We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 45% Off
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unfortunate experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here this past spring and were greatly disappointed. I spent most of my second day working with a travel agent to get us moved to another resort. I have stayed at many all inclusive resorts and this by far was the most unfortunate. The food was almost inedible, I resorted to eating bread and crackers so I didn't go hungry. We had a first floor "platinum room" and it was so loud at night we were unable to go to sleep until much later than we would have preferred. They also work really hard to get you to take their time share tour and presentation which is the last thing I want to do on a vacation. I'm glad others have had good experiences... Unfortunately ours was not one of them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guests:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your review and for your past stay.
We regret that your vacation with us was not as you expected to be.
There are several hotel categories and we are a solid four stars but I remember you were looking for an adults resort and not an all inclusive hotel ,we are happy that at the end you were able to get what you needed for your past vacation.
We are at your service anytime if you would like to comeback in another occassion and thank you again for your past stay and for your review.
Muchas gracias amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    1,058
    385
    171
    108
See reviews for
1,819
778
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights prior to leaving our 3 week Mexican vacation. Firstly, All Inclusive's are not our thing, we typically stay at condos or hotels and enjoy the requisite interaction with locals that brings. This resort is well laid out with a nice pool and water slide/cliff which our kids thoroughly enjoyed. There are lifeguards on duty which was nice to see but I noticed they weren't paying attention at times. The beach was average with a very disappointing amount of plastic waste continually washing up on shore - sad statement on the environment in general. Nonetheless maintenance staff were continually cleaning up the beach. The fact the beach is between 2 breakwaters also limits views which we like at beach resorts. Drinks were average to poor - we ended up drinking beer on tap. The house red and white wines are terrible and the resort should look at changing those. We ate buffet all but one meal. The buffets were likely as good as you will find at any all inclusive. Lots of variety and generally all 4 of us liked the meals at the buffet - didnt blow our socks off but didnt disappoint. We ate one meal at the Mediterranean/Thai Restaurant. This restaurant was nicely appointed but "Mediterranean/thai"? Pick one and be good at it. Each if our plates at this restaurant were OK. For the pomp and circumstance surrounding the service I would have expected excellent meals. Finally we purchased Platinum Club level room. This was the biggest farce of our stay. While it was nice to be able to go and make our own margarita and have access to check emails I would say it was a waste of money, we were led to our room by our butler who we never saw again (ok to us as we arent into that) but they plug the butler service and it was nothing special. As for our room it was as good as you will get in an all inclusive - nice linens and clean. The only complaint about the room is that the maids leave the doors open while they clean which meant every night before bed we spent approx 10 minutes killing lots of mosquitos - unfortunately you never get them all and we all had lots of bites. As far as service goes the staff at the resort are excellent and very happy and friendly - ironically the only lacklustre service was consistently the platinum staff. One final point at check in we got a pretty strong sales pitch to attend a seminar on their newest resort - after travelling for a few hours this was the last thing we wanted. Bottom Line is if you are travelling with kids of any age and want a decent all inclusive with loud music around pool then this would be for you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your comments and your preference.
We are so glad that you had a nice stay with us with the exceptions that you stated on your review.
Thank you also for recommending our resort for families amigos:)
We hope to serve you again in another opportunity in our resort
Thank you again for your comments and for your review.
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent a week at this resort shortly before Christmas with our two teens. Everyone found their own way to enjoy it. I loved the shady palapas by the beach and the beautifully landscaped grounds. My husband swam circuits in the ocean every day. The kids loved the freedom of the buffet restaurants, the pool, sailing on the catamarans, the Internet access in the Platinum lounge, and our spacious junior suite. The staff were always pleasant and even gave us some useful tips on how to get into town (Puerto Morelos and Playa del Carmen) without spending a fortune. The Platinum concierge quickly resolved our complaint with our initial room assignment (we had been guaranteed an ocean view but there wasn't one from the ground floor) so I think choosing this upgrade was worthwhile. The food was fresh, tasty and plentiful but wouldn't excite foodies. (Suggest they use real butter instead of corn oil margarine.) Lots of Mexican style dishes with the option to add hot sauces to your taste. Quality of the drinks varied considerably from one bartender to another but that was a minor issue to us. My one concern was the quality of the water at the beach. I had expected clear water and every day it was cloudy. Since I couldn't see the bottom even a foot from shore I wore water shoes to protect my feet from some sharp bits of the underlying reef. There was often a lot of seaweed which didn't bother me much, but some days lots of shreds of plastic created a soupy feel and I didn't go in those days. Outside the breakwall on the Puerto Morelos side of the resort the water seemed clearer so I wonder if the breakwalls are trapping the water and preventing a natural turnover? Most people stayed by the pool and if that is where you plan to hang out you'll be perfectly happy.

Room Tip: Junior suite in building 15 had a lovely balcony and view. Occasionally a rowdier group in the hot t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your fantastic review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your family had a nice vacation and that your expectations were achieved.
Thank you also for your detailed review and for all your nice comments.
It will be a pleasure to serve all your family again in a near future and thank you again for choosing El Cid for your vacation:)
Esta es su casa amigos....Feliz Año Nuevo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penticton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Advertised as a 5 Star it is not!! It is an aggressive Time share property where they use deceptive tactics in hotel lobby, time share sharks masquerade as hotel staff welcoming you to the hotel.They also bothered us twice with calls to our room, is this a 5 star hotel? The beach is not a 5 star beach it is short, was dirty, and very rocky 10 to 15 yards in the water, perhaps the worst beach we have experienced in 10 or so visits to Mexico. There are 3 la carte restaurants on site only one Alcazar is 5 star, La Marina star and the Mexican restaurant Arrecife food was not good perhaps a 2 star. The Alhambra buffet restaurant has better Mexican food on Wednesday.
The saving grace in our 3 week vacation was the frontline staff in all areas of the hotel, but in particular at the Alhambra and Alcazer restaurants, the recreation staff lead by Carlos were excellent, bartenders and waiters around the pool area and the chambermaids did a very good job.We will not be returning to this property over promised under delivered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your review and for your preference.
We sincerely regret that our hotel did not exceeded your expectations.
We are so lucky to have a great staff, we are convinced that what makes the difference in a resort is the human resource.
We will discuss your review with our team to improve on the areas that you highlighted on your review.
We hope that you could give us another opportunity in a future to experience our service again and our improvements.
Thank you again for your preference and for commending our hotel staff for their warm service.
Feliz año familia, esta es su casa!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Courtesy ride from airport was the beginning for a wonderful. Upgraded to Platinum and it seemed to make a difference sometimes. Misunderestanding at check-in. We were being assigned an upper floor room with balcony. We had requested a ground floor. Hotel insisted in showing us both accomidations and promising the upper floor was most desirable for other guests. Sounded like upper floors were premium we had paid for and were not wanting to use. We stayed in the ground floor overlooking the gulf and enjoyed the easy walk to adult jacuzzi, Roberto's oasis and the beach. Just a few more steps and there was the pool. All dining experiences were great, buffet had many great choices and tha ala carte was peaceful and relaxing. Wife and I are anxiously looking forward to hosting daughter, husband and two eight year olds during upcoming April.

Room Tip: Relax, don't expect staff to read your mind. We had a very peacefull stay. We had lots of doll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your great review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your wife spent a nice holiday in our resort.
Thank you also for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.com and for recommending our resort.
It will be a pleasure to serve you and your wife again in a near future and thank you again for selecting El Cid for your vacation and for your nice comments.
Best regards amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This place was great. The drinks where great, the food was good, the people where friendly and the location was beautiful. The only drawback is the long privet road makes the taxi rides expensive, but there is no need to leave the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your kind review and for your stay with us.
We are so glad that you had a nice stay in our resort.
Thank you also for sharing your opinion in this site.
We hope to serve you again in a short future and thank you again for your nice comments and for your stay with us.
Warm regards from Puerto Morelos!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just returned from 9 days at Marina El Cid, 12/26/12-1/4/13, We have 2 kids -11 & 12.
We have stayed at other all-inclusive resorts in the area like Azul Beach rating 5+ & Now Jade rating 3- and this one is in the middle of them. There seems to be a bit more for the kids but the evening meals lack flavor, and consistency.

On our arrival the front staff was courteous and helpful. We did upgrade to a better building, we were booked in Building 18 - the rooms are bigger but the view, well there is none. It's a great view if you want to look at the trees. We wanted beach or pool side, so we upgraded to building 16 - pool side and we even picked a walk out - perfect. The upgrade was only $30 a night. But, If you want to upgrade to a Platinum level then it's a $100 upgrade per night. I think for us - the only advantage was room views, better booze, and prime time for diner reservations. It wasn't worth another $1000, but - a better savings for us. Now, some will tell you it's great - It might be, but our family budget didn't see the advantage of spending the extra on that upgrade.

We were approached at check in about timeshare and said no, and they did not approach us again. We belong to another timeshare group and didn't want to sit through a 4 hour sales pitch. (We heard it took that long to get out without buying.)

After checking out the resort we spent most of your time at the pool. There is a lot of seating, but the prime spots were usually gone by 8:00 AM. - you have to get up and put your towel on the chairs before 7 a.m. If you want the beach - it's kinda the same if you want that special spot then bring your towel down and reserve it before it's taken.

The pool staff works hard and there is always something to do, kids activities, volleyball, beer chugging they mix it up so your not bored. The cups at the the pool bars are small, we brought some larger ones which made less trips to the pool bar, hint - bring your own.

The restaurants are:
La Marina (Seafood) - you only get 1 reservation per stay, because the resort wants everyone to have that experience. We didn't care from that one anyway, food was ok but had a limited selection.

Hacienda Arrecife (Mexican), - We ate breakfast and lunch here just about every day, The staff is great. Gama, our waiter was exceptional to us. Anytime we needed something... he was there, including our special hand-shake. Once he learned our routine, he had it waiting for us by the time we sat done with our food. (Coffee, green energy drink, kids energy drink etc.)

Lunch buffet - seemed better then we have had in the past, always warm, fresh fish, ribs, chicken, hamburgers, fries, cheesy-fries, salads are fresh, great breakfast & lunch.

Diner on the other hand was not great. Actually the buffet restaurant ( Alcazar) was better then the Mexician food a the Hacienda.

Alcazar (buffet restaurant): in the lobby was our old stand by. If you come back from town or a local trip, or don't get reservations at one of the other restaurants... you eat here. The food is good for a buffet, and there seems to be something for everybody. The staff may reach across your plate to refill your water, which seems rather tacky - but they try hard.

Alhambra (Mediterranean) Our favorite. The food here is great, We would have eaten here ever day, if we could. Also, for the 2 times we ate there the menu changed. We had shrimp one evening and chicken wrapped in prosciutto and asparagus the next. The salad bar was assume, the bread was always fresh. They had sliced meat baked inside some special type of bread - a must have. We passed on most of the soups, but had plenty of food- not to go hungry. The staff here are 3 x's better than any other wait staff at the other restaurants. MUST EAT HERE!

Note: In order to get a decent dinner reservation time, it must be made anytime after 7 a.m the previous day. Don't wait to make reservations. Also, Platinum member have priority seating.

The hotel offers nightly entertainment: The best we saw was was the Fire show. There also was Mexican Dancers, Pirate show, Magic show, and Karoke on the beach. The resort also brought in flea market type vendors so you can purchase souvenirs. The painter using spray cans/fingers was great. We came home with one.

The beach was good for walking and swimming but not to good for snorkeling. If you want to snorkel then go through a service at the marina. We also walked to Puerto Morelos and had lunch and shopped for awhile. If you want variety and enjoy shopping, then go to Playa del Camen and barter for your purchases.

We all met new friends and the days go by fast - isn't that what vacations are for - memories. I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your great review and for selecting our resort for your past holiday.
We are so glad that you and your family had a nice stay with us and that you will recommend El Cid to others.
Thank you also for your feedback that is really important and help us to improve our resort, our services and facilities:)
It will be a pleasure to serve all your family again in another occasion and thank you again for your nice review and for the selection of our resort.
We wish you all the best in 2013 familia!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Boulevard El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a paradise of turquoise Caribbean waters, soothing breezes, Mayan cultural sites and beautiful, aromatic flora and fauna. Situated near the charming bohemian fishing village of Puerto Morelos, overlooking the world's second largest coral reef park, this family oriented, all-inclusive beach resort offers a quiet alternative to the larger hotels in Riviera Maya. Enjoy amazing snorkeling, diving, sailing and sport fishing directly from our shores. With a selection of diverse restaurants, fabulous pools, adults-only Jacuzzi, Mayan-oriented spa, complete fitness center, full-service marina and more -- there is everything to do or nothing at all. • Family & Eco friendly Ocean Front Resort. • Exclusive large suites. • Great All-inclusive Resort. • Four tantalizing restaurants featuring a la carte and delicious buffets • Macondo Ocean Deck Bar with infinity pool • 22,000-square-foot pool • Beautiful landscaping, expansive sandy beach, hammocks. • Convention Center. • Ocean Front El Cocay Spa. • Full-service Marina 120-slip marina • WIFI Internet Access • Kids Club Center • Fitness center with the latest cardio equipment, free weights and a spinning class area • Pronatours Tour Desk • Half hour from Cancun/Riviera Maya International Airport and 20 minutes from downtown Cancun/Riviera Maya and Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa And Beach Resort
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Puerto Morelos
Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Beach
El Cid Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.