We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great park... GO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park

Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park
47225 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
831-667-2315
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Attractions in Big Sur
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Camping, Walking
Attraction details
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“great park... GO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

loved this park! very diverse trails and great photo opportunities!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    88
    25
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Buzzard Roost - phone connectivity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We were lead to believe that there is no phone connection. However, when you hit the 2 hour hike to Buzzard Roost, there is a phone tower for making calls.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

One of the best parks along the PCH for sure!!! A must see!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“There are better parks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

1. We hiked the Pigeon Roost trail and were disappointed; it was a waste of two hours time. It is a 3.8 mile trail and is much harder than described. Naturally, half of it is uphill and very challenging. The disappointing part is that at the top (which the hiking map/description labels as panoramic), you are met by a cell phone tower, which ruins the view. About half-way up the trail, you can look out and see the mountain side; this was probably the best part, and I wish we would have stopped there. In sum, Big Sur State Park needs to have a better hiking trail guide (that describes the different trails and tells whether easy, medium, or difficult) similar to those offered by other California state parks.
2. Only 1 out of 4 employees we encountered were friendly/helpful. The front gate employee asked, "What do you want," in a very unpleasant tone and with a scowl when we pulled up. An employee in the gift shop had no idea about the trails and directed me towards another employee who then did not give me the right information on the trail or where to park. The fourth employee was helpful and directed us to the trails and parking - thanks fourth employee - we loved you!
3. I was greatly disappointed. This was supposed to be the highlight of my trip.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very nice trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011 via mobile

I loved big sur it was great lots of sights tubing and more! And it's great to swim here I camped here and it was great the showers are clean and the rangers are super nice I even got to see a condor!!! You must go here

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.