We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your mexican home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Condo-Hotel Marviya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Morelos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Condo-Hotel Marviya
Save
You added Condo-Hotel Marviya to your Saves list
Ave Ninos Heroes | Calle Lazaro Cardenas, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Hotelito Marviya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Your mexican home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

A friend of mine went with her entire famiy (sister, brother in law, mother, father and husband) and suggested that I tried this place.

My sister first went there with her hustand and child. They loved it. Then we went back with my entire family, including my mother and father. We still loved it. Two years later, I brought my partner to discover the charm of Puerto Morelos, the lovely villagers and the authentic food. It is rare, as he puts it, that after only a few days everyone waves at you when you pass down the street and take the time to chat even if you are not in front of their establishment... they are just like that :o)

No beach vendors, a clean beach with beautiful translucent water, several scuba diving places, and a little appartment you can call home. Yes, it is basic, so if you are the luxury hotel type, please pass this by.

I like to travel luxury for business and to learn about people and meet friendly people in 3 star places when I travel for pleasure.

Sylvie and Cesar will do everything possible to make your stay an interesting and plaisant one. They organise a tour, once a week, which is REALLY worth taking, for the price and the various things you will do during one day.

The studios come with everything you need to cook, clean, and be happy. There is a lovely garden with a pool that is just what you need to cool down before a little siesta.

The studios are away from the main drag so it is quiet at night. It is not far from the village so you can come and go as you please.

There are many little cute restaurants (Dona Triny, Oasis, the little indian restaurant wich mixes the best margaritas in town) and you can go to the market to buy your own fruit and vegetables. The fishermen bring fresh catch every day and you can buy fresh fish for a song. And wait until you are lured by the smell of the BBQ chicken down the street!

Who could ask for anything more? I really find this the best place for farniente.

And I can assure you that contrary to what someone posted above, it smells like a breath of fresh air, and breathes calm and tranquility.

I recommend staying on second floor only because when there are kids it is a bit noisy because they tend to get up early and jump around. If you are on second floor or above you won't hear a thing!

I cannot recommend this place and our lovely hosts, who will cook you pancakes, omelettes and french toast served with a big smile day after day.

FInally, we also rented a car and it was a good price and it is very safe to drive around even all the way to Merida and other places because the speed limits are really strict (not over 100km per hour if I recall well) and there are policemen to enforce it everywhere so everyone is really disciplined at the wheel, which was an extremely nice surprise, so Studio and Hotelito Marviya are central to go around the Mayan Peninsula and do tons of day trips.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

We love the staff and the accommodations at both the studios and the bed and breakfast. The studios have a lovely garden, small pool area, places to sit outside your room. Rather quiet which is nice. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff are very friendly, helpful, and accommodating.
Annette, Joe, Kristen, and Janel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We were 3 of us, reserved only 3 weeks in advance and was given the choise to have a studio upstair or downstair. We finally took upstair. Only 1 block away from the beach (no kidding!), the place was secured, cleaned, the pool we enjoyed very much, close to the town 910-15 min), a van full of pastry came around each day between 5 - 6 pm, the kitchen is exaxtly what it look it on the web. Sylvie greeted us and gave us good tips. We really appreciated her kindness & service. Our 1 week stay was fun and memorable. We took the bus to go to Cancun and Pl. Del Carmen (beach is not so wide). I would recommend that place especially for those that want to live autonomously but still with a Mexican touch. Tks Sylvie !

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

My teen-aged son and I recently spent a night at Club Marviya on our way back to Cancun. Sylvia and Cesar were friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was very good - yogurt with granola, thick slice of fresh pineapple, fresh croissant, fresh coffee, grape juice, toast...quite good! Our room was dated, but functional. We liked the funky lamps...and the water dispenser and fridge right in our room. The wireless internet came in handy, too! This hotel is a bit out of the way - we had to trek a ways to get to a restaurant - not sure we'd want to do that in the dark. But right out in front of the hotel is a pathway to a gorgeous, uncrowded beach! Lovely! We didn't like the loud '80s love songs playing until 11 p.m. at night - we had spent the day traveling, and wanted to retire early - but kind of hard when Madonna, Sting, and Foreigner kept belting out their woes!

This place was a very good stopover, and we'll more than likely be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

Place is noisy, staff not very friendly. We stayed in better places in the very nice village

  • Liked — None
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marviya, owner at Condo-Hotel Marviya, responded to this review, March 6, 2008
I feel so sorry about this review....I have been in tourism for more than 20years and never had such a comment....we have been known for our hospitality and kindness at the Hotelito Marviya ....I really don t understand....but would like to have you again to make up with you guys.....our little paradise is the best in Puerto Morelos.....again we are very sorry....somethings might have been wrong ...but I assure you that this is not our type.......! hope to see you again....come by we will talk !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Condo-Hotel Marviya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condo-Hotel Marviya

Address: Ave Ninos Heroes | Calle Lazaro Cardenas, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Hotelito Marviya)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Condos-Hotel in town of Puerto Morelos, we have 10 beautiful condos of one or two rooms with a nice zen garden in the center it looks like a Mexican hacienda . All our condos are full equiped with tv, wi-fi ,A/C or not and BBQ outside on the garden next to the pool . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Studios Marviya Puerto Morelos
Condo-Hotel Marviya Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condo-Hotel Marviya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.