We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Big Sur location but not much for price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Big Sur River Inn to your Saves list
Big Sur River Inn
46840 Highway One, Highway 1 at Pheneger Creek, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Big Sur B&B and Inns
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Big Sur location but not much for price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The good... great location in Big Sur. Clean rooms, clean bathrooms. Free parking. The waitors were really nice in the hotel.

The bad.... no wifi or television in the rooms, which is shocking for the price. No mobile phone service in the rooms either, so you really are isolated. The food for dinner in the restaurant was poor. Breakfast was good though.

Also, knowing very little about local parks, we asked the front desk staff for a recommendation. Rather than directing us to the two major parks in the area, she sent us to one tiny one that there were No other patrons. Although its our own fault for not researching before arriving and knowing of the big parks, I found it a bit weird that she made no mention of the big state parks just south of the hotel and sent us north instead.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, General Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We only wish that your experience at Big Sur River Inn had been better. While we cannot do anything about "wireless" until the Big Sur coast has this technology, we can improve upon our guest relations. We constant strive to meet the needs of each guest and are making sure that we have maps and free concierge services available in our front office. We hope you will return and let us make your stay extra special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    67
    59
    55
    59
See reviews for
75
109
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here on our road trip, booking it online as we did with all our hotels. Brilliant bar (excellent beer selection for those who don't drink Bud Lite), local store selling everything and a really friendly place.

Room Tip: The rooms are cabin style, all set for sitting on the porch with a glass of wine watching the world...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, General Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hey Claire! We are super happy to read your review and to see that you enjoyed a relaxing time at Big Sur River Inn. We are all about escaping from the everyday stresses of life ... into the laid-backness of Big Sur. Seems you fit right in. Please return whenever possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Have very mixed thoughts about this place. We stayed here for a friend's wedding. Definitely get a riverside suite if you can - the view from our balcony was gorgeous and it is much more convenient to things, although also fairly pricey! Plus you feel that you're taking your life in your hands crossing Highway 1 to the other rooms (particularly with anyone elderly or small children in your group). Room was very comfortable and nicely done and relaxing. Beds very comfortable and not too much highway/parking lot noise. No internet access except in the restaurant which was annoying with no tv and small children going to bed early. Pool area is nice, although the beautiful river wins. Staff were not overly friendly. For example we asked to check in early and were blankly told "come back at 3pm" - no suggestions of things to do, no offer of changing rooms and use of the pool. Also, the grassy area next to the river, chairs etc is open to the public and restaurant guests which is really nice in lots of ways and to be encouraged. But it also means we felt that we could have enjoyed the beautiful spot without paying the high price to stay (similarly with the pool and restaurant - hotel guests are not treated as special at all - at times we had to "prove" we belonged to the hotel rather than getting to enjoy relaxing amenities). In fact Sunday afternoons hop here, which is fun but also made us feel like the entire town was camped outside our hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, General Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We are extra appreciative of your review and want you to know that we have made some policy changes since your visit. We were pained to think that you left without a 100% good feeling about your stay at Big Sur River Inn. We are making sure that the wireless internet is up and running at all times and have redoubled our efforts in the area of guest relations. Our check in policy and treatment of guests upon arrival has been carefully reviewed and amended so that each guest will feel cared for and about. Thank you again for bringing these details to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Big Sur River Inn solely based on price. The restaurant on site was nice - great atmosphere, great service, and perfectly cooked food. The food was a little on the expensive side, but very convenient to just walk from our room to the restaurant. The hotel also offers a great area by the river with chairs right in the water!

Our actual room left little to be desired however. The room was clean, but there was occasional weird sewage smells. The windows were single pane, so all the noise from the nearby road came right into the room. We were also able to hear conversations from the couple in the room next to us. The bed was ok, but with two people, we both rolled to the middle. The pillows were pretty flat, which resulted in horrible neck pain the following morning. Our room was also very warm when we checked in, but no a/c or ceiling fan is provided. Even with the window open, it took several hours to cool down. Good basic hotel, but no special amenities. If I returned to the area, I would choose a different place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle,
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

What a gift to stay in the heart of Big Sur without spending $700 a night OR sleeping in a tent. We selected this Inn for the atmosphere and proximately to beaches, view points, and funky shops and stops along the windy highway. It delivered. An afternoon sitting in the river chair with the sun sparkling on the water while drinking a bloody mary and listening to live music from the patio. Perfect way to end the summer. Noise at night??? Did not bother us at all. Maybe light sleepers could be disturbed by an occasional car passing. It is very quiet at night...not like the busy days. Beautiful flowers, good food, cute shops. A treat in a very special place.

Room Tip: Might be worth it to spend the extra money for the lodge rooms overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Manager at Big Sur River Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thanks so very much for taking the time to write a review, Maureen! And for sharing your experience at Big Sur River Inn. Seeing guests like you sitting in a chair ... in the river - being truly relaxed is one of our great joys! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to Big Sur in the not too distant future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The rooms are nice and clean and good smelling. However, there is no service at all. The standard room rates of more than twohundred dollars per night are absolutely not reasonable.

There is no Wifi in the rooms, only in the restaurant. The street is very loud and you hear it very clear in your bedroom. No coffeemachine in the room and no free coffee for hotelguests in the restaurant. You have to buy the breakfast and each cup of coffee separately.
In front of the rooms is a lot of dirt and dust and the direct environment does not look very pretty.

No, not again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were travelling up from Los Angeles to San Francisco, this was a great stop over. The location was amazing and it was beautiful being by the river. The restaurant had some lovely local wines to share and the food was great. It was perfect for what we wanted and we all had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Sur River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur River Inn

Address: 46840 Highway One, Highway 1 at Pheneger Creek, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint stream-side inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Big Sur River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sur River Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.