We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur River Inn

Save Saved
You added Big Sur River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Sur River Inn
46840 Highway One, Highway 1 at Pheneger Creek, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Big Sur B&B and Inns
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a night in this place. Room had two double beds, very comfortable. Had a good sleep. Wall are wooden, so when next door uses a restroom, it disturbs your rest. No TV and No internet in you room, helps to be with nature. That is the idea of visiting Big Sur.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    56
    58
    50
    58
See reviews for
67
98
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stopped for lunch here on our drive from Monterey to pismo beach.

We only had lunch so can not comment on accommodation.

Service was fast and enthusiastic.

We both had milkshakes we were fantastic, I can recommend the vanilla one.

We shared the beef brisket sandwich and a basket of fries. The beef was cooked perfectly and was so juicy and delicious.
The fries were good too, nice and crispy and full of flavour.

Would highly recommend for lunch

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, General Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Many thanks for letting us know of your positive lunch experience. We enjoy the wealth of people like yourself that stop over on their way North or South ... just for a relaxing lunch and the peacefulness of our riverside setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a wedding that I was in and let me tell you, way over priced for what you get. The room my parents were in looked like it had been converted from something else. The doors were shorter than the frame so there were gaps in between the actual door and frame. There is no insulation between rooms so you can here everything going on. Apparently they really want you to get in tune with nature because there is no television and no land line which is really a pain because most of the rooms are across the street from the actual check in, so if you need anything you have to run across busy Highway 1. For $200 plus dollars a night I expect more, but this hotel can charge what they want because it is one of the only hotels in the area and it is Big Sur which translates into mucho dinero.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The good... great location in Big Sur. Clean rooms, clean bathrooms. Free parking. The waitors were really nice in the hotel.

The bad.... no wifi or television in the rooms, which is shocking for the price. No mobile phone service in the rooms either, so you really are isolated. The food for dinner in the restaurant was poor. Breakfast was good though.

Also, knowing very little about local parks, we asked the front desk staff for a recommendation. Rather than directing us to the two major parks in the area, she sent us to one tiny one that there were No other patrons. Although its our own fault for not researching before arriving and knowing of the big parks, I found it a bit weird that she made no mention of the big state parks just south of the hotel and sent us north instead.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, General Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We only wish that your experience at Big Sur River Inn had been better. While we cannot do anything about "wireless" until the Big Sur coast has this technology, we can improve upon our guest relations. We constant strive to meet the needs of each guest and are making sure that we have maps and free concierge services available in our front office. We hope you will return and let us make your stay extra special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here on our road trip, booking it online as we did with all our hotels. Brilliant bar (excellent beer selection for those who don't drink Bud Lite), local store selling everything and a really friendly place.

Room Tip: The rooms are cabin style, all set for sitting on the porch with a glass of wine watching the world...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, General Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hey Claire! We are super happy to read your review and to see that you enjoyed a relaxing time at Big Sur River Inn. We are all about escaping from the everyday stresses of life ... into the laid-backness of Big Sur. Seems you fit right in. Please return whenever possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Have very mixed thoughts about this place. We stayed here for a friend's wedding. Definitely get a riverside suite if you can - the view from our balcony was gorgeous and it is much more convenient to things, although also fairly pricey! Plus you feel that you're taking your life in your hands crossing Highway 1 to the other rooms (particularly with anyone elderly or small children in your group). Room was very comfortable and nicely done and relaxing. Beds very comfortable and not too much highway/parking lot noise. No internet access except in the restaurant which was annoying with no tv and small children going to bed early. Pool area is nice, although the beautiful river wins. Staff were not overly friendly. For example we asked to check in early and were blankly told "come back at 3pm" - no suggestions of things to do, no offer of changing rooms and use of the pool. Also, the grassy area next to the river, chairs etc is open to the public and restaurant guests which is really nice in lots of ways and to be encouraged. But it also means we felt that we could have enjoyed the beautiful spot without paying the high price to stay (similarly with the pool and restaurant - hotel guests are not treated as special at all - at times we had to "prove" we belonged to the hotel rather than getting to enjoy relaxing amenities). In fact Sunday afternoons hop here, which is fun but also made us feel like the entire town was camped outside our hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, General Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We are extra appreciative of your review and want you to know that we have made some policy changes since your visit. We were pained to think that you left without a 100% good feeling about your stay at Big Sur River Inn. We are making sure that the wireless internet is up and running at all times and have redoubled our efforts in the area of guest relations. Our check in policy and treatment of guests upon arrival has been carefully reviewed and amended so that each guest will feel cared for and about. Thank you again for bringing these details to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Big Sur River Inn solely based on price. The restaurant on site was nice - great atmosphere, great service, and perfectly cooked food. The food was a little on the expensive side, but very convenient to just walk from our room to the restaurant. The hotel also offers a great area by the river with chairs right in the water!

Our actual room left little to be desired however. The room was clean, but there was occasional weird sewage smells. The windows were single pane, so all the noise from the nearby road came right into the room. We were also able to hear conversations from the couple in the room next to us. The bed was ok, but with two people, we both rolled to the middle. The pillows were pretty flat, which resulted in horrible neck pain the following morning. Our room was also very warm when we checked in, but no a/c or ceiling fan is provided. Even with the window open, it took several hours to cool down. Good basic hotel, but no special amenities. If I returned to the area, I would choose a different place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Sur River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur River Inn

Address: 46840 Highway One, Highway 1 at Pheneger Creek, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint stream-side inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Big Sur River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sur River Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.