We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but unusual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur Lodge Restaurant

Big Sur Lodge Restaurant
47225 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920
(831) 667-3100
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Price range: $15 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good but unusual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

You are probably not accustomed to being seated by someone wearing a winter coat. You may not be used to see that person just plop the menus down on the table. Our actual waiter was very attentive, though. The food was great. All ingredients seemed very fresh, especially the salads. Kids menu was good too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    38
    18
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Honest good food served with penuche!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We ate there with a family of 7 and started a bit grumpy due to the bad bad service of the Lodge.
Soon we had been advised to drink great local beers and the food was good.Fish & chips the best ever and our 3 kids were eating well.
Service was excellent

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Chef quality and varied menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We ate breakfast and dinner at the restaurant. All of our meals were good. The granola is excellent. I like the taste of honey. The shortribs were exceptional. The service was simple for the off season. Great sandwiches and sorbet for a treat in the store.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wait staff was slow, but food is ok. The place wasnt very busy, but you would think it was a madhouse with the 2 waiters bustling around. Took forever to seat us and take order. The food was good, so it made up for the wait.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Restarant Commander”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The lady that brough the food was the 60+ commander style person. I guess she had worked in a prison before. The food was far too expensive, fast food style at restaurant rates.
The restaurant is pretty ugly. A big hall that is decorated with white wooden bars to make it look smaller. But still you feel like sitting in a train station and waiting for your connections.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Big Sur Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.