We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence vs. Royal Hideaway Cancun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun

Save Saved
You added Excellence Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 30% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Puerto Morelos
Toronto
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Excellence vs. Royal Hideaway Cancun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Comparison Excellence Cancun vs. Royal Hideaway

Both of these hotels are luxury all inclusive hotels. We just returned from the EC and have stayed at the RH twice.

Property
EC very nice property well kept. Ask for a room near the ocean or with partial ocean view. Building 7 was a good location. We did not have any issues with noise but the bugs did come out at night. The spa is beautiful and is surrounded by pools. There are pools throughout the property but the water was C O L D. Adequate gym. *****
RH has great grounds and is a smaller very well kept property. Nice pool area. Adequate gym *****

Location
EC about 30 minutes from Cancun airport but in the middle of nowhere **
RH about 90 minutes from Cancun but within a hotel zone and minutes from Playa ****

Service
At the EC you may need to ask twice. Most staff is helpful and friendly. We arrived late to check in but no one came out to the bus to take luggage. There is no one to get you set up on the beach and staff does not remove unused towels off beach chairs. Not the best service from front desk or concierge. Service in restaurant varied from excellent to fair. Good 24h room service with excellent choices. ** ½
At the RH staff is professional and gracious, 24 h room service with fair menu *****

Rooms
EC rooms are large, very luxurious and clean. Try to get a room with a partial or ocean view. I am not sure swim up rooms or excellence club worth extra charges *****.
RH rooms are ok, clean but a little tired, the again how much time do you spend in your room ****

Food
EC was fair. A number of the restaurants are large banquet type establishments. Dining in some restaurants reminded me of eating at a Red Lobster or being on a cruse ship. The restaurants do not take reservations so you may need to wait (they give you beepers) up to 1h minutes. Some guests did seem able to make reservations for dinner. Good thing the bars are near by. Ratings varied from good to fair *** 1/2
RH you can read the reviews on Trip Advisor. Food is serious business at the RH. Limited number of restaurants so if you stay a week you will repeat ******+

Beach
EC great beach lots of chairs and beds. You can walk for kilometers in each direction on the beach. Most of the beach is nice white sand. *****
RH beach is fair ***

Guests
EC had a lot of honeymooner and couples. The young couples all seems to enjoy themselves 18+, some families during the Christmas break.
RH mostly couples and some families with teens 13+

Internet
EC wireless only in the lobby, wired in room no charge but expensive to use computers in the “business centre” ***
RW wireless throughout the property almost to the beach no charge, no charge to use computers in the business centre *****

Nightlife
EC not much, I guess the newlyweds make their own entertainment ** Lots of Bars with good choice of drinks, various choices of house wine (not very good), bottled beer ****
RW quite at night a disco with live music most nights *** Good bars, undrinkable house wine ****

Tipping
EC be prepared to tip at most meals. I had intended to tip at the end of the week where we ate each day for breakfast and lunch. However, the wait staff seemed to think we should tip each meal and as a result service was poor. It you don’t tip each meal and go back to that restaurant forget getting a second cup of coffee. You will have to ask two or three times. I know staff relies on tips but service should not suffer if you don’t tip at each meal.
RH I tipped some wait staff at the end of the week and service was almost always excellent.

Overall
EC was a great hotel but I am not sure if we would return. The food and restaurants varied from good to fair and the staff while they tried lacked the professional of a true five star hotel. I would blame poor management. We asked for a late checkout as our flight was at 9pm. The front desk said a cold “no” the hotel was booked and if we did not like the decision we could make a complaint. The concierge did offer to see what she could do to help. That seemed to be a strange way to treat a guest who had just spent a week at their hotel. It was a good solid **** hotel.
RW is a great all inclusive hotel in my opinion. The food is wonderful, many of the restaurants are as good as any we have in Toronto (and we have great restaurants in Toronto) and the staff and sophistication make it a wonderful choice. Limitation is the size of the hotel, you don’t have the same sports, entertainment choices of the larger resorts, but what the RH does offer is generally first class. The RW is in my opinion the Four Season’s of the all inclusive type of hotel in the Cancun area *****+.

  • Liked — Nice large rooms, well kept property
  • Disliked — fair service and large banquet type restaurants
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5,216
    1,165
    359
    142
    80
See reviews for
255
5075
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,862)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

My husband and I enjoyed our stay, from Dec. 22-27, at Excellence but not as much as our Christmas stay at Secrets Capri a few years back. The beach is better, the pools are great (though water is quite cold) and the waiters and bartenders worked hard and were friendly (e.g. Ephraim, Edy, Ramon). The rooms were somewhat larger. On the other hand, the food was slightly worse ( with Chez Isabelle being great and the other restaurants okay), the entertainment was worse, with no great effort on making Christmas Eve/Day special as it was at Secrets. Also, watch the Front Desk...one person tried to short my husband on a dollar to peso exchange, and Viktor in particular was unfriendly and less than helpful. I really expected better given the rave reviews I read on Tripadvisor.

  • Liked — Sun, water, Mexico
  • Disliked — Front desk, air conditioning, barking dog
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We are a family of 3 from Toronto. We just returned from 1 week at Excellence (Dec 25-Jan 1) and I cannot believe we were at the same resort as the other recent "reviews". It is truly beyond belief how people complain and whine about things. Bottom line is that these are large, all inclusive resorts. They need to try and please 95% of the roughly 800-900 people who stay there every night. The other 5% you will never please! Look at the reviews complaining about food, hardness of bed, lack of pillows. One lady we spoke to was all upset beause they did not have Grey Goose vodka for her martini!

In our view, this place was easily 5 stars plus. Property, staff, beach, rooms and service were simply beyond the norm. Sure there was some seaweed (cleaned twice a day), sure not every meal was perfect, sure the light in the bath could have been brighter. If you want to nit pick, you need to get away from an all inclusive and go to a Four Seasons where you pay $25 for a salad. And the comment abot leaving valuables in a locked suitcase rather than the electronic safe in the room (free and secure ) is simply laughable and shows the mentality of some people.

The real highlights for us versus standard 5 star All Inclusives were a) very quiet and relaxed, b) adults only, c) every meal al a carte and fresh, d) all restaurants require no reservations, e) no noisy jet ski/parasailing boats at all, f) rooms were very nice and the beds were absolutely fine , g) property is very well laid out with very short walking distances, h) beach was very nice, i) property was immaculare and highly maintained.

The only possible downfall is lack of beach palapa/beds. You needed to be up early to get one!

Bottom line is to read these reviews carefully. This property is at the very top of of a short list of truly 5 star plus hotels in the carribean.

  • Liked — quiet, clean, great service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

I used this website to help me find a nice place for our anniversary. We spent 1 night at Desire and 2 nights at Excellence. The reviews about Desire on this website were mixed but my expectations were far surpassed. At excellence there were high reviews but my expectations weren't met!!!

We got to the resort at about 1 pm, 2 hours before our check-in time at the Excellence Club Level. All was well until we met our host at the Excellence Club (Alex). We were told to wait about 2 1/2 hours before check in and got the feeling that rooms were ready but we were denied access to them. After a so,so lunch we returned to check in. The restaurants by the way don't require reservation but you will wait 20 minutes for a table!!! The room was awesome for the first impression. The bed was horrible, the alarm clock did not work and it took 7, yes 7, phone calls to have a broken hair dryer replaced.

The next morning about 10 am we went to the "private" Excellence Club Level beach and pool. A bed, beach chair or chair that was not taken could not be found. We then went to the general public section of the hotel and again, no vacant chairs.

Paying $ 800 a night and not being able to get a beach chair or pool chair got annoying real fast. The pool concierge told us taht there was nothing she could do. We then called the Club Level concierge and layed into him. The result was that 2 hours later we were taken to the "private club" beach and a pregnant lady that was supposed to be on the "public" side was booted out!!! Not her lucky day but also bad for us because it made my wife feel bad.

I agree 100% with the prior review about the New Years dinner and entertainment. The grounds and rooms are beautiful but the service sucked. I think it is because the resort is too big. There were service personell everywhere but NONE of them could deliver. It's all yes sir and then nothing happens. One department has to talk to the next and so on.

If you're used to HoJo or Hilton, you will LOVE this place. If you're used to the Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons or even Hyatt, you WILL NOT LIKE IT. In my opinion, not worth more than $ 300 a night, even with the Bulgari Shampoo and soap.

  • Liked — Bulgari Shampoo and Mini bar.
  • Disliked — Bed, service, lack of beach and pool chairs and VALUE!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

i travelled with my family Mum, Dad and sister for a nice relaxing break for 2 weeks over xmas.
We arrived on the 14th December late evening to a lovely welcome with cold towels and a nice cold glass of champagne, checkin was very simple and easy and was welcomed to a stunning lobby area.

Rooms:
We where quickly shown to our rooms that where big spacious rooms with seperate living area and a great jacuzzi bath just what you need after a 10 hour flight.
Rooms where clean and a restocked mini fridge with everything you need, the room was a little worn but still a good standard.

Resaturants:

There is lots of restaurants to choose from with so many different types of food to choose from, i really enjoyed the french for good food, the mexican for a great lively evening with a fab mexican band and barcelona was good all round for breakfast and lunch
(this is my prefrence but everyone has there own tastes) but for variety this hotel had it!

Entertainment:

There wasnt a lot to choose from, They day there was yoga and football, vollyball as well as scuba diving lessons i was a little disapointed with the evenings but obviously for others on honeymoon or romantic break thats not what your looking for. comdien was funny and magic show was very entertaining.

Staff:

I couldnt find anything wrong with the staff they where brilliant, very friendly and will do anything for you i felt they did really enjoy there jobs and that nothing was scripted it was all real and sincere.

Drinks:
All drinks where top shelf and the coktails where brilliant.

Beach:

It was well cleaned with plenty of towels and sun beds the last week did get busy but it was xmas, the water is very murky and lots of sea weed but if you enjoy the pool which i do i had no problems with it

Location:
its 30 min for cancun and 30 min from puerto del carmen it cost around $80 return, i would say it wasnt great for location but if you not fussed on seeing mexico then its ideal.

Xcaret:
We went to xcaret for the day and night which cost $120 that included the night show it was a brilliant day with lots to do enjoyed the river snorkel in the under caves and the man made beach, i enjoyed the evening show i havent seen and show like it before with over 240 cast members, i also swam with dolphins there that was extra for a hour swim and you do get a full hour in the water unlike some and would love to do it again!

My overall view of the whole resort its self is the hotel is stunning and the staff are brilliant, the location isnt great but i do think if you there to relax and see mexico its good.
I found the food great and at a high standard.
I wouldnt go back beacuse it was only couples but i do recommend to people on there honeymoon/anerversary and on a romantic vacation.

  • Liked — Food and spa
  • Disliked — location and evening entertainment
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We just returned from a fabulous week at Excellence Riviera Cancun. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived, where we were greeted with champagne and fantastic service. Everything on the resort was new, clean, and first class!
The food was wonderful, and we especially liked the breakfast and lunch buffets and dinner at the Lobster House. The service was amazing, very friendly and no waiting at the bars or restaurants. The staff (ask for Humberto and Juan) treated us like old friends! Our suite was a perfect size for a couple, and the mini bar was restocked daily as promised.
We also got a couples massage at the spa. It wasn't the deep tissue type massage we expected, but it was still very nice and relaxing. We also liked the private terrace with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries afterward- nice treat!
Ricardo, at the front desk, gave us some great ideas for excursions. Upon his advice, we rented a car and drove to Tulum for a day, and we went into Puerto Morales and chartered a snorkel tour of the reef with "Dive In" (ask for Paco). Both trips were awesome!
The only thing that wasn't great about the resort was that the pools were freezing! Of course, it was December, so that's no one's fault. The ocean was warm, though.
We would recommend Excellence to couples looking for a relaxing, low key, luxurious and romantic getaway.

  • Liked — Luxury, service, great food and drinks, nice beach
  • Disliked — Pool was freezing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this resort from Nov 6/08 to Nov 13/08 for our honeymoon. When we arrived we received champagne, wet towel, ect...just like all the other reviews said. We were then brought to the Excellence Club to check in (we did not book in the Excellence Club). The guy quickly realized that we had reserved a swim-up suite but he didn't have any that night but promised us that he'd have one the following day (Friday) at 3pm and for the inconvinience and since it was our honeymoon we would recieve a free dinner on the beach,one free message and we would be upgraded into the Excellence Club. We said that was fine and we'd be back the following day to change rooms.

The bell boy then walked us to our room. We noticed that there were a lot of honeymooners because a lot of the doors had banners saying "Honeymoon". When we arrived at our room we didn't have a banner, no rose petals or towel art. There was a bucket full of warm water with a bottle of champagne in it. Five minutes later there was a knock at the door, it was the gentelman who checked us in. He now tells us he can't give us a free dinner on the beach or the free message. Tells us he's sorry and hurry's away down the hall.

The next day we go down to the pool for the morning/afternoon we then go back to our room to get out of our wet bathing suits to go to the Excellence Club to see if our swim-up room is ready. But of course it's not and they tell us sorry but we won't have one until tomorrow (Saturday). By this time we're getting a little angry. We still don't have a banner on our door, it's 3pm and the maid still hasn't cleaned our room. To make a long story short we didn't get our swim-out suite until Monday night and we left on the Thursday. We complained but they just apologized and said there was nothing they could do about it.

Another complaint I have is the maid service was never done when we asked it to be...almost every day we were there it wasn't done until late afternoon.

one last complaint, the day we were leaving our flight wasn't leaving until 8:15pm so they told us the shuttle would pick us up at 5:30pm to bring us to the airport. Check out was at 12 noon. I asked if we could have our room a little later since our flight was so late but they said they couldn't because they had to clean our room for other guests. I then asked if they had a hospitality room or something so we could shower and change before going to the airport. They told me no and that we could change in the lobby bathroom which I thought was a bit ridiculous for a five-star hotel.

Like all the other reviews, the food was good, the resort was beautiful, the staff was very friendly, the pools were amazing, ect..but the reason I would not go back is because it was our honeymoon and we just wanted it to be perfect or at least get what we payed for.

  • Liked — the Staff
  • Disliked — All the screw ups...no perks for honeymoon
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Excellence Group LLC, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.