We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, quiet, hotel in Puerto Morelos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada el Moro

Save Saved
You added Posada el Moro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Posada el Moro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Puerto Morelos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint, quiet, hotel in Puerto Morelos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When traveling to the small fishing village of Puerto Morelos, I like to explore the essence of the village, its people, shops, restaurants and businesses. What better way to experience the town than to stay in town at a location where everything is within walking distance; the town square being a block away.

The Posada el Moro Hotel is my go to place each time I've visited. You won't see a neon sign or flashy exterior. But you will see a small, quaint, hacienda style, 3-story hotel with a welcoming entrance. The family of owners / property managers are genuinely dedicated to upkeep and a well run hotel. The small staff does a great job of keeping the grounds, rooms, pool and hotel clean and inviting. The landscaping in the back garden area is colorful and beautifully done. There are numerous room styles and locations to choose from.

I have always stayed in a "suite" on the second level. I like the option of having a fully equipped, small kitchen area, dining table and chairs. The main room also has a futon couch, tables and lamps. The room is separated by a colorful and functional curtain to the bedroom area. There is a quiet air conditioner in the large bedroom, outside patio overlooking the town, a large walk in closet and a great bath room area with mexican tile sink & vanity - private water closet on one side, private large tile shower on the other. If you prefer a laid back style of accommodations, I highly recommend The Posado el Moro!

Room Tip: Second floor suites give you an opportunity to cook Yucatan style meals since the town has numerous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear SusannahBanana:
We are thankful not only for your nice description of your room and our hotel but also for your repeated visit to Posada El Moro. Every person in our staff is proud of their work and it is very nice that our visitors take notice of their effort. We feel satisfied and happy when we see that our clients feel at home with the comfort, cleanliness and laid back atmosphere that we all look for in a vacation.
Thanks again for your time to write your review and we hope to see you again at Posada El Moro.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    64
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
30
96
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We were nicely surprised by the garden and little pool as we walked to our room. The bathroom had a talareva sink, and the room was spacious. There fan helped move the air in and out our two large windows. The hotel is near some tasty restaurants, Tacos.com, with a curry salsa verde, and La Pirata, a kitchen with an Argentine edge. We did our gift shopping in town, and got a great deal on plates crafted in Puebla from a family shop near the shore by a dive shop.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Steve 16639:
We all at Posada El Moro thank you for let us and the town of Puerto Morelos to be part of your vacation. Our own is slowly growing in services and restaurants for the benefit of our visitors. We are glad that you had a good time dinning and shopping around town and hopefully we can see you again in this part of Mexico.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is our last night in Puerto Morelos. We had stayed in Play Del Carmen for a week in a condo and then moved over here for the last 3 nights. This little hotel is just so cute. Very traditional Mexican décor and lovely jungle look with all the foliage--really like the entrance and how it is open to allow the breezes to come thru the entire grounds. You are provided a key to the entrance door of the hotel, which they lock at night in the event you stay out late--which we did one night :). Otherwise the door stays open. When we came in late, my husband laughingly told me he felt like he owned the place b/c he had a key to open the front door!

We stayed in room 22 on the first floor and it comes with a frig, microwave, kitchenette type--all cooking utensils and plates etc. The AC and ceiling fan works great!! The flooring is painted concrete, which is smooth and cool. there is a connecting door to the other room, but we have not heard anything from the occupants. Someone had mentioned that the lock to that door is flimsy and I would have to agree-that needs to be changed. But it is a quiet place and we have thoroughly enjoyed winding down from our trip. the grounds are well cared for and the pool was completely refreshing. The bed was comfortable and the price for the room was excellent.

They offer continental breakfast but we did not try it--too many other options so close. The top floor has a huge palapa that you can look out over the town and the water. It also has very good wifi--good enough to make a voip call.

The Best part about this hotel is its close (and I mean "short, leisurely walk" close) proximity to all the restaurants; the cantina; the town square. The restaurants are so close together that you can easily walk past one and not realize you missed it.

Although this hotel completely fit our needs for a short stay, I felt comfortable enough that I could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Meander48:
Thank you for your description of our hotel!! We are also thankful for the opportunity to be part of your nice vacation. We hope that you can pass again by Puerto Morelos and if you give us your preference to stay, please try out restaurant. I think that you will be happy with the continental breakfast that is included in your room. We have also a good selection of mexican dishes (try our chilaquies with or without chicken... my favourite) if you want to start your day with a filling, healthy meal.
Thanks again and for your time to give us your review in Tripadvisor,
Sincerely
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Prairie, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed there on july 29-30, 2013 by myself and I felt really safe in this hotel. Very nice room, clean and quiet. The beds are confortable, toilet and shower work good. One of the best place to stay in Puerto Morelos for that price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Julie0707:
It make us happy and satisfied when we met our clients needs and expectations. Thanks you for let us be of service during your vacation and hope to see you again in Puerto Morelos,
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Plus points: Clean room, nicely furnished, good bathroom, quiet, safe and secure.

Minus points: Not good value, disinterested staff, pretty rubbish breakfast - a plate of fruit, a weak coffee and two pieces of toast with a bit of jam... expect a bit more for this price range!

Mainly we felt a bit ripped off - have stayed all over Mexico and found better hotels for half the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear James L:
We all at Posada El Moro thank you for staying with us for your vacation. Also we feel very sorry that you feel ripped off for our service. That is not our intention, on the contrary we strive to give our clients a quality and memorable stay. We will learn from our mistakes for again our clients comfort safety and satisfaction are our priority. We hope that the rest of your vacation was not as bad and you continue coming to this beautiful country.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at the Posada El Moro in Puerto Morelos, Quintana Roo one night on April 23, 2013. I had no problems booking our room through their on-line reservation link, but was dissapointed with our accomodations on arrival at the Hotel. Our room was described as having an ocean view, but one would need a pair of binoculars to see the ocean in the distance. The unit's furnishings were out-dated, and the key to get in the room was difficult to work with. We asked to see another like-priced room, but it was in worst condition, with the air-conditioning not working adequately. We chose The Posada, because of comments we read on-line, so were surprised with our accomodations. The Continental Breakfast was fine and the Manager on duty very helpful. The Hotel just needs a little "tlc" to help with its appeal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mr Hollytmx:
Alll of us at Posada El Moro thank you for your preference during your vacations.
Although our suites face the ocean, it is not, in any way, our intention to mislead our clients. In our web page there is a location map which indicates the location of our hotel two blocks away from the beach. Sorry for the confusion and your disappointment.
We are currently in our annual replacement of 6 out of 18 AC equipments in the hotel. That is the price that we pay for living in such humid climate. Nevertheless sorry for you bad experience you had dealing with faulty AC.
We use the low season to renew and improve our rooms and open areas. We hope that you can visit us again next year and have a better experience.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a super-clean and quiet hotel with cute rooms,very comfortable beds, and nice grounds. There are several room options including non-a/c, a/c, and suites with kitchenettes. The hotel staff is pleasant and friendly, but unobtrusive. The included continental breakfast was enough to get us going - included toast, jam, assorted fresh/local fruits, juice and coffee. It is convenient to the beach and the center of town with plenty of places to eat within close proximity. Check out the rooftop palapa too! You have an interesting 360 degree view, it is cool from the ocean breezes, and makes for a great place for evening cocktails. We didn't spend much time at the pool but it was clean with just the right mix of sunshine and shade.

Room Tip: We were second-floor with porch facing the grounds so it was quiet. We chose an a/c room but it woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear BeverlyK241:
Thanks you for your preference and nice review. We are glad that we contributed to your nice vacation in Puerto Morelos and Riviera Maya. Hope you can join us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada el Moro

Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Hotel
Posada El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos
Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada el Moro 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personallized service, comfortable and clean installations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Posada el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada el Moro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.