We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic beauty second to none” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Sur State Historic Park

Point Sur State Historic Park
Hwy. 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
831-625-4419
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 attractions in Big Sur
Type: Lighthouses, State Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This historic lighthouse located around Point Sur is now a state park.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Scenic beauty second to none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This has to be one of my favorite drives in the United States. It's so beautiful on a sunny day that you have to stop frequently to take a photo and appreciate what you're seeing. Don't forget to bring your camera! The pictures we took here along Big Sur are my favorite from the entire vacation.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Access to this amazing place is strictly controlled so take advantage of a volunteer-led tour. During the off season tours are offered only once a day, twice a week. No reservations accepted so get there early. We went on a Wednesday along with about 30 other folks.

Beautifully restored, this place offers the most spectacular views to be had anywhere along Big Sur. Much whale spotting!

The tour is 3 hours and does require ALOT of walking up steep slopes. Everything is paved and the thoughtful guides take lots of well-timed breaks making the climb an easy one.

This is lighthouse is a terrific cause to support. All monies collected are used on the continued restoration.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The ranger tour was an interesting highlight of the history, geology, and technology of the lighthouse and life along the coast in the late 1800s. Tour was 3 hours, a bit long for the kids. Only one tour a day with limited entrance so you need to get to the locked gate 30 mins before your tour begins.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wemo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great tour on Christmas Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Having lived on the east coast for most of my life, I have seen a lot of really cool lighthouses. The lighthouse itself was not among the top tier, but the location definitely was. This tour was well worth the time and $10 fee.
We went on the 10AM tour on Christmas day. There were two tour guides- John and Kevin. John was very nice and definitely more low key. We went with Kevin's group and laughed the entire time. He really knew his history, and was very lively and entertaining in his delivery.
The tour is 3 hours long. You park at the bottom of the hill and walk 1 mile and 360 feet to the top. It's definitley a climb but unless you are in very poor health, pretty much anyone should be able to do it since you make numerous stops along the way while the guide explains the geology and history of the location.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the Long Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Park on Hwy. 1 by the locked gate and wait for the tour guide to show up. He will have you follow his car to the parking lot at the base of the large hill. You will then walk along the one lane road up the side of the hill to the buildings, stopping along the way to listen to the guide's stories. The walk is worth it just for the views alone. You get to go inside the light house and climb the stairs to the catwalk along the top. We were very lucky in that we were there one of the few times when it wasn't cold and windy. The only part I didn't like was havng to wait for everyone to finish in the gift shop before we could all walk back down the road together (not allowd to leave by yourself).

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Sur State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Point Sur State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Sur State Historic Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Point Sur State Historic Park to your Saves list