We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Excellence Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 30% !
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return Guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Wow! The first visit last year was excellent. Being there a 2nd time this year was better than the the first. This resort puts ob an awesome superbowl party. All of the employees are exceptional. Marianna Montes in guest services is perfect for the job, she is exceptionally friendly. At the Sol bar we say thanks to raul, both samuels, erick, samuel galvan. Kevin, Saul and Emly who worked the Excellence Club concirge were fun and friendly. WE adored all 3 of them. Angle who works with Samuel Galvan is a fun person who loves his job. The staff at barcelona for breakfast were wonderful, they include angle, gabreilla, ramon, gustavo, and benjamin. Alos we like joking with jose at the lobster house. Paloma always took care of us when lunch was provided for us on the beach. she was always so friendly. Jessica at kafe kafe was also a fun person. The bellmen are the first point of contact at any resort, these staff members as well put you at ease and you just know you are going to be in good hands the rest of your vacation. My husband and I highly recommend this resort. We loved it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,343
    1,476
    445
    163
    93
See reviews for
333
6,303
40
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,501)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copiague, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary along with our friends birthday,at this lovely immaculate and beautiful resort. I only stayed 8 days. next year, I hope to make it a 2 week sojourn, My husband has been working 80 hour weeks and this was the best medication he could ever have.
The food was delicious in every restaurant we went to.
I would be remiss if I did not mention a few extra special staff.
Angel.....the food and beverage manager made us feel sooooo special. He truly is an asset. . you can tell he loves his job.
Mariana montes.... is simply put "The Best at Guest Services" I have ever encountered . I travel all over the world and have never been treated so wonderfully.
Elmy....excellence club pool area, was such a lovely and helpful young lady.
Kevin Wapo....so entertaining yet very professional and helpful.
Paulina and Gabriella..... Barcelona hostesses, are beautiful, graceful and always smiling and friendly as they greet you.
Fernando and Mauricio.... Waiters in the Barcelona, were wonderful and always right there for you.
Alberto.... Manager, was very helpful and professional.
I am sure I am missing others as well.
Chez Isabelle...our waiters all were wonderful.
What a wonderful trip!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Everywhere is beautiful. All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here from January 21 -29. Our overall review was very good and I would recommend this resort. It was exceptionally clean, friendly and the food was excellent. It is a smaller resort room wise which we really liked as it did not seem full to capacity. The only down side would be that they could use more staff during the buffet, and poolside bars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed between Jan 25th-Feb1st for our honeymoon in a Excellence Club Ocean Front Suite. The resort grounds are immaculate. Gorgeous and very well maintained they have landscapers, beach raking, housekeeping going on around the clock it seems.

We are not super fancy, snobby, arrogant people. Very down to earth, work normal 9-5 jobs and rarely get a chance to vacation so this trip being our honeymoon and 1st vacation in 2 years was important to us. I will start by addressing some of the complaints that we saw that concerned us before we went. The beds yes they are are a little hard. There were no bugs or musty smell in the room at all and the xbox for room service dishes was always cleaned out very timely. Never once had a problem getting a beach bed. Spots by the pool fill quick but we are beach people not really pool people and there was always good spots on the beach. Many people say on here that the beach isnt great. We thought it was awesome. Very white, soft sand. There is seagrass but they bust their butt cleaning it all day. It is the only resort that cleans up the grass down on this strip and they go a good job of it. We swam in the ocean daily and it was very refreshing and no rocks or grass to step in just the weeds that washed up which they really raked of picked up with the tractor multiple times a day. The Excellence Club pool is heated and very nice to get in. The main pool with the swim up bar did not seem heated and seemed that they ocean was warmer than this pool. I never got in other that dip my feet.. my wife did get in she said it was chilly.

Why did we only give it 4 stars? A lot of the guests we encountered were very snobby, arrogant people. We mainly did our own thing but we did meat a couple very nice couples that we are still in touch with but there were some encounters we saw of guests demeaning staff and insulting them and just wanted to let everyone know how rich they were. This isnt a reflection of the resort but just a description of a good portion of the people who stay at this resort. We loved the bartenders especially Moises at the excellence club beach bar, and German the evening bartender at Cafe Kafe. Unfortunately German was fired our second to last night from what we had heard from other staff members due to an altercation with a guest. This was pretty upsetting to us as these jobs are what these guys rely on to survive and we were there that night. A intoxicated guest put his hands on German due to not getting his drink quickly enough and German pushed him away. That was enough to get him fired..very unfair treatment of the employees if you ask us and we did complain to management about it because German was a great kid and was very outgoing polite and kind to us and all the other people we saw interact with him the entire week except for the drunk who tried to get physical with him. So all in all our main issue was with the other guests just mainly a lot of rude people.

Food and Drinks: It was great. We never had a bad meal but we dont normally go out to 5 star restaurants so to us it far exceeded our expectations. I am from the north east so lobster is the best here and I thought the lobster at the lobster house was pretty good as well. Had a great ribeye steak at the grill. The italian was probably the worst just due to the super small portions and the long service we were there for nearly 2 hours and didnt get desert that was just the main course and a appetizer. The Indian restaurant was awesome probably our favorite. The mexican was great. Breakfast buffet was possibly the best with the omlet station and mimosa and bloody mary making station we still miss it every morning it was a great way to start the day. Pizza at the bar by the pool bar around 12-3 daily was awesome we had that a few times. Asian restaurant was also very good and so was the the french. We also had room service a few times. I would describe the room service as good drunk food. We would get the nachos quite a bit a sandwiches a few times. All in all the food was really good.

I emailed in advance to request a upper floor room which the did do for use we had room 8351 3rd floor of building 8 with an amazing view of the ocean. They did honor my request. We did not ask for anything from the concierge while we were there we just sorta relaxed on the beach and did our own thing so I cant really comment as it was our honeymoon we just did our own thing and didnt do any activities other than going to the nightly shows which were a little cheesy but the bands before and after the shows were awesome very good musicians.

All in all it was a great trip and a great resort with great food and drink. Some of the guests were rude but we were able to just go do our thing and stay out of their way and also met some very nice down to earth people like ourselves but the majority that stay here are fairly rich snobs just a fyi. We were overall very happy with our choice and we had the best vacation we have ever had, Thanks Excellence and all the people that work there that made our trip so special.
.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

After having spent 4 weeks here for the 7 th year I can honestly say that it would be hard to find any better in Cancun. Thanks to Señor Jiminez, Santiago Labra, Benjamin, Adella, Gaby,Jean Luc, Cornelio, Raul at the pool and Mariana in guest services for a most wonderful birthday. Many hotels have great food, great beaches and all the fancy amenities as does the excellence, however it is the people at this resort that make all the difference. These wonderful and har working employees go to great lengths to ensure you are happy and want for nothing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, the hotel is U shaped so all the rooms face the beautiful spa and lazy riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 13 days and we are so happy to have chosen this specific place....everything was perfect..we were in the club excellence. And it's was worth the extra....the restaurants were great. The BBQs on the beach were really wonderful...the staff do so much to make our trip memorable...unbelievable ...and the shows at night ..wow...our room was always clean and the room service was five star....thank you to Mireilla in the Martini Bar...she remembered our names and what we drank and always had a welcoming smile....thank you also to Veronica who took real good care so us on the beach..
We hope to come back real soon....et merci Jean François de prendre le temps de venir nous parler à chaque fois que nous nous rencontrions ...je vais vous recommander à tous.....I will highly recommend this wonderful paradise...

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanesboro, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from an amazing 5 day stay at the excellence Riviera resort cancun. they know how to do vacations the right way. beautiful facilities, Amazing RESTUARANT experiences, spa, and water..poolside and ocean with buttery smooth white sand. We have traveled extensively and I would definitely return to the Excelence resorts.

Room Tip: Difficult to have a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
1.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
11.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
9.0 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 stars 8,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 4,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 stars 8,009 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Excellence Group LLC, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.