We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing reef, ask for captain Marcelo Chacon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Nacional Arrecife Puerto Morelos - Puerto Morelos Reef

Parque Nacional Arrecife Puerto Morelos - Puerto Morelos Reef
Av. Rafael e Melgar 1,2,3, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Miami, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing reef, ask for captain Marcelo Chacon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I loved the reef, there were turtles, huge sting rays, lobsters, more sting rays and even sharks...all types of wonderful fish yellow, blue, angel fish, giant fish, etc. Really worth it....if you can't find captain Marcelo. Ask for Feliciano, his stand is in front of the plaza in Puerto Morelos, the company is called Seven Days . Snorkeling. Marcelo will go in the water with you and drag a floater and will guide you to find all the great sea life...he drags the floater in case you get tired you can just hang on, he will pull you ....great service!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    152
    33
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Must Do Activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The reef is beautiful and full of colorful sea life. Any of the independent guides on the ocean side of the square will give you an excellent guided snorkeling experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“User-friendly, accessible snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

For a casual snorkeler, this was really a wonderful set up.

1. It's easy. No reservations, no arranging boats. We drove to Puerto Morelos and got there late - around 1:30 - and went straight to the cooperative. They helped us find parking, charged us 25 dollars per person, and said we'd leave in 30 minutes with anyone else who showed up. In the end, we went out with just the two of us, on time.

2. It's "all inclusive." The 25 dollars covered the boat, guide and boat pilot, snorkel, and a water. (Tip - if you want other drinks or snacks, there is a mini mart across the street.)

3. The reef is close. Not far for the pier, and you can be under the water in 15 minutes.

4. Good reef (for novices). For casual snorkelers, we saw lots of fish, beautiful coral and urchins, and our guide (Charlie Brown) pointed out a sting ray and two types of sea turtles.

Our only problem was driving away salty - the shower wasn't working, so we wished we'd brought a gallon of water to rinse off. Otherwise, a great trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergennes, IL USA
1 review
“Awesome Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a first time snorkeler with us (this our second time) and though we were tired, it was well worth the effort and the price. The fish this year were very abundant. Saw a shark, sting ray, lobster and tons of corral and fish. The current was much stronger this year than last time but the fish didn't seem to care! Our tour was set up by Thomas Mor Travel at the Royal Resort Mayan. Food after the snorkeling was good as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple Two Hour Snorkelling Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great fish to see on all over the reef including barracuda. Small groups don't overwhelm the reef. When they realized we were tired after the first stop, they arranged to have us drift back to the boat at the second and final snorkel site.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional Arrecife Puerto Morelos - Puerto Morelos Reef also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Parque Nacional Arrecife Puerto Morelos - Puerto Morelos Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parque Nacional Arrecife Puerto Morelos - Puerto Morelos Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.