We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel by the city square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada el Moro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Posada el Moro to your Saves list
Posada el Moro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent hotel by the city square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Miguel is such a great host as is the rest of the staff. Nice quiet hotel few feet from restuarants, shops and the town square. Beach and main dock is a block away. Great rates and friendly atmosphere. Dive shop right in the hotel too.
I'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms come with kitchenette. I didn't get one, because there are so many nice and inexpens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    75
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
117
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is a great spot. Nice hotel that is clean safe and in the town - hotel zone. I really don't like all inclusive hotels and prefer to be in the towns though this is more touristy that the main town near the highway. This place is close to everything you would need inthe town. Walk to restaurants and tours. Our big simple room had AC and was on the second floor looking over the pool. No fridge. Go to roof for vista of whole area. Small breakfast but ok. Small pool but clean. A few lounging chairs. Nice staff. Go a few steps to the north (left out the door) and between 2-4 get a really cheap and big margarita (they all speak English and you'll see the sign for happy hour).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Spent six nights in late December, including Christmas Eve and Day. I will definitely stay here again. The spotless rooms and the happy, friendly staff make this a keeper. Plus, the breakfasts available make this a very convenient location from which to begin your day. Not that there is a whole lot to do in Puerto Morelos, but this is centrally situated to City Centro, and the beach. About the only negative we found with Posada el Moro was the bar across the street, but we learned it is closing due to lack of business. This hotel should never lack for business, however. It is a great choice if you love things clean, simple and easy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

My girlfriend, our dauther and I stayed at this beautiful clean hotel in Dec 2011. We were on the 3 rd floor in room 36. WE didn t want our 9 month old baby waking up other guess. WE ended up to be awaken for a good part of the night by dogs and a rooster from the area while my dauther kept quite... .Apparently it is a common thing near the city square...oh well.
Friendly staff, breakfeast was serve early so we could start our adventures. Excellent snorkling close by, and a great book store at the city square and relax coffee shop to chill.
Beautiful small swimming pool and a nice mini library in the main living room at Posada EL Moro.
Average price .

Room Tip: Be nice on you....do not take a room on the street side, too noisy.Apparently on the first floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We spent a week here in October. Great place run by Miguel and his staff who are friendly and very responsive. The room was very clean and pleasant. The hotel is close to everything in town and only a block from the beach. The town has a number of very good restaurants. Minor problem with the roosters next door waking us up in the morning. We used the hotel as a base for visiting Playa del Carmen, Tulum, and the other Maya Riviera sights. This place needs to remain our secret, don't tell anyone about it. ;-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I have stayed here several times and always had a perfect experiance. Miguel and staff are very friendly and helpful. The security is excellent. Location is right. very inexpensive. We are going back again in Dec. They recently added a roof-top palapa with excellent views and nice breezes.
Don't tell anybody,,,its a perfect hideaway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Clean, attractive, well maintained, friendly and helpful staff, inexpensive, great deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personallized service, comfortable and clean installations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Posada el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada el Moro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.