We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Gray's Kitchen

John Gray's Kitchen
Av. Ninos Heroes SM2 M6 L14 | Quintana Roo, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
01 998 871 0665
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great sea food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very nice decor, One problem was the bugs we got bitten and asked for them to bring bug spray...Food is very good and we will go back very soon...It's on a nice side street in Playa and not that many crowds going by so you can here everyone talk...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    61
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

John Grays Kitchen in Puerto Morelos Quinta Roo is as good as it gets . Everytime I have been to P.M. I never got around to eating there . this time I did . Would recommend it highly ,and will be at the top of my list when I go back in the winter .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“So Delicious, we went 3 times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

So amazing we went back twice, while enjoying our Honeymoon in Puerto Morelos! We are actually planning to go back one last time before we leave Mexico. From the time we parked our car the service was excellent, the waiter was very attentive. During our visits we enjoyed the skirt steak, grouper, risotto, and pork loin. All were amazing! The mango salsa on the grouper had a great flavor profile and the fish was cooked perfectly. My husband and I had ordered fish at another location our first night that did not hit the mark. John visited our table during both visits, he was conversational and took great pride in his food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jérôme QC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of the reasons why Puerto Morelos is terrific”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family made the pilgrimage from Akumal to Puerto Morelos (about 60km) just to eat at John Gray's. We had stayed in Puerto Morelos 3 years ago, we loved the village and we liked eating at John Gray's. The menu is concise with only 6 or 7 main courses,the five of us each had something different from the menu, that had not changed all that much in 3 years (that was good news). Be it the duck, the perfectly cooked skirt steak, Gorgonzola crusted pork everything was really very good. The wine list if not extensive was varied with good wines from California and south america. For us a great day in Puerto Morelos must include supper at this restaurant. Thanks guys it was really delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the food lets down the great name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I am a vegetarian and my daughter and son in law together with my husband ate here my daughter and I are vegetarian and chose an option no ( veggie options) which could be adapted they said to suit after a long wait with only around 6 people in there the meal arrived together with meat . They did change it but seemed very surly we felt very uncomfortable have not been back

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Gray's Kitchen also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to John Gray's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Gray's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.