We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than last years stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Excellence Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 35% Off Room Rate
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Arundel, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Even better than last years stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had such a great time here last year that we persuaded my Sister & her Husband to join us this year at Excellence Riviera.They loved the food,drink,shows & service as much as we did.
All 8 places to eat were still great but Chez Isabelle,The Grill,The Lobster House were tops but best of all was Toscana,we went there 3 times for dinner.The manager at Toscanas was called Santiago & he really spoiled us each time - SUPER
At breakfast Patrica greeted us with her lovely eyes & smile & cheery nature - great!
Cant wait to go again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,956
    1,367
    416
    160
    91
See reviews for
304
5,872
36
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Excellence in October 2010 for 2 weeks and it ended up being our favourite holiday ever.

Pros

- Staff are so friendly and the animation team engage with guests as much as the guests want.
- Drinks. Good proper drinks and excellent cocktails. I don't know if he's still there, but my wife will never forget Jamie's Playa Blancas. The Martini bar before dinner, listening to great live music is brilliant.
- The location and setting is fantastic. Beautiful beach, pool and gardens.
- Loved the 'Adults only'
- Other guests. Sounds like an odd one, but this is the sort of place you're likely to meet nice people and we fortunately did.
- Activities. Join in if you want (without pressure). Also kayaks etc available for free.
- Gym. A well stocked gym with plenty of equipment
- Restaurants. Plenty of choice and we tried all but the Lobster restaurant. Some were better than others but none were worth avoiding.
- Dress code. I know some people like to dress down on holiday, but for us we liked the fact that certain restaurants had a dress code and they did police it (one morning I couldn't go to breakfast in a vest)
- Ice cream on tap (literally). Nachos around the pool.
- Poker games - a new one for me, but really enjoyable.

Neutrals:
- Shows. Better than many I have seen, and not something we avoided, but at times they could have been better
- Post-show entertainment. Luckily the cocktails were enough to keep us entertained most nights, but when we did venture into the 'disco' it was empty.
- Due to the number of guests, each night a restaurant or two would be closed. At first it seemed an issue, but it really wasn't a problem when there was so much available.

Cons:
- I didn't try the spa - just seemed too expensive.
- I hate reserving sun beds as others did, so instead we had to get up early to ensure we had a good spot together

Away from the hotel we had a few great days out - one trip to Chitzen Itza, one self-drive speed boat ride through the mangroves to the reef and a day of scuba diving. There are many more to choose from.

So, if you're heading to Mexico, you're already very likely to have a great holiday. If you stay at the Excellence, you're even more likely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

u will not be dissappointed if you stay here! This was a little piece of paradise! Absolutely loved it. Was always treated with respect. Employees always wanting to go the extra mile for you. Felt like a Queen when I stayed there. Will definitely go back :)

Room Tip: Rm 7155! perfect view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koluce
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I came to this resort in October, 2011 for my honeymoon. My husband and I had such a great overall experience the first trip that we decided to organize a group trip with our family and friends. Our group had 8 people when we traveled back to the resort September 5th. Check in was pretty good considering there was so many of us. The champagne continued to flow! Only one couples' room was not yet ready. No problem because we all went to get some lunch and have a couple drinks while we were waiting.
The rooms were just as great as the first time we visited. Standard pool/spa view rooms are large and building 6 has a great view of the grounds mostly with a small glimpse of the ocean. We requested building 6, 2nd floor again. It is close enough to all the activities, but far enough away from the noise if you want to have a relaxing night in your room. They now include top shelf liquor in the rooms!!! Last time, there was only beer, sodas, water and candy in the fridge. Have at it! It's all inclusive! No extra fee when you check out. I don't think that the cleaning services were as spot on as last time. We were satisfied, however, my in-laws had to request their room to be cleaned. They didn't receive turn down service the first night, nor did anyone come to restock their room or clean the second day. On the 3rd day, they called down and someone was sent. I also noticed that our dishes were not taken from our room until the second day. Not a huge deal, but enough to notice the difference from our first trip.
The restaurants were also pretty good, but not as great as our first trip. They do need to work on meat temps as our steaks were not always cooked the way we ordered. Surprisingly, we really enjoyed Toscana, the Italian restaurant this time. Our last trip, Toscana was our least favorite restaurant. We also ate at Chez Isabelle, The Grill and Agave. All restaurants accommodated our group of 8 when possible. It was easier if we arrived when dinner was just beginning. If they couldn't sit us together, it wasn't a big deal. We usually were seated near each other. Please remember that the resort is more designed for couples. I was grateful that they were able to sit us together at all! We ordered room service once for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All 3 times the average time took between 30 minutes to an hour. The people that delivered our room service were so friendly! We always made sure to tip when the service was above what we expected.
The poolside service could be better. We really liked the lazy river area, but rarely noticed anyone bringing drinks around. Also, the float situation is still a problem as it was the first time we came. We would have to get up early and walk around the resort just to make sure we could secure one or two. We were told that they were hard to come by because the resort was replacing them with new ones. Fair enough, but please make sure to order enough! It's really frustrating to see people come out of their rooms with floats in there arms! Ridiculous! Please don't be this person when you visit. It's really obnoxious! The resort does post on their nightly newsletters that you cannot do this, however, people don't seem to care.
I rarely see smoking addressed in reviews. There are ashtrays all around the resort. We asked for one to put on our balcony and it was delivered within minutes. No smoking in any of the restaurants or in the pools. In the theater area, we saw ashtrays at the tables around the back of theater.
There were plenty of activities and shows throughout the day. My husband took a percussion lesson and enjoyed it. We also found out that the resort offers free shopping excursions from 6-8 pm daily. You do have to call the concierge to let them know. It only seems that they book for up to 8 people total, so make sure to call in advance! There were 2 taxis that picked us up and took us to Puerto Morales. Um, not that great! Did not really feel comfortable in the neighborhood we were dropped off in. If you just want to get a couple souvenirs and don't want to be off the resort too long, go for it. But my advise would be to pay for a shopping excursion with Lomas or Olympus near the front desk. Last time we payed $15 per person through Olympus. Lomas was $19 per person. The shopping trip is in Playa Del Carman, A lot more choices of shops. Felt much safer. Includes 4 hours to shop. Bus trip took about 1/2 hour each way.
The spa, oh the spa! We have gotten massages both times and have never been disappointed. Oh who doesn't want to be pampered. The hydro therapy circuit is worth it. I do enjoy most of it! Soothing music, delightful aromas and wonderful massage therapists'. Both times we paid about $200 for nearly an hour massage and 1 hour of hydro therapy circuit. Watch the nightly newsletters for promotions!
The staff are very friendly! Top notch as they were before! I can go on and on and give shout outs, but no need to bore anyone! It's all been said before!
We are already planning on coming back to the resort in the next couple of years and will continue to do so! We always recommend this place to family and friends. Don't hesitate to book. You have to be really hard to please if you find this place any less than 4 or 5 stars! Please feel free to ask any questions and if you find my review helpful in any way, please click helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
First of all, allow us to thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you back at Excellence Resorts.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We visited ERC for the third time, Sept. 11-18. Unfortunately the weather was not very nice this year, but we still had a great time. While we were aware of the possibility of bad weather, we travel at this time of year to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the Excellence Club, also because of celebrating our anniversary. A seven day stay, in the Excellence Club around your anniversary, includes an extra package. (Dinner on the beach and a spa treatment). This, added to the other benefits of the Excellence Club, make the extra cost worthwhile to us.
We were able to upgrade to a swim-out suite, which wasn't available when we originally booked. Although the weather messed up our routine, we like to hit the beach in the morning. Then after lunch, we would go back to our room and hangout in the pool, or relax in our hammock.

We want to complement management on the additions that were made since our last trip. The new beds, on the beach and around the pool in the Excellence Club area, are a very nice improvement. The addition of the lunch area on the beach was a great idea. Before this, you had to change into dry clothes for lunch. The beach lunch rotates their lunch menu, (Asian, tacos, tex-mex, etc.). They also added an option to get pizza at the beach, which was very good.

The beach was actually better, in one way, compared to our earlier visits. The seaweed was worse due to the weather, but it was a pleasant surprise when we walked into the water and didn't step on stones. I don't know if the cause was natural or man-made, but there is a nice layer of sand covering the rocks that were so prevalent before.

Once again, we met some very nice couples from all over. We were asked why we keep coming back, instead of trying other resorts.
We originally chose ERC, based on tripadvisor reviews. I spent a lot of time on tripadvisor, looking for another resort to try, but ended up back at ERC for the following reasons.
We really like the layout of the resort. The size of the resort is not overwhelming. It's a short walk to all of the main areas. The layout is also great at giving you the option of lively or quiet areas. According to the excellent website, the hotel was at almost full capacity, based on the number of rooms available. We never had a problem finding a shady spot at the beach.

We enjoy the food at the resort. We like the fact, that no reservations are needed. We went to eat @ 7:00 every evening, and never waited for a table. We also like the many choices available. Our favorite is the French restaurant. Our waiter, Frank, took great care of us, both times we ate there.

We really appreciate the effort, that is given by all of the employees, to make our stay so enjoyable. In the three times that we have been at ERC, we have never been treated rude by any employee. Any reasonable request was honored. Of course I like to think that we were not rude to any of the employees, and never made a request that wasn't reasonable.

We enjoy the shows and like the theater layout. We normally showed up at the theater 30 minutes before showtime, and always got a good seat. My wife's favorite show is the Michael Jackson show. My personal favorite was listening to Claudia sing. Wow, what a voice.

We like the location. Not in the middle of the hotel zone. Only a 30 minute ride from the airport
The atmosphere is certainly laidback and romantic, which is what we are looking for. Adult Only, Yeah!

There are quite a few forums and reviews, comparing ERC to other comparable resorts in the Riviera Maya area. I haven't stayed at the other resorts, so I can't compare thet, food, service, etc.
What I can compare is the price, and what is offered as an anniversary package. ERC has come out on top in this area, and is one of the main reasons we keep going back.

I have read most of the reviews on this resort, and agree with some of the negatives listed, like the beach, restaurant dress codes, etc. . In most cases, the negative wasn't important to us or was exaggerated. We also did a lot of research on the resort, so we had a good idea of what to expect before we arrived.

One suggestion I would have for management. The activities are listed on the daily newsletter, but it would be nice if some of the activity members would come around to the pool and beach areas, introduce themselves and talk about some of the activities. They may do this in the main beach area, but I have never been greeted by an activity member in the club area.

One suggestion for guests. Look for Antonio at the Kafe Cafe bar, and ask for a shot of "Midnight".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
First of all, allow us to thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you back at Excellence Resorts.

We are glad to know that every time you have stayed with us, you have been able to enjoy of many unique and memorable experiences due to the courteous attention of our staff, the quality food and drinks encountered and our resort facilities. It was a delight to see you also enjoyed our evening entertainment.

It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have gone beyond our clients expectations.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellence was top notch from start to finish.The staff was friendly and helpful,the room was beautiful with great amenities.The food was very good with a lot of choices and the wait staff was great.The activities and entertainment were very good -something every night and plenty to do during the day.The grounds were immaculate.The spa was to die for-beautiful.Tha lazy river and rafts were a great way to relax at the end of the day.The vacation was by far one of the best-it was excellent.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the lazy river and spa-building 6,but I think there isn't a bad room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the ERC from the 31st August to September 14th 2013. As this was our first trip to Mexico and we wanted something really special we picked the ERC after looking at reviews from Trip Advisor as we think you get a fair measure of what you are getting for your money from the reviews, as the ERC was rated 1st and it ticked all the boxes for what we were looking for the ERC we picked.

On arrival from the airport (which I must say we found easy going apart from the so called road to the hotel which most of it was underwater with large potholes) about 20 of our flight got off to be greeted by smartly dressed bellboys who labelled all the luggage and gave us all a refreshing towel, then escorted us to reception where we were given a glass of refreshing wine while we all registered at the front desk, this was done most efficiently with passports being handed back right away turning around to find the bellboy with our luggage waiting to take us to our room in block 2. All our requests sent by the travel agent were fulfilled which normally does not always happen!

We had a third floor very spacious room with a mini bar which looked more like a mini pub (at no extra cost) first impressions fantastic, next have a look around and get a bite to eat, finding your way around was easy and with a choice of 8 restaurants to dine in you can eat in every corner of the world without leaving the hotel and the food was of the highest quality. All the staff were polite, courteous and happy, always there to please and could not do enough for you.

Gustarvo,Tomas, Walton,Marcel and Fernando are outstanding waiters and are there to serve and entertain you at breakfast and later in various lunchtime restaurants, they certainly know how to please their customers!! as well as the cocktail bar staff who also aimed to please.

The pools and the lazy river were spotless with ground staff out early doors to make sure everything was clean, sunbeds at the poolside by the beach were always the first to go in a morning but there were plenty by the lazy river away from the bars,the beach was always available for those who prefer the sound of the waves lapping on the shoreline.

Hotels resident entertainment team worked hard to keep all entertained, no chance of sleeping by the main pool as there was always activities going from early doors with something for everyone, the evening entertainment was of a high standard with various acts to entertain the crowds, our highlights of the holiday were the Michael Jackson show, the Urban group (Boy could they dance) and the Mexican night (our best night ever, the food and entertainment was sensational Bravo.)

The Manager came up and introduced himself at the Managers Cocktail party and enquired if everything was to our satisfaction (not very often that happens!) to which we said wonderful, he really is a manager who liked to be out and about around the complex, no wonder the place was spotless!

The wifi is freely available 24/7 and for those who cannot leave work or emails alone there is a business centre where there was several computers with a link to printer, scanner, fax machine.

A fantastic venue for a wedding and they seem to be experts at this as we witnessed several weddings while we stayed at the ERC, for the romantics the Evening couples dining on the beach looked fantastic but it comes with a price as does the spa treatments.

The beach does have a bit of seaweed on it and is swept by a tractor twice a day but that's the only thing that we saw washed up on the sand, mosquitoes do exist as the Jungle is within a stones throw of the Hotel complex those eating at the Lobster and Grill restaurants seem to have problems with them on a evening, apart from that just the normal hungry fat birds insects and wildlife popping up here and there.
This has to have been one of the best holidays we have ever been on and we cannot wait to return to the ERC maybe try February? Definitely "5 Star" and even if it is a older hotel it has Elegant style and staff to match it. Thank you ERC. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: Blocks one and two are nearer to the main facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, and for recommending us with all Trip Advisor readers.

We are delighted to read that you found at Excellence Riviera Cancun, the perfect set for your relaxing vacation. Moreover, thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to the quality of food & drinks encountered, the Resort facilities, our entertainment program and the courteous attention of our staff. Allow us to confirm you that Gustavo, Tomas, Walton, Marcel and Fernando will be congratulated for the excellent service provided.

Comments like yours constitute some good motivation for us to keep working to achieve our guests’ satisfaction. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Excellence Group LLC, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.