We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence was excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun

Save Saved
You added Excellence Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 30% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Puerto Morelos
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellence was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

First time in Mexico and first time AI. Stayed here for 12 nights in Sept. wanted 14 but hotel full. Staff so friendly, always ready to say hello and with a smile on their faces, obviously genuine. Room clean, big and spacious. Evening entertainment varied and enjoyable, we didn't bother with the daytime activities but there were plenty to choose from. Restaurants very good but Chez Isabelle, The Grill and Lobster House superb, have to make special mention of Toscana. We had a disappointing experience one night in that the service was slow despite the restaurant not being full. However we decided to give it another go and was so pleased we did! The manager, Santiago, immediately remembered us and pulled out all the stops. We had a lovely table which he himself decorated with rose petals and the meal and service from Manuel was excellent. On the last day, having checked out of our room and waiting for transport to the airport, I realised i had left my mobile phone in the room safe! I immediately spoke to the concierge and within minutes my phone was brought to me. It had been discovered by the maid, handed in and was in a sealed package with all the relevant details on, !! An excellent holiday at an excellent resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5,103
    1,132
    349
    141
    79
See reviews for
245
4950
28
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,785)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ansonia, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were there from Sept. 10- 18. We've been there many times before. Each time is a little different because they are always making improvements. We stayed in the club area.
We were disappointed because the weather wasn;t as nice as we had hoped, but the entire staff was the sunshine for our vacation. Starting with the GM, Mr Girault, the staff is professional, efficient and go above and beyond to help in any way possible. Their smiles are always there to brighten the rainiest of days. If you have a question, they will do their best to answer it without hesitation.

We were greeted by Marianna, Susanna, and Daniela when we arrived, and served our favorite beverage by our friendly bartender Melissa. The welcome made us smile....We were "home again". It started us off in the right direction.

Some plans had to change because some activities couldn't be held out of doors like the wonderful celebration of the Mexican Independence festival. What a great feast, music,and show...wow...just wonderful. The other nightly shows were great also , but this was my favorite because I got to try foods I don't normally eat, and found some wonderful new foods.

During the day when it was nice enough, there is music and my favorite was the Jamaican singer and band. In the evening, Claudia's singing was just wonderful to sit and listen to. She also sang one evening at the martini bar...just beautiful. There is also the fire show. We sat close enough this trip to get a close feel of just how hot those flames are...I was impressed with the show.

Room service is 24 hr. a day, and Ari keeps the staff on schedule, or as close as possible considering the weather. They will try to accommodate you eating choices. They have a menu in the room for room service.

We went into Puerto Morelos for a little bit of shopping. Visit my friend Lucy and her Mother's store. We bought some hand painted margarita and martini glasses. You can also take a bike ride from the resort into this small fishing village....and sign up for some fishing is you choose.

As for the restaurants, the food was all great. It's a personal thing really. The type of food you like and how you are use to getting it cooked may be a little different than it is when you have it at home. Be daring and try something you wouldn't normally have at home...enjoy... they are all very good. Try as many of the restaurants as you can; each is very different.

If you upgrade to the club, you can enjoy a couple of really nice additions. Chocolate day and tea day. If you are a chocolate freak, there is everything choc....including beverages...and so much to choose from. My only request is to add dark chocolate with some nuts in it....if they had any I didn't find it...maybe next trip. But they had plenty to choose from..even more than I could eat. The tea day had a lot of unusual teas to try and pastries...OMG...so many cakes, cookies and pastries to choose from.....wonderful stuff.
They also have the expresso/coffee machine if you're not into teas. I stopped every morning and every evening before we retire to get a cup of great coffee. There is also a coffee machine in your room...along with tea bags .

The martini bar is centrally located with all the restaurants only steps away. If you choose to eat later in the evening you may find you have to wait a short time. Just go back and enjoy yourself at the martini bar until they call you back for dinner. It's never a long wait....and the expresso martini is great....I think so anyway!!

I would like to put in some special thanks to some staff members. Marianna who I mentioned before, took special care of us, along with Karen, Grace, Susanna, all who went above and beyond to make us smile. Armando Baldino, Franciso Moreno, and waiters, Enrique, Antonio. Ramon, and our special waiter Edy who celebrated a BD while we were there....along with Mr Girault too.
Bartenders, Moises, Melissa, Rosy, Juan and Luis. And at the club there was Jenny, Ricardo, Maribel, Allan and Ana. All very professional and helpful in many ways. A thank you for all your kindness and help, and especially your friendliness that made our trip so nice. You were all the sunshine that we missed this trip.
I know I missed a few others, like the young lady who cooked the omelets every morning. Now she was GREAT at her job and very quick...but of course her name escapes me right now....I know I wrote it down somewhere, just not sure where. Anyway, thanks for the memories. We will return. How could we not return when we are treated so well by so many...thank you!

Room Tip: Check out the resort map to find a location that is best for you....if you prefer to be near the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
First of all, allow us to thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you back at Excellence Resorts.

We are glad to know that every time you have stayed with us, you have been able to enjoy of many unique and memorable experiences due to the courteous attention of our staff, comfort room accommodations, and enjoyable food & drinks in our restaurants and bars. It was a delight to see you enjoyed our Mexican Independence Day fiesta and the rest of the entertainment program as well.

Comments like yours constitute some good motivation for us to keep working to achieve our guests’ satisfaction. It means so much more when it comes from the opinion of our valued guests.

We look forward to having the opportunity to receive you on your next Caribbean holiday and to make your next stay with us a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Well what can I say! This is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed at , 5* it's even better. The hotel was amazing has everything you could ever wish for it is so spotlessly clean friendliest staff ever , they couldn't do enough for you .
They made our honeymoon so special in every kind of way great location literally 15 mins from the airport. And the food well amazing best food in the resturants we have ever eaten !
Entertainment well their is always something going on in the resort shows are brilliant.
We would defiantly recommend this holiday for couples we are definately coming back here next year perfect in every way.
Thankyou excellence riviera cancun for our amazing honeymoon :-)

Room Tip: Pool room swim up sweet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is hands down the best proprty we have ever been to! We were married here in 2008 without a hitch, and honeymooned here. The food is excellent, the facilities are excellent, the service is excellent. I can not say one bad word about this hotel.

We have returned since our wedding to enjoy this hotel again. You will not be disapointed with your vacation if you book here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Out of the six, five star, all-inclusive resorts in the Cancun area that I've been to; this is the best so-far. Maybe not the best value it depends what you're looking for. If you want top shelf liquor, a selection of beer at the bars and booze in your mini-bar you can't go wrong here. Great service and great food if you pick the right restaurant. Loved the architecture and landscaping. Layout was well planned. Pools and bars everywhere. Entertainment consisted of the same shows we've seen at other resorts but they have other bands and musical acts playing elsewhere during the evening.They have catamarans, kayaks and wind-surfing available if the weather is good.The room where we stayed had a strong wi-fi signal if you want to bring a laptop.The maid did a great job cleaning the room and they have a nightly turn-down service. They also have a little closet for your dirty dishes so they don't clutter the hallways.
There are a few caveats to be aware of. There is a reef about 1/2 mile out from the shore. As a result the beach is cluttered with sea grass and sea weed even though it is raked everyday. Also because of the reef the waves only break about a foot at the shore and the water is filled with sea grass. If you go to the beach just for the sun it's not a problem because there are plenty of lounges and sun beds to go around. The main pool is small with one swim-up bar and it gets crowded. People still try to reserve spots at the pool even though there is a policy against it. The enforcement of the rules was hit and miss.
There are larger pools with more swim-up bars and great beaches at another 5 star resort down the road but the overall quality wasn't as good as this place. Again, it depends what you're looking for.

Room Tip: Buildings 1 and 6 are closest to the main pool and restaurants. Try to get a top floor for less nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I went to the Excellence Riviera Cancun for our 20th wedding anniversary and the visit was wonderful. This was our first time at an all-inclusive and we will definately return. There is absolutely nothing to complain about at this resort. Everything was perfect. The room was very spacious and clean. The entire staff is so friendly and pleasant. The food in the various restaurants was scrumpcious (we tried 6 of the restaurants) and the serve staff was very efficient and friendly.
Make sure you pay the little extra and join the Excellence Club. It is well worth the extra money and you will not be sorry.
This is a great place to stay and we will visit again.
Gary

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Junior Suite. Lots of room and two private hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Going back to this resort in November for the second time. If you are looking for an outstanding all-inclusive this is the place for you. The service is impeccable, the food is very good, all top-shelf alcohol, and plenty of activities inclusive of water sports. As the numbers attest, the great majority of people love this place. Of course, you certainly can't please everyone and some people are just born to complain. It is a very nice gesture to throw a couple of dollars around during the day to the bartenders and give a tip for dinner. Americans tend to do more of this than Europeans which is quite sad but I guess that is their culture. The beach is very nice, (not St John nice) but certainly better than driveway you left to come on this trip. The shows at night are better if you take advantage of the alcohol and realize you are not on the Vegas strip. The swim-up bar is the place to be after an afternoon on the beach....NOA is a great bartender.....he will leave you legless. The rooms are very nice with a couple of channels on the tv that might interest some. Overall, if you can;t have a good time here, you should save your money and holiday in your garage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Excellence Group LLC, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.