We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Stay Renter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arrecifes Suites

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arrecifes Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heriberto Frias Sm-2 Mz-14 Lote-7, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Halifax, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Long Stay Renter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Spent the winter and plan to return. Excellent beach location, large one bedroom, self-catering, with king or two double bed units. Arrecifes One has 12 suites plus 2 studios. The suites have patios or balconies with ocean frontage and a shared beach area with palms and palapas. Snorkeling, long beach walks and warm swimming literally at the doorstep. Loved my stay here. Management was not ready for the high season, but was very responsive in making repairs, improving Internet service, designation a safe swim area, providing more beach chairs and in replacing old furniture as the winter season progressed.

Room Tip: Snowbirds need to book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My sister, brother-in-law and their baby stayed with myself and my baby here in Feb-Mar 2014 in a 2 bedroom suite. My parents and other sister also made good use of the suite though they stayed elsewhere.
Booking: I contacted the hotel directly after having some confusion through Marand Travel (the go-to travel agency for Puerto Morelos) and had no trouble. Emails took a few days to a week and a half to return, but I also called there and spoke to Leila who speaks good English. I had asked a million questions and they responded directly and honestly to all of them. Payment was made very clear - $30 of the total stay up front to guarantee the room but it was refundable if we needed to cancel. The rest was paid in USD and Pesos when I arrived. You can also pay by credit card upon arrival but, as everywhere in Mexico, there is at least a 5% charge to use cards because the banks there charge the owners 5% for processing.
English is spoken by at least 3 people at the hotel, and Leila is at the front desk almost always, or ask for her. Front desk service is "laid back" but that's to be expected in Mexico, I think. :)

Room: our 2 bedroom suite had 2 good sized bedrooms coming off a large main kitchen/living area. There were bathrooms connected to each bedroom one of which also was accessable from the living area. Kitchen was large with lots of counter space, fullsize fridge, microwave, blender, stove (gas), toaster, and dishes. The selection of knives and pots/pans was minimal but we could've asked for more without a problem. The first big bottle of drinking water is free, then $30 pesos per bottle after that (just bring down your empty and the boys will bring up a new one). The simple but functional living area had a table to seat 6, futon (very firm), loveseat and couch and small coffee table. We had a few extra reclining lawn chairs of our own which fit in for added seating. The futon could've been pulled out to sleep another 1 or 2 people or kids, so you could potentially sleep 6 in the suite.
Air conditioning units in each bedroom worked very well and though there was none in the living area we used the very good, new ceiling fans to move the air around and it worked just fine.
The beds and bedding were not like home, but I'm not complaining. There are decent pillows, very clean sheets and a bedspread. I took off the polyester bedspread and used another cotton blanket that I had instead which was more breathable. I also contemplated removing the plastic-y mattress cover but never did. The bed was firm but comfortable. Two twins are pushed together to make a king, or separated for a single, however you like.

Bathrooms: Showers were fantastic! A huge overhead "rain" faucet with lots of hot water and a large shower area. Showerheads are often leaky or plugged here because of the salt in the air that corrodes and clogs them, but this building was brand new so we had perfect showerheads. The bathroom accessable from the living area is very narrow and not that easy to get around in, but otherwise both bathrooms are modern and very nice. Towels, shampoo packages, handsoap, and washclothes were provided and were all good quality.

Beach towels are rented with a $10 USD deposit per towel which is fully refundable when you return them. They are nice big fluffy beach towels and worth the deposit, especially since you don't then have to bring one and can save space in your luggage.

Pool & Beach: this new building, Arrecifes II has a lovely small pool in it's little couryard which can be used by anyone at Arrecifes. There are 4 beach chairs there and a very shallow portion you can sit in as well as a deeper part. Great for a cool-down and for kids! The pool was cleaned about every 4 days or more while we were there and it seemed very clean just like all the property. There is also an outdoor shower to rinse off in and bathrooms at the pool.
The beach in Puerto Morelos is simply wonderful. Arrecifes Suites has a nice partitioned private beach area with small palm trees, palapas for shade, and quite a few beach chairs. Many people come out early in the morning to throw a towel on a chair to "reserve it" for the day even though this is against the posted rules. We didn't "reserve" so often used our blankets and beach towels if the chairs were all taken, which was fine with us.

The rooms at the original Arrecifes are in the building facing the beach (though not every room there actually has an ocean view) and many have walk-out patios or balconies with chairs and hammock hooks. There is a nice little grassy area with decorative plants, then a couple stairs down to the sand. There are also outdoor showers to rinse off the sand and salt which just got new showerheads while we were there. These stairs and the "lawn" area are nicely lit at night to you can enjoy it at any time.

Maid service is available at an extra cost and we didn't bother to get this. We did borrow a broom to sweep our suite and asked for toilet paper and garbage bags as needed.

Parking is available just off the street in a non-gated area either in the back or on the street side of the building.

Arrecifes Suites appears to be constantly under improvements. They were moving in some new furniture, fixing light fixtures, replacing shower-heads and tending to the grounds the whole time we were there. They keep things very clean and tidy and are very friendly folks!

The only complaint I had is because of my baby who was always trying to sleep and the noise from the stairs/halls in the Arrecifes II was very loud. Since it is a completely concrete building (as most are in Mexico) things echo. Nobody was unusually loud, but just moving chairs in other rooms, people's feet on the stairs, chatting in the hall, or birds in the courtyard made for a lot of noise. I would suggest to the owners to put felts on the bottoms of the table and chairs which would reduce a LOT of noise.

I would certainly recommend Arrecifes to anyone! The price was excellent for the room, location, and services provided!

Room Tip: Arrecifes Suites II has no rooms directly on the beach, but if you got a room on the 3rd floor you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Been here 7 x great location. Large bedroom,living room.right on beach,comfortable loungers and palapas for shade.2nd largest reef in world right out front= nice calm ocean! perfect for swimming and snorkelling. Nice friendly people at the office with good English. All rooms have internet but management is working to improve it. Short 1/2 m walk to town centre, lots of restaurants, shops,grocery stores. You can cook in room,small 2 burner gas, nice fridge, toaster oven. I LOVE THIS TOWN, FRIENDLY AND SAFE.
G S Flin Flon

Room Tip: Location is amazing 30 yds from the water. View from front porch is spectacular. All suites are iden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We unfortunately did not have a very pleasing experience here. My girlfriend had a brand new bathing suit drip drying in the shower, the maid came in to clean and sprayed bleach ruining her suit! We went to see if the hotel would show a gesture of good will to accommodate us for the ruined $70 suit. We were told there was nothing they could do because the maids are controlled by a different company. They made no effort to contact the company controlling the maids and made no effort to correct their un-professionalism. Other issues were no hot water in the shower, the place smelled of mold, which I think they just paint over when it starts to show through. All in all we were not happy with our stay here and will look elsewhere for our 2015 trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Were there in mid Nov, 2013. Good location, good views, decent rooms, spotty maintenance and management (unless you talk to Jessica); private beach area with lots of palapas and loungers; somewhat messy on grounds. Keep in mind: nobody but Jessica speaks any English or good English with exception of Laila; don't expect a formal check-in or instructions in case of problems, or a receipt; do expect some little things to be wrong with every room (loose door handle, missing cookware, leaky windows, etc),but there is a maintenance guy that will fix these; remember to ask for maid service if you want it- this is very sporadic. Would stay there again, now that I know what to expect.

Room Tip: There are two one-room units that are cheaper than the suites. The $75 per nite unit is over the off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was my second time staying here, so that says that it was good enough for a repeat visit. However, the second visit had a few more glitches than the first....
The location is great, right on the beach with direct access and private lounge chairs and palapas. There is NOT a pool, but the ocean out front is warm, shallow, and calm- no seaweed or rocks-just walk right in. The beach is wide and flat ( they actually drag it daily with a John deere tractor!), soft, white sand, and you can walk in either direction . One way takes you into town- about 10 minutes- faster than by land, which is about 5 blocks. The other way - spoiler alert- takes you past a "clothing optional" resort, but no one minds if you walk on by!
Stay in a suite- these all have balconies on the second floor, and patios on the ground level. There is one "studio", which is in the back of the main building and does not have the great views. Cheaper, but not nearly as nice.
The suites are roomy, except for the bathroom, which is small. The kitchen is NOT well-equipped at all, but if you ask, usually they can find what you need somewhere else.
The wireless did not work in the room, but you could get it down by the reception area.
The cleaning staff came the first day at 5:00 PM, the second day at 5:30 PM, and then never again.
There are only overhead ( ceiling ) lights throughout, which I find really annoying for reading, especially in bed. I asked for a plug-in lamp, but it never appeared. Also, depending on what your neighbors choose to do with their outside lights, you could have a light shining in your bedroom all night.
The front desk girl, named Laila, was very accommodating and tried to be helpful, but she seemed to be on her own and unable to make certain things happen. Plus, she was there almost 24/7 without any help. Thumbs up to Laila- she deserves a raise and an assistant.

Room Tip: Corner suite, second floor. This has an additional double window on the side so the breezes are bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We found this hotel via Groupon and decided to rent a studio for a whole week. I'd say it is a great place for a couple / family on a budget, especially if you want to cook your own meals.

The service was really good: we had to switch room as the wi-fi (required for work purpose) was not working in our initial one, and the receptionist was really helpful (by the way the staff only speaks Spanish). We stayed on the first floor (balcony view). Cleaning ladies came everyday around 12. However, every morning a bit before 8am, construction workers started hammering the walls, which is not the best way to wake up to say the least. Looks like they're updating all rooms, which sounds promising for future guests.

The suite itself is really big. As mentioned in other reviews, all rooms are inhabited with tiny ants so you'd better put all your food/leftovers in the fridge as soon as possible. We also had an unfortunate encounter with a nasty cockroach in the kitchen, which we chased away and it did not come back. The bathroom is okay - at some point we had no hot water though, but the problem was solved a couple of hours later.

The seaview is really fantastic. That's not the most beautiful beach though, as it is full of seaweed - if you want to go for a nice swim, I recommend you to drive to Cancun, Isla Mujeres or Playa del Carmen. If you stay at this hotel, you should definitely rent a car to see all the surroundings and avoid taxi costs, which can be quite expensive.

All in all, we were rather satisfied with our stay, especially for the value and service provided (despite construction work).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arrecifes Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arrecifes Suites

Address: Heriberto Frias Sm-2 Mz-14 Lote-7, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arrecifes Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Suites Arrecifes, 14 beach front suites with king size or dbl. beds, large living area, kitchenette equipped, garden, and beautiful beach! 3 star complex 5 blocks from main square of Puerto Morelos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Arrecifes Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arrecifes Puerto Morelos
Hotel Arrecifes Suites Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arrecifes Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.