We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Excellence Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 35% Off Room Rate
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
MT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort. Good food. Good drink. Good people. Building 2 quiet peaceful. Spa is wonderful. Yoga was fun. Favorite restaurant was Basmati. Went to Playa Del Carmen twice. Taxi for the day was best. Cesar cab 44 is so sweet. Had a fish pedicure. Too funny. Little carp nibble on your feet for 15 minutes. Had to try it. Beach at resort and water beautiful. Nice to swim in. You really want for nothing. Can't wait for excellence in Jamaica to open.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,961
    1,367
    416
    160
    91
See reviews for
304
5,877
36
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I arrived xmas morning and left on the 2nd. We heard about this place from a friend and then read all of these reviews.
We travel alot, mainly to St Thomas. I would give this resort a 9 out of 10. Really hard to find anything wrong only problem I had was that I like whiskey and it was not included in the mini bar in the room. Sure room service would bring me glasses of it when I called but, that is my only pain.
The beach is the only one around with the seaweed being removed. When you walk up and down the beach you will notice the stench the others have to put up with.
The staff is very professional. We had the Ocean Room View on the third floor. But when we checked into the orginal room on the second floor, all you could see was a huge palm tree so they moved us in acouple of hours. DO NOT BOOK ANY EXCURSION'S ON THE INTERNET.

Room Tip: I think they any room will do, you really are only in them at night and then you will be in bed. th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and myself went to this hotel last April to celebrate a significant wedding anniversary. First impressions of the hotel were breathtaking, it is absolutely beautiful. To make it even better when we checked in they had upgraded us to a suite next to the lazy river with our own patio and outside jacuzzi. The room was stunning. This hotel really is one of the best. The staff are wonderful and the quality of the food and the drinks served are first class. Even better you don't have to make reservations for any of the a la carte restaurants either, just take your pick and wait for a table. This can be quite a while if the restaurant you have chosen is busy but it's no biggie, either choose another one or go and have a drink while you wait, not a bad dilema to be faced with! We loved all of the restaurants and it's hard to choose a favourite. The lobster grill has to be up there, as much for the setting as the lovely food but also the Indian restaurant. One of the best Indian meals we have ever had, and we've had quite a few! Not one bad meal all holiday. Our dream holiday lasted for 4 days and then my husband had an unfortunate accident and the rest of our 2 weeks there was ruined. Please take care when walking over the wooden bridges if it has been raining, they are absolutely treatcherous. There are "slippy when wet" signs but, despite being extremely careful, my husband had a nasty fall and ended up being admitted to Cancun hospital for 3 days having a large haematoma drained under anaesthetic and then spent the rest of the time on holiday in a great deal of pain. He wasn't running or even rushing but the wood has been treated with something shiny to, presumeably, stop it rotting and that with water on top is a lethal combination. He was holding on but the steps have no anti-slip coating/strips on and he fell against the edge of the step. That said, it could have been so much worse. My husband is fit and healthy and didn't, thankfully, break anything. Someone older or more frail could have had really serious injuries, it just doesn't bear thinking about. However, throughout I can honestly say that the staff at the hotel were truly amazing and I am incredibly grateful because we felt very vulnerable and they made such a difference in an awful situation. I don't know what we would have done without them so thank you (Rosalia, you were wonderful, my special thanks to you). If you do consider going to this hotel my advice would be to go without any hesitation. It is superb and I'm sure you will not be disappointed. The rooms, setting and food are all superb and the staff the best. Unfortunately this didn't turn out to be our dream holiday in the end but we would go back in a heartbeat, and hope to do so one day, but we would NOT go on the bridges, ever, when it was wet!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morris, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We love this place so much we keep returning and will keep returning. Can't say enough about how great it all is...from the reception, to the food, to the grounds, to the accommodations, and last but certainly not least...the wonderful people who make it all possible. Alfonso (tennis pro, Texas hold 'em dealer, entertainer extravaganza) loved the card games and made my birthday very special, Silvario (fabulous bar manager who always wants everything perfect for his guests), Noe (funny, great bartender), Luis (impeccable, energetic, friendly waiter at Lobster House), the chef at the pizza grill (very accommodating and friendly), too many others to mention. Never met an unfriendly face - from start to finish. Food at every restaurant was very good with service to match. The spa is very high quality and worth every penny with the marine wellness experience something you must do. At this resort their goal is to make your trip the best possible -- excellente!!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, quiet, away from all the activity get a spa view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just returned from the Excellence Hotel. There grounds were well kept and clean. They were always maintaining the grounds and making sure that they were kept clean and spotless.
When we first arrived we were greated with Champagane and towels which was quite refreshing.
We arrived at the hotel very late and we were happy that there was 24 hour room service as we were so hungry and ordered the fajitas. They were so yummy.

We play tennis at home quite reguarly and we wanted to make sure that the club had a tennis pro. The tennis pro Alphonoso is a very good tennis professional. We took the daily group lesson in the morning which was good and had 2 private lessons with him. He corrected our bad habits and was very patient with us.If you are looking to play tennis or want to learn tennis than this is the place to be.

The food was very good and the mexican fiesta they have is amazing. Ricardo at the Mexician Restaurant was a very good waiter. Our favorite was Chez Isabelle the french restaurant. The beach bbq's and paella was also very good.

The only few faults that had with this resort was the early morning room service which failed to show up and almost made us late for our excursion.

The spa was also very good and was quite accomodating as we had to change our appointment at the last minute and they were able to give us the times we wanted. The staff made sure we were comfortable and explained everything to us.

Overall the Excellence Resort is amazing and the staff is very good. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

There is no lacking on this all inclusive. It is worth the extra money to stay at this resort vs the competition in the area. The food was actually very good and both the food and drink selection was extensive and included top shelf. There are various restaurants to choose from and all are above average and exceptional for "resort" food. We did upgrade to the excellence club and we felt it was well worth it. You have full access to the club members only section of the beach and pool area. The amentities are more prestigious and the overall experience is as well. The pools are warmer and you have more space and options for relaxing in the sun whether its by the bar, in the warmer pools, hot tubs or on the beach with the option to lay in a cabana, bed under the shade or lounge chairs. The rooms are spacious and we always had fresh flowers, full stocked bar & mini bar, deserts delivered every night along with exceptional cleaning service. Having the ocean view is also an added bonus. Lastly I was very impressed with the entertainment, they had a great show every night in the theatre that included MJ and Madonna tributes and a fire show. From my experience "all inclusive" resorts are not always "all inclusive" or do not typically offer higher end food & beverages however this resort did. Overall we were very pleased with our visit and would suggest resort for couples. Just a side note for those reviewing "all inclusive" resorts; just because it is all inclusive does not mean tipping is not necessary. The workers work very hard & deserve to be tipped just like you would at home.

Room Tip: upgrade to the excellence club it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We are currently vacationing at Excellence, it is our second time here and is even better the second time, they are continually making improvements. We especially loved Gustav, the acoustic guitar player who was the best show we have seen on the entire Mayan Riviera for shows and we are so happy to see him back again this year. he has made our trip for the second year in a row. best entertainment!!!

Room Tip: We recommend a swim up room which is more cost effective to pay after booking at the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Excellence Group LLC, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.