We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Review after 21 nights room 8253” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun

Save Saved
You added Excellence Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 30% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Puerto Morelos
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Honest Review after 21 nights room 8253”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our third time back at the excellence and I have got to say its still a fantastic place to spend your holidays. we arrived on the 12th September and were staying for 21 nights in the excellence club. on arrival we had an extremely fast check in and the usual guided tour. we have stayed in both sides of the the hotel and can honestly say that there is not a great deal to chose from the standard side and the club side although the club pool side is very quiet compaired with the main pool area.

the rooms are very much the same except the club has a jacuzzi on the balcony aswell as in the room. the mini bar has branded drinks but in all honesty we didnt use it.

we did request that our room was cleaned before 12 as we liked to go back to the room in the afternoon, unfortunately we had to complain a few times as it was not done, but to be fair the club manager (Jenny) sorted the problem out and for the last two weeks of our holiday it was done every day.

the French resteraunt was outstanding yet again, not only in service but in the standard of food and so was the basmarti, lobster and grill. the Barcelona also offer a good veriety of food but quite often the sevice let the place down. on more than one occasion we had finished our starter before we where offered a glass of water or a drink, having said that they did seem a little under staffed at times.

our worst experience of the holiday was when we went to the italian resteraunt on Wednesday 2nd of October. you cant book at the excellence, you just have to go to the resteraunt and see if they have got a table free, if not you get a pager and they usually accomodate you within 30 minutes. anyway we got to the italian about 8.30 pm to find there was nobody at the desk we stood there for about 5 minutes when a waiter approached us and said he didnt know where the manager was but he wouldnt be long. two other couples stood behind us waiting to be served but left after another 5 minutes had passed. we were just about to leave when the resteraunt manger returned. he ddint say anything other than " room Number" I had to repeat our room number 6 times before he understood it, then he just said follow me. he took us to a table that was not ready no napkins and had obviously just been used at this point he walked off. my wife and sat down. he returned with two napkins and threw one at me and one at my wife. at this point we got up and walked out and went to reception to complain but never heard anything after that.

dont let this put you off as 99% of the staff are fantastic and cant do enough for you. its a shame that someone who is put in a resteraunt to greet people can't put a little bit of effort to being polite instead of being off hand and rude.

we tended to stay in the Martini bar at night as they often had some background musicians on that weer very good and we had seen all the other shows on previous visits ( can take another Michael Jackson or fire show) its about time they had a change of artist as to my knowledge it hasnt change dfor 5 years.

anyway apart frome the couple of minor moans we had a great time and will be going back in the future.

Room Tip: block 7 and blok 8 are in a good location close to the beach and next to the main area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
First of all, allow us to thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you back at Excellence Resorts.

It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have gone beyond our clients expectations. We'll extend your compliments to our staff and most particularly, Jorge and Gabriel.

We would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for the situations faced at the Italian restaurant and for the inadequate follow up provided by our staff. We totally understand how you feel about having to wait for dinner, instead of spending time enjoying the Resort facilities and your overall vacation.
We will forward your comments to the above mentioned departments as your feedback is very important to us since it helps us improve on a daily basis.

Other than that, we are pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay, and we hope to welcome you back to the Excellence Riviera Cancun in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,984 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5,237
    1,166
    359
    142
    80
See reviews for
258
5089
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,874)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, KS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have to admit that we were a little overwhelmed when we got here. From the palatial entrance, being offered champagne at check-in, and then a brief tour of the resort on the way to our room - it was a lot to take in fresh off our flight. It took a day or so to get our bearing and figure out where everything was, but in the end we didn't have any problems finding our way around.

The room was absolutely beautiful, and big. We got the entry-level room, and honestly I didn't see a need for any kind of upgrade. I had a chance to see what some higher-priced rooms had, and basically it amounted to possibly an outside jacuzzi, a rooftop pool, or a slightly better view. If you like those things, consider upgrading the room. They didn't matter to us, so we were perfectly content. Mini-bar was stocked well with non-alcoholic beverages, wine, and beer. There were also several bottles of hard alcohol available for us if we had wanted to make cocktails. However, I never did locate an ice machine, so it might have been a bit of a challenge :)

The pools and the beach were wonderful. We made it a point to swim everywhere we could. We also enjoyed reading poolside or seaside. Plenty of chairs to choose from, many with umbrellas in case you didn't want to be in the sunlight. Attendants came by somewhat frequently to ask us if we needed drinks - whether at a pool or on the beach. Not that it was really necessary - there was always a bar somewhat nearby (including a swim-up one at the main pool). They typically had a drink of the day that was interesting to try. Free advice - if you are looking to get served reasonably quickly, the swim-up bar might not be your best bet. It tends to be busy most of the afternoon, and also quite loud at times.

The food was pretty good, and there was certainly plenty of it. In fact, since there was a breakfast buffet and the possibility of a lunch buffet depending on where you chose to dine, you really need to pace yourself. Our favorite meal ended up being at the hibachi grill inside the asian restaurant. It was a celebration dinner for my brother's wedding and they didn't disappoint. We also had great meals in the french and italian restaurants.

Where it got a little complicated was the activities. The resort gives you a list of all the activities happening that day, along with location. We actually tried to attend one of the activities, and there was no one that showed up. Thinking they might have meant another location, we tried the other place - no luck there either. I saw other events happening around the resort, so it was just an unfortunate one-off. However, something we learned from the concierge - some of the activities require you to be there a bit in advance as there is limited space and it is first-come-first-serve. In other cases you actually have to reserve a spot. This isn't covered in the briefing or in their literature anywhere. If there are activities you are interested in, talk to the concierge to get the skinny on what you might need to do in advance. Speaking of reservations, you can't make advance reservations at the restaurants (resort rule). HOWEVER, if you want to visit the hibachi grill at the asian restaurant, you HAVE to make a reservation. I don't know if there are special exceptions at the other restaurants. Again, not covered anywhere - you have to ask the questions. Also, a special bonus they don't share - they have free taxis from the resort to Puerto Morelos every evening, to Playa del Carmen twice a week, and to Cancun twice a week (along with the return trip for any of them). They don't advertise this. As soon as you get to the resort, if you want to get in on Playa or Cancun, get your name on the list. They only do two taxis per trip which take a max of around 10 people. If you get your own taxi, it is about 45 US dollars each way. For water-related activities, the resort has a watersports shop in the middle of the resort. However, if there is something water-related you want to do, check with the tour operators adjacent to the front desk. Chances are you might come across something more interesting than what the resort is offering (for snorkeling this is definitely the case). We did the resort scuba course followed by diving the reef that was a five minute boat ride from the resort. This is the same place they'll take you to snorkel. If this is your first dive ever, the reef is fine and not very deep (maybe 27 feet). If you've been diving before, it isn't that exciting. Plus, being shallow, the visibility isn't great. I'm not really sure why they'd take you snorkeling there as there wouldn't really be that much to see from that far up. Just my opinion.

Overall, we had a fabulous time and would definitely recommend it to others as a nice way to relax and forget about the world for several days.

Room Tip: There aren't really bad rooms here. You can pay extra if you want for oceanfront, but it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, and for recommending us with all Trip Advisor readers.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We are back from ERC since one month and we are already planning our next trip. This was our 2nd time and let me tell you all that we’ve enjoyed as much as the last time (if not better). Our room was wonderful, we had little surprises waiting for us in the room (champagne, fruit platter and much more). The staff that we had met last time all came to us to say a big hello. Some of them even went out of their way to come and see us. As always the food is Excellent (I don’t understand people criticising the food, they must be very fusy). We ate, at night, in every restaurants except for Basmati (Indian) and Oregano because we did not have enough time. For lunch we were either at Barcelona, the Grill or Lobster. This vacation our favorite restaurants were: Italian, Grill and Lobster. At Isabel it was good but what they served us was not filet mignon. At the French restaurant it would be nice to have Rognons en sauce or something like that. The service was exceptional, thank you Diogenes. The shows at night were once again outstanding, while waiting to go for diner, the music and/or singers were very good. Special thanks to the piano player in the Martini bar. We have also met nice people from all over (Germany, Italia, NY etc...) and of course Boucherville, lol. On the last night, strawberries dipped in chocolate were disposed on the coffee table in the room with a personal note from mariana. What a nice attention. We would like to thank all the incredible staff who are working real hard to make our stay the best one. We would like to name you all, but sorry, memory is something that forgets. Anyway here is a special thank you and big big hug to: Jean-François (best hotel director), Mariana Montes (Public relation) you are so nice and you are always in a good mood going out of your way to please all of us, Gustavo (excellent waiter and future bell boy) he makes us laugh so much every time we see him, our little Leidy (that we affectionnaly call Lady Gaga), she’s always smiling and happy, Rigoberto, always in a good mood and doing a great job, Ramon, who is learning French and doing very good (Ramone la cheminée), Erika who was now working at night, so cute and gentle, Jesus who is the image of the resort because he’s the first person that greets you before entering the resort, Juan Lopez, Paulina always so charming and Norberto who was on training at the front desk and doing an Excellent job. Thank you all of you once again and wait for us in April 2014. The guys from Montreal Québec.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Ont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were at the resort Sept 25 - Oct 2. Read many reviews prior to our arrival - we went with an open mind hoping for the best and the best is what awaited us. Service and food were beyond expectations from the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The beach was so nice - powdery white sand. The water had sea grass but was very clear the whole week. Our last day was windy which stirred up the water so was not as clear but still very warm and enjoyable.

We had to wait one night for half an hour for a table at a restaurant but that was because we ate a bit later that night. All other nights we were seated immediately and service was quick and friendly. We enjoyed every meal we had and I can honestly say I could not pick a favourite. I must say I am surprised at some of the reviews I read regarding the food.

Our favourite pool was the lazy river - enjoyed the quiet and lush surroundings. It was nice having the variety of pools each one offering something different.

We would definitely recommend this resort and hope to return again soon!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Beautiful resort and beach. Food was great. Entertainment great. What makes them average is their lack of meeting your needs. Unable to accommodate more than 4 people for dinner out right refuse to. They advertised Football games in the club but had no bar tender. Thier room service would say 5 minutes for food delivery but it usually took 60 - 90 minutes. Most frequent answer to your questions was I don't know not just a minute I will find out for you. Staff was generally friendly it was the management side of things that failed. Beds and pillows are very hard most of our party woke up with stiff necks. It was our anniversary in which we told them at booking and sign in had no recognition.

Room Tip: request ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to share with all of us this review, your feedback is very important for us and it is our regret that we were not able to exceed your expectations, although many travelers find Excellence Riviera Cancun to be a great place for romantic and relaxing getaway, with excellent food options and outstanding service.

Our guests experience is important to us, and it is of deep regret to hear that the service of our staff was not of your full satisfaction. Although at Excellence Resorts, each member of our staff is continuously trained for the proper development of their duties and to deliver high quality service that exceed the expectations of all our guests.

Allow us to apologize for not being able to exceed your expectations with regards our service at our restaurants. We would like to mention that the layout of our restaurants cater to offer a personalized service for 2 or 4 guests per table. The reduced capacity of each one of our restaurants also ensures the use of the freshest ingredients and enhances the culinary experiences. Our concierge would had been more than eager to assist you to accommodate the six of you in a non rush hour.

Please receive our warmest greetings from Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Excellence from 9/25-9/29. We had a swim up suite, which we recommend. Really nice to be able to run back into your room whenever you wanted. We also were upgraded to the Excellence Club. This made our experience very memorable.
The drinks were very good and plentiful. The in room bar nicely stocked. Bars everywhere you could want. Top shelf liquor, all inclusive.
We thought the food was very good, but not amazing. We did like how each restaurant had its own decor and feel.
Our only complaint was that some activities did not occur as scheduled. No one showed up to run bingo. Shout out to Arturo at the gym for an amazing aqua fitness session. My wife also enjoyed the yoga. Highly encourage attending the activities.
Room was beautiful and very clean.
Overall, we would return and loved it.

Room Tip: Really enjoyed the Excellence Club swim up suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I were there for my company trip in February. From welcome drinks to room service to pool bar to beach activities, everything were 5 stars! The indian restaurant was the best out of all..mexican was just ok...the breakfast buffet had a good variety of food to choose from. The staff there are extremely nice, everyone carries a smile with them. We had a swim out room which was awesome. I love the lazy rivers there which a lot of resorts don't have that! The spa was amazing too! I I highly recommend everyone to stay there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Excellence Group LLC, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.