We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced but very nice....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun

Save Saved
You added Excellence Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 30% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Puerto Morelos
Fort McMurray, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Over priced but very nice....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a pool top room for our stay what a view and a room, besides our pool not being headed for 2 days.. They took care of that and gave us a couples massage to make up for it.. Pretty good food nothing special, except the curry amazing I u like curry dishes don't miss out on this it's kinda tucked in a corner but well worth is never to busy either. We where is the excellence club rooms the only difference is that u can pick your booze they mean u can change one bottle a days also u can sit in a little room with a bunch of snobs lol not my thing. But it was a honey moon and I gotta say they did a great job.. Besides the pool but sometime stuff is out of control of ppl.. Gonna try excellence playa next great hotels.. They also just bought one in cozemel!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,852 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5,134
    1,144
    353
    142
    79
See reviews for
250
4988
28
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,802)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Long overdue report from our honeymoon at Excellence in July of 2012.

My husband and I stayed here for 10 days in July, 2012 and it was amazing. We did our research on tripadvisor and read so many reviews and settled on the Excellence Resort, we upgraded to Excellence Club and also had the Honeymoon Package.
Our trip was through WestJet Vacations (WestJet I have no idea why you have no inflight entertainment, it made for a long and tedious flight). Arrival in Cancun was problem free and being back at Sea-Level again (we live in Calgary, where the air is way too dry) and breathing in warm moist air was the best medication I could ever receive!
Our WestJet rep on the bus to the resort was helpful and explained everything thoroughly. There were a few stops to drop off other travelers before our resort but the drive was pleasant, air conditioned, and enjoyable. I have read other reviews that you are offered beer on the way to the resort but not with our group sadly!
On arrival at Excellence Riviera we were greeted with towels and champagne and I wish I could remember the name of our porter, we saw him every day pushing carts full of luggage and he was always in a good mood, happy and quick to say hello.
We had the private check in at the Excellence Club and no issues checking in or with our bags at all. If you can spend the extra shekels to upgrade to club, it’s well worth it. Great for a special occasion like a honeymoon. The Club room had a great bar and a tapas bar, free internet and computer use, book shelves and magazines, leather seating and was very intimate.
On arrival we had flowers, champagne and a fruit basket, the mini bar was full stocked constantly and the bar in our room had new wine every day and the bottles of alcohol were top shelf and replenished when empty or when we requested. We often switched out items we were not fond of for what we did like. I.e., Gin over dark rum etc. Our room was on the second floor facing the ocean, there was a Jacuzzi tub on the deck along with a love seat, chair and table. We spent some evenings sitting there listening to the ocean and watching the cruise ships go by on the horizon. Our maid for the entirety of the trip was Diana, she was so amazing and sweet and very patient with my little Spanish and we managed to communicate quite well. We had turndown service and loved the little presents left every night.
The food was fantastic, not one complaint. I was able to eat very healthfully. MEN, don’t forget to bring long pants for the restaurants at night! The Lobster House was our favourite spot by far, the atmosphere there; overlooking the ocean was so relaxing. Francisco was our waiter and while we got his email address prior to departure, it was difficult to read and we haven’t been able to make contact with him since our return.
The only issue we had was getting a chair at poolside, but it didn’t really matter much because it would have been a waste as we were usually on a floatie in the water at all times anyway and aren’t sunbathers so much as we are water rats!
The night shows were very good, Madonna, Michael Jackson, Mayan show, etc. We took a day trip into Cancun which was well worth it as they take you to the best place to buy your souvenirs for the price that you SHOULD pay not the price in the markets. Don’t buy anything until you go there or you will kick yourself for paying double in other places for the same items!

We took a day trip to Playa Del Carmen with the intention of going to Cozumel for the day but we enjoyed wandering around so much that we didn’t even bother… next time!
The day trip to Tulum and Xel-Ha was amazing. We met a Mayan Priest who took over our tour guides duties and showed us many amazing things about the ruins.
Xel-Ha was a fantastic afternoon of all inclusive food, drinks, fun and snorkeling (bring $25 per person for deposit on the equipment which you will get back when you return the equipment) It also helps to have a great new husband who will take off his lifejacket in the snorkeling area and dive down to retrieve a lost mask so you don’t lose your deposit!
All in all an absolutely marvelous vacation that I would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok the pools are cold. The food is standard, lunch not great but dinners completely different much better. A return in a taxi to cancun £45 so bit pricey if you want to do every day and no bus service to take you to cancun. Staff are very good friendly, my room did not get cleaned till after 1pm every day would have like that to be earlier. Nice for a stay but would not return and 1 week is enough as u will become sick of eating the same old food.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

have been in punta cana and stayed at the majestic elegance in 2011 and in 2012 stayed at excellence in riviera cancun and what a world of differance in the two resorts excellene made me and my daughter feel like vip check in was a breeze and our room was ready earlier then check in time the service was awesome the food was great lots of fun activities to do pools were beautiful beach was the best i been to so far room service was wonderful mind we stayed in the club part of resort but it was worth it the private club house made us feel special and accomadated our every whim and the rooms were clean and nice 'maid service twice a day and bed turn down service with a a nice little gift everynight and not to mention the fresh bottle of water with a glass on our night stand everynight was a special touch can't wait for the resort they are building in jamaica to open i am so there

Room Tip: stay in club section so worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel last year and enjoyed it with the exception of the wedding planner not making his appointment. Apparently he was replaced but they should have told us. That was just the start.
Now we are trying to finalize plans for our wedding and after many e-mails cannot even get a response on the dinner options or any number of other questions we have in preparation for our wedding in less than 3 weeks.
You would think they would be grateful we are bringing 15 people to stay at their resort and buying their biggest wedding package. I can't seem to find anyone to escalate to at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have just got back from a 2 week stay here for our honeymoon which we chose due to a recommendation from friends. From start to finish it was amazing, the staff cant do enough for you whether you tip them or not. The food was great, Chez Isabelle was our favourite restaurant along with Spice and Basmati but they were all delicious.Lunches were also great you can either have buffet lunch or al a carte in the Lobster House which looks over the pool and the beach. Our room was gorgeous, great size and the mini bar was full of premium alcohol which they refilled daily. The cocktails were great and not watered down at all, resort was clean, felt peaceful even though they were near capacity. You can have fun here or you can have quiet lazy days as there is space for everything. The spa looked beautiful but was pretty expensive so we didnt go there. Overall we couldnt find fault and loved every second we spent there, I woudl definately recommend it to family and friends and know they will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Block 2 was quiet and not too far to walk - no need to upgrade either, standard suites are impressiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you like being treated like a queen (or king) stay at the Excellence Riviera Resort. Everything was awesome. Beautiful rooms, amazing people, excellent food. The breakfast buffett has about 500+ items. (no kiding) Eat breakfast with live music from a harp. The Steak House was our favorate. The "Grill" was hands down the best food and service we experienced. Try the "Brazilian Rodizio", you won't be disapointed! The Live entertainment every night was exciting. The white sandy beach and the blue, blue waters were unforgetable. We can hardly wait to go back. We will definately stay at the "Excellence Riviera Resort again!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor.Our room was beautiful. Marble floors etc...We had a view of the swimming p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
10.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 stars 3,133 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
11.5 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spa, Kitchenett...
Show More
9.0 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 stars 6,668 reviews
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
17.6 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
Restaurant, Bea...
Show More
21.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 8,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Excellence Group LLC, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.