We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking to waterfalls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park

Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park
47225 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
831-667-2315
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Attractions in Big Sur
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Camping, Walking
Attraction details
New Baltimore, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hiking to waterfalls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The trails were well laid out and there were tons of other people there but you couldn't hear them as the trails wound thru the towering redwood trees.
Wonderful weather and good company. PS we did not see any mountain lions, not sure whether that is good or bad...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    88
    25
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon this amazing beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

During our drive down the PCH we stumbled upon this amazing beach. Took a while to get down the windy road but well worth it. Great spot for a little relaxation and sun. Would pack some food and drinks - just beware of the seagulls!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A great hiking and camping park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Come for a day or stay for many days. The camping sites are great, wooded and very serene. The hiking trails are vast and there are some with waterfalls, valley views with lots and lots of big redwoods. There is a restaurant, restrooms and places to hang out at the lodge.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Top Contributor
743 reviews 743 reviews
363 attraction reviews
Reviews in 204 cities Reviews in 204 cities
2,331 helpful votes 2,331 helpful votes
“Great park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was another one of the many beautiful parks that we saw on our way down from Monterey to San Simeon. There are so many beautiful places to stop along the coast highway and I was glad we stopped here. The views were incredible.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great day hikes for all levels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Experience coastal redwood groves, valley views, and alpine cascades in this stunning state park. There are various trails ranging from easy to difficult so no matter what you can enjoy the natural beauty of this park. Definitely should be on your list of things to do during your visit...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.