We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada el Moro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Posada el Moro to your Saves list
Posada el Moro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent all around hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Price was right and room was lovely. The beds are a bit hard however, as are the pillows. Good service and great location, close to everything. Breakfast included means a small fruit plate, glass of fresh orange juice and coffee, so is just a starter for some. If you get the downstairs rooms, watch out for bugs coming in as you are on the ground. Bit noisy due to bars etc and live music in the vicinity but take earplugs or get used to it. Pool is small good for a quick dip really.

Room Tip: ask for one not on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear honeymooners832:

We all at Hotel Posada El Moro thank you for staying with us during your vacation and your review of our services. We seldom receive complains about our mattresses and pillows for the quality is better that average, in fact we have in every room the best quality of these items, for comfort for our clients is one of our priorities. However, we realized that mattress and pillow hardness may be a problem for some of our visitors. We have in stock several types of pillows, so please next time request us to try the various pillows so that you select one of your preference.

About bugs, you may be referring to ants that are a constant presence in this part of the world. I assure you that those are not a problem. Although be use organic pesticides periodically we do not overdo it so we do not harm other beneficial creatures such as gykos and small lizards that are part of the natural ecology. Furthermore, we keep high standards of hygiene in our installations so we do not encourage ants to stay around.

We just opened a full restaurant with delicious Mexican dishes that you also hope that you can enjoy on your next trip to Puerto Morelos.
Noise, Indeed some weekends our neighbors have live miusic that becomes a nuisance to our guest. Although they need to close any noise by 11:00 PM we have no control over that.

Despite all these rpoblems I hope that they will not prevent you from visit us and puerto Morelos again and enjoy a better vacation.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    79
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
121
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

-All rooms now have wall safes.
-The onsite restaurant now serves breakfast / lunch / dinner. The meals are all great.
-Wi-Fi now runs off two onsite routers. I had no issues connecting.

My 10th year at this family owned and operated Yucatan Gem. Spotlessly clean, near the town square / all restaurants / the fabulous beach. You will not find a friendlier, more helpful group than Miguel, Vicky and their entire staff. Alex and Miguel have many more improvements scheduled for the next couple of years. We are all ready booked again for next year. Regulars book a year in advance to ensure they get their room selection. This is the best small hotel in Purerto Morelos, bar none.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel (18 rooms) so not all rooms are identical. Make sure you ask for what is impor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Denis-in-Sarnia-Ont:
Throughout these 12 years years of being in business at Posada El Moro we have learned that our best asset is our increasing number of clients and friends that inspire us to be better each year.

Yes!! we are adding small but significant improvements to our service each year for the comfort and safety of our visitors. All that thanks to the advise and suggestions of our dear friends that year after year come to visit us to enjoy the friendly and positive ambiance that we all help to create in Posada El Moro.

Miguel his staff and all of us involved in the Posada El Moro project expect you, your family and the rest of our friends again next year, and the many to come, to enjoy together that piece of paradise that is Puerto Morelos.
Hasta pronto!!
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Posada el moro was a very pretty authentic hotel. Rooms are small, but priced accordingly. The breakfast here is good and the people very friendly. The hotel was kind enough to hold our bags for the day after we checked out of this hotel and waited for check in at a condo. I left my travel pillow behind and they had it at the desk two days later. Very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Colleenfromalaska:
We all at Posada El Moro thanks you for staying with us during your vacation and your nice review of our services. As you mention, we aspire to offer an excellent quality in our services and authentic Mexican experience to our visitors. Hopefully we can be of service in your next visit to Puerto Morelos.
Thanks again for your review.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Good rooms, very clean and tidy, get any agreement about length of stay etc in writing to avoid any confusion...
Some rooms have cooking facilities others just a fridge - a few meals cooked "at home" more than makes up for the extra expense if you're staying a few days.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear blusea3:
We all at Hotel Posada El Moro thanks you for help us with your review, observations and for staying with us. Although we have seldom complains about confusion with reservations and agreements of staying, we are sorry that you are one of them. I hope that you had a good vacation despite this incident. We are working on a new web page that will include on-line reservation and payments that will help us avoid these problems. It will be launched in August of this year.
Thanks for point out that we have rooms of different dimensions and services. Indeed master suites have fully equipped kitchen and dining room so that people can stay comfortable for longer periods and cook their own dishes.
Thanks again for your review and hope to see you again at Posada El Moro.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and my adult son and I have stayed in several condos in Puerto Morelos. This year we wanted to be closer to the square so we chose Posada el Moro after talking to several who have stayed there. We arrived on January 21, 2014 and intended to stay a month. After five days, I received a call that my brother had a heart attack and passed away. We had some difficulty arranging a flight back to the states as most spoke Spanish and we are not fluent in the language. Don Miguel helped us arrange a flight home. Totally unexpected was that he also refunded much of the unused time of our stay.

This is the standard for the rest of the staff, always friendly,diligent, and efficient from the maids and grounds keepers to the cook and wait staff. They understand what keeps people coming back to this little bit of paradise. Physically the hotel is beautiful in the courtyard with all the trees and plants. The rooms are large enough to be comfortable (we stayed in a master suite) and amenities, a/c, wi-fi, hot showers, refrigerator and cooking area added to our stay.

I am sorry we didn't get to stay longer, but you can bet the next time we are in Puerto Morelos we will be booking the Posada el Moro.

Room Tip: Get a master suite if you plan to stay more than a week, we enjoyed cooking fresh fish and lobster f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear bill w:
We all at Posada El Moro thanks you for your time to write this nice review of our services. We also feel sorry for your lost. Hopefully we can see you again in Puerto Morelos and Posada El Moro in a better time. Miguel and his great staff will be happy to see you again.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My friend and I traveled to Puerto Morales in March 2013 and stayed at Posado el Moro for just over on week. We found our room spacious with enough room for a sofa, galley type kitchen, dining area, two large beds and dresser, large closet, sink and bathroom as well as a deck. The breakfast served each morning was plentiful and included fresh fruit. The location of this hotel is great with restaurants on either side as well as across the street. We only had a couple of blocks to the beautiful beach and the town square was only a block away. At the town square you could find taxi service and bus service as well as entertainment and a weekly market day. While we were in PM there was also a "garage sale" held in the market square with proceeds going to a school...
The hotel did have a few issues, however nothing that would stop me from returning. I'm a relaxed traveler so the music from the bar and restaurant next door until 11pm just added to the great atmosphere. The trouble with the toilet flushing properly reminded me that I wasn't at home or at work - Thank Goodness! The one small problem that was a tad concerning was the door lock...we did wonder if it actually worked, however we also knew that the hotel staff were around.
The hotel grounds are lovely, the stairway fabulous and common balcony area calming and cool.

Room Tip: We had a top level room with balcony at the front so could sit and look out over the street (great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear HeyKettle01:

Thanks you for your review and glad to hear that you had a good experience during your vacation in Puerto Morelos. Thanks also for letting us know about the areas in which we need to improve. Be assured that we take action on all complains and suggestions so that we improve our service.

At Hotel Posada El Moro our main concern is that our guests spend their vacation days with us in an atmosphere of comfort, cleanness and most of all safety. This year we have made some improvements in that area. Now all rooms have safety box big enough so that our visitors can store a Lap top and all their valuable belongings. We installed safety locks inside the doors and check that all of standard locks function properly. We have constant vigilance around our open spaces (e.g., garden, corridors).

Thanks again for your review, input and hope to see you again in Posada El Moro and Puerto Morelos.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My family and I have stayed at Posada el Moro the past 2 times we have been to Mexico, and we will continue to do so on our future trips. The hotel is beautiful and clean, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are spacious and cool, and the location is great. Also, the pool is clean and clear, not always true in Mexico. It's close to everything and a short walk to the swimming beach or to the pier where the snorkel and fishing tours take off. It's also close to all the restaurants and bars. In the past they used to have a more breakfast options for purchase, but on our most recent trip we were only offered coffee, fruit and toast which we were perfectly happy with. The hotel is a great value for the excellent rooms and the location. The only negative is that booking is tricky and it can be difficult to get confirmation from the owner that you have your reservation. Keep emailing until you get a response and print everything and bring it with you.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Megerl:
We all at Posada El Moro thank you for your review and continues visits. We feel satisfied when we see that our clients have a well deserved rest and nice experience during their vacation and that we are part of it. In the coming weeks our new web page will have the opportunity to do your reservation and payments on line. As well we hope that you can check in your next visit our recently opened restaurant that has a whole menu of breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Again thanks for your time writing this review and we all will be happy to see you at Posada El Moro again.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Posada el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personallized service, comfortable and clean installations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Posada el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada el Moro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.