Back to the grounds. They are great. Nice pool too! The lodging is a different story. It is an upgrade from a camp out nut that is it. Not too clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    59
    53
    58
See reviews for
70
103
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Well looked after, but you did not get much for the price. No Internet or TV, shower was a 32" stall, bedding and beds were comfortable. Paper thin walls, I could hear conversations in the room next door.

Room Tip: Get a room that you are attached to just one side, less noise from neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a night in this place. Room had two double beds, very comfortable. Had a good sleep. Wall are wooden, so when next door uses a restroom, it disturbs your rest. No TV and No internet in you room, helps to be with nature. That is the idea of visiting Big Sur.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stopped for lunch here on our drive from Monterey to pismo beach.

We only had lunch so can not comment on accommodation.

Service was fast and enthusiastic.

We both had milkshakes we were fantastic, I can recommend the vanilla one.

We shared the beef brisket sandwich and a basket of fries. The beef was cooked perfectly and was so juicy and delicious.
The fries were good too, nice and crispy and full of flavour.

Would highly recommend for lunch

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, General Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Many thanks for letting us know of your positive lunch experience. We enjoy the wealth of people like yourself that stop over on their way North or South ... just for a relaxing lunch and the peacefulness of our riverside setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a wedding that I was in and let me tell you, way over priced for what you get. The room my parents were in looked like it had been converted from something else. The doors were shorter than the frame so there were gaps in between the actual door and frame. There is no insulation between rooms so you can here everything going on. Apparently they really want you to get in tune with nature because there is no television and no land line which is really a pain because most of the rooms are across the street from the actual check in, so if you need anything you have to run across busy Highway 1. For $200 plus dollars a night I expect more, but this hotel can charge what they want because it is one of the only hotels in the area and it is Big Sur which translates into mucho dinero.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The good... great location in Big Sur. Clean rooms, clean bathrooms. Free parking. The waitors were really nice in the hotel.

The bad.... no wifi or television in the rooms, which is shocking for the price. No mobile phone service in the rooms either, so you really are isolated. The food for dinner in the restaurant was poor. Breakfast was good though.

Also, knowing very little about local parks, we asked the front desk staff for a recommendation. Rather than directing us to the two major parks in the area, she sent us to one tiny one that there were No other patrons. Although its our own fault for not researching before arriving and knowing of the big parks, I found it a bit weird that she made no mention of the big state parks just south of the hotel and sent us north instead.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, General Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We only wish that your experience at Big Sur River Inn had been better. While we cannot do anything about "wireless" until the Big Sur coast has this technology, we can improve upon our guest relations. We constant strive to meet the needs of each guest and are making sure that we have maps and free concierge services available in our front office. We hope you will return and let us make your stay extra special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here on our road trip, booking it online as we did with all our hotels. Brilliant bar (excellent beer selection for those who don't drink Bud Lite), local store selling everything and a really friendly place.

Room Tip: The rooms are cabin style, all set for sitting on the porch with a glass of wine watching the world...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, General Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hey Claire! We are super happy to read your review and to see that you enjoyed a relaxing time at Big Sur River Inn. We are all about escaping from the everyday stresses of life ... into the laid-backness of Big Sur. Seems you fit right in. Please return whenever possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Sur River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur River Inn

Address: 46840 Highway One, Highway 1 at Pheneger Creek, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint stream-side inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Big Sur River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sur River Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.