We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love at First Sight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada el Moro

Save Saved
You added Posada el Moro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Posada el Moro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Galveston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love at First Sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a super-clean and quiet hotel with cute rooms,very comfortable beds, and nice grounds. There are several room options including non-a/c, a/c, and suites with kitchenettes. The hotel staff is pleasant and friendly, but unobtrusive. The included continental breakfast was enough to get us going - included toast, jam, assorted fresh/local fruits, juice and coffee. It is convenient to the beach and the center of town with plenty of places to eat within close proximity. Check out the rooftop palapa too! You have an interesting 360 degree view, it is cool from the ocean breezes, and makes for a great place for evening cocktails. We didn't spend much time at the pool but it was clean with just the right mix of sunshine and shade.

Room Tip: We were second-floor with porch facing the grounds so it was quiet. We chose an a/c room but it woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear BeverlyK241:
Thanks you for your preference and nice review. We are glad that we contributed to your nice vacation in Puerto Morelos and Riviera Maya. Hope you can join us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    66
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
30
103
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sour Lake, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, Clean and comfortable room. Highly recommend. Near the town square and beach is very short walk. Every thing is on walking distance and you save money not havering to hire a taxi to see the town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Trbond:
We all at Posada El Moro thanks you for let us be of service during your vacation in the Riviera Maya. We sincerely appreciate your time to write this review and your recommendation. We hope to see you again in Puerto Morelos.
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Very well taken care of place great service had a pleasant stay pool is small but it is an inexpensive hotel good wifi in rooms and every where in facility close to town and top floor you have a wonderful view of the ocean

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Acmoore_5742
We all at Posada ElMoro thanks you for let us be of service during your vacation. We feel satisfied and fortunate when our visitors have a good experience in their vacations and when we are part of them. Thanks you again for your review and hope to see you back someday to Puerto Morelos and Posada El Moro.
Sicerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stay here. Nice rooms..a/c works great..bed is comfortable..bathroom clean and spacious closet...clean property
.welcoming staff..beautifully. kept. Hotel is walking distance to all of puerto morelos. Pool is small however lovely. A laid back vibe here. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Go downstairs for breakfast and enjoy the outdoor seating. Also the roof palapa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent several nights at Posada el Moro in March. This was our second trip there. We love the location, proximity to the beach and town square, the complimentary continental breakfast and the laid back atmosphere at the hotel. The staff were very accomodating. The housekeepers do an excellent job, the place is very clean and charming. There are some minor maintenance issues we noticed, such as a weak lock, and water pressure issues, but they would be easily fixed and if we had had to stay another night we would have reported it. They have made a beautiful relaxing space on the roof top, which we enjoyed. We had to stay an extra night - we changed our flight due to an impending storm on the east coast. The storm fizzled out- who knew?? Miguel and Vicky were gracious and allowed us to switch rooms for the extra night. We will certainly return there next time we go back to Puerto Morelos.

Room Tip: Suites 14 and 15 have a view of the main street and the ocean a block over. I prefer them, even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I just returned from two very relaxing weeks in Puerto Morelos.
We stayed at the Posada El Moro, room 14, for the full two weeks.
Room 14 is one of the master suites on the third floor, with a balcony facing the ocean.
The room is equipped with a kitchen, microwave, two burner stove, table and chairs, sofa, two beds, TV and once we settled in it quickly became our home away from home.
The hotel is perfectly situated and very close to everything.
As the previous posters have stated the hotel is very clean with beautiful garden walkways leading to the private pool which we used everyday.
We had morning coffee on our private balcony and spent lots of time up at roof level under the palapa.
Miguel and his entire staff take care of all of your needs, if you have an issue just ask and it will be dealt with.
We had two small issues with the toilet and the shower pressure, both where fixed instantly, the maintenance man adjusted the toilet and cleaned the shower head, both simple problems, simple solutions.
If you dive, take your gear, there are plenty of spots to hang your stuff to dry.
We decided to be adventurous and took the ADO bus from the airport to the road going into Puerto Morelos, a 15 minute trip, $6 each.
We caught a cab from the drop off point and were delivered to the front door of the hotel, a 4 minute trip, $2 total.
If you decide to use the ADO bus you can purchase a round trip ticket or purchase you return ticket at the drop off point. Just make sure you purchase your return ticket several days in advance.
There is a small grocery store in town or you can hop on the local bus and go into the village, 50¢ each. There you can shop with the locals.
The beach is one off PM's best assets, soft sand and no water shoes needed, the hotel supplies beach towels.
The trip advisor forum is a valuable source of information, what to do, where to go, etc, etc, I highly recommend using it.
All in all we had a great trip, all the locals were very friendly and helpful.
I will finish this review by saying that we would not hesitate to return to Puerto Morelos or stay at Posada EL Moro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Posada el Moro and I'm sure we will return. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Really liked the grounds. Beautiful well-cared for gardens. It was amazing how the street noise disappeared as soon as you walked through the lobby. My only complaints would be a few small issues with the room. We were on the first floor(room 22 I think) None of the windows latched properly. Also, the lock on the sliding door didn't inspire confidence. Although we felt safe and had no security issues, I would have felt better with a few wooden dowels to drop in the window tracks when we went out or were sleeping. Also, our room had an adjoining door to the next suite. Presumably for opening if a family was using both rooms. Usually these adjoining doors are heavy double doors. This one is a light single door and we could hear any conversation next door and I assume they could hear us. This does not seem like a major fix and I hope they do repair it because it really takes away from the charm of the room. Overall, I would totally recommend this hotel. Great location, clean, friendly, charming. Just a few fixes and it would be great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personallized service, comfortable and clean installations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Posada el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada el Moro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.