We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing in so many ways!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Excellence Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing in so many ways!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We just returned from the Excellence Riviera Cancun and it's is one of the best resorts I've experienced! From the service to the food to the spa, it is true luxury and a great value! You'll read the other fantastic reviews which will all be true but here are some tips for your travel.
First, the restaurants are great! Get pizza by the pool at lunch. Dinner was great at The Lobster House, Toscana, and Oregano. But by far, Basmati was the most fabulous! So authentic and delicious! The breakfast buffet was super yummy!
Second, you can book the spa online ahead of time and receive a 20% discount or wait til you get there to book and usually they offer same day discounts on select services (usually massages). We did the Temazcal (very hot and not for the faint of heart, but an very cool experience) and had Mud wraps. Worth the money and the spa is really beautiful. The hydrotherapy treatment is an extra service included with your treatment. Its about 30 minutes long and uses about 10 different methods of hydraulics to sooth and heal.
Third, on great beach days and if its peak season, you will have to go early to get a lounge chair or bed on the beach. I would imagine they don't always have this problem, but it does require some planning. Other then that, the entire resort is spacious and you never feel like you are on top of other guests.
Fourth, all the employees work so hard to make your stay enjoyable and carefree. Everyone is so attentive and accommodating. Though it is an all-inclusive resort and tips are included, we often found ourselves wishing we had some cash on us to give some tips. Bring small bills (the front desk doesn't keep change) as you'll see what I mean.
Fifth, the entertainment is really good for a resort. Its in a great location and quality stuff. They also will do some sort of demo or game in the afternoon by the pool that is a lot of fun. It's not an "activities" resort which is nice as no one is pushing you to do things you don't want to do. Not sure how the night club is as it usually opened later then scheduled and we are more morning people.
Sixth, the rooms were great! No matter what building you were in, I think all have great views. They were very clean and have nice swag. Room service is pretty good. The excellence club seemed worth the extra money but in no way necessary.
Marianna is in charge of guest services and if you ever need anything, she's the best! Enjoy your trip and have a chilled tequila shot for me!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,544
    1,251
    386
    152
    85
See reviews for
272
5,422
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,065)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellence Riviera Cancun is the first all-inclusive resort we stayed at. I would give it a 3.5 (good)

It was a nice experience (just that we both don't drink alcohol so all the free flow of drinks are wasted on us) It was great to have the beach so close to the resort-- just that it wasn't exactly a private beach since we spotted peddlers and people who were not staying at the resort wandering around and using the facilities there (it was easy to spot them since this was an adult-only resort and I see families with children walking around and using the pool)

One thing that was irritating was the dress code. We weren't informed there was to be a dress code to enter certain restaurants at the resort (the more upscale ones like the French/ Italian ones) Since all meals are free, it would be quite a let-down to be restricted in your dining choices. So if you are considering a vacation here, please bring (for guys) long pants, "dress shirts" and shoes other than beach sandals and (for ladies) "elegant sandals". We were fortunate that we came from cold cold Boston and wore jeans there or we would have to resign ourselves to eating at the grill for every meal.

There are a lot of activities throughout the day (and it changes every day), we just wanted to lounge around so we didn't try any. Nice that they have counters with travel agencies and booking a day- trip out was really easy. Chichen Itza is only 2 hours away and join the non-hotel affiliated tour (counters are near the check-in desks) - it's cheaper that those provided by the hotel (at the concierge)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was a father/daughter trip, and we had a wonderful time. The resort is beautiful and well kept. Multiple pools, and the lazy river, all superb. We had a junior suite in the spa area, second floor, building 4. Very nice accommodations. No hot showers though, I think they turn it down or something so people don't take long showers? The room was very nice, daily housekeeping and nightly turn-down.

The people/staff were top notch. Very friendly and service oriented. The food was plentiful, and varied. We liked the Basmati Indian place the best. The Barcelona breakfast was our favorite in the morning, although the a la carte at the Lobster Bar was a very nice breakfast too.

The mini bar was very well stocked. Good brand name alcohol throughout the resort. The activities were a little less than other all-inclusive resorts that I've been to. The nightly shows were about average for these types of resorts. The night we went to the club it was a little on the under-crowded side.

They don't make you wear wrist bracelets! We liked that a lot. Especially when going on the 5th Avenue excursion to Playa del Carmen (which we definitely recommend, Saturday if you can). We did the dolphin experience too, also highly recommended.

The spa is a must. Like many others, we opted for the hydrotherapy followed by the 80-minute massage. You do not have to be a couple to enjoy this, in fact we saw a mother/daughter pair there when we were there. They offer specials at the spa each day, so check them out and grab the deal when you see it.

There are iguana's all over the place! Some good pictures of that.

We met people from all over the world, which is one of the best things we like. The New Year's Celebration was quite the gala, fantastic. Tables with ten people each, very fun.

The beach is very well manicured, and it's not hard to find loungers. I read of seaweed in the ocean, but I could tell that was manicured as well. No complaints on the beach.

The Olympus staff is very good for giving good advice and booking excursions. Hotel concierge is good too, but stay away from the "guest services" people, they are disguised timeshare marketers. Same thing at the airport when you land - go STRAIGHT to your transport, unless you want to get sucked into a timeshare pitch.

We took 100 $1 dollar bills for tipping. After five days/four nights, we came back with $36!

Ask what it means to go "Channel 38" at the poker table (daily game). It's a good conversation starter.

It's a big positive that there is free wifi everywhere, but the connection was slow.

The stores offer some affordable shopping (not cheap though).

If I were the type of vacationer to make return visits (but I'm not) then I would definitely return here. I don't know how to compare it to other resorts in the area, but some other people told us it is once of the best, which I can believe.

Room Tip: The swim-up rooms are not like the "real" swim-up rooms I've seen in other resorts, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we had a fab time at this hotel and we would defo go back staff incredibly helpful and happy
food amazing in all of there restaurants, do yourself a favour and go plenty of sunbeds so no need to worry if there will be one free.as for the drinks they had everything

Room Tip: i always prefere higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived to Cancun and Blue Bay Travel were 2 hours late picking us up from the airport which I wasn't happy about but that wasn't the hotels fault.
Then we got to our room and it was nice, a basic one but still really nice (as the hotel is v expensive at this time of year). Then I ran a bath as had been travelling about 24 hours, got in and realised there was stuff was coming out of the taps. So I got quite upset and called reception.

They weren't very helpful apart from saying they'd send someone to look. After a while a cleaner came to check it out and called reception to say that we were telling the truth. They offered to change our room or we could have half price upgrade to one level higher. We went for this one but were surprised that they didn't offer us anything by way of apology. The holiday cost us almost £5,000 so i was surprised and a bit disappointed.

The next day our room key wasnt working so we had to walk all the way to reception (about a ten min walk) to get replaced. We got back to our room and it was broken again. My boyfriend was realy mad at this stage so he went storming back to reception and made a bit of a complaint that for a holiday and hotel of thius 'luxury' we didnt feel that we were treated very well.

That night we had a phone call to say they were upgrading us to the 'Excellence Club' part of the hotel in black 8. This was a dream come true. We had an ourdoor jacuzzi, sea view balcony, entry to the excellence lpounge which is only for the guests in this part of the hotel., We got free fruit and chocolates delivered to our rooms each day and this section of the hotel had a heated swimming pool and jacuzzi which were lovely (we spent our Christmas Day there!).

This holiday turned out to be amazing because of this, but I don't think it was worth the money for the other rooms. If we returned I would definitely pay the extra for the excellence club for the extras that you get make your holiday really special.

The best thing about this holiday is the staff, they can not do enough for you. I'd like to try the other hotels in diff resorts but I heard from other guests who had done the same that this was the nicest so maybe not.

The only thing was that the rooms were sometimes noisy with people outside, but I suppose this cant be helped as we were ground floor so had a lot of traffic going past. This made it hard to sleep past 6.30am and sleep much in the daytime if you wanted a nap. The resort is also a 75 dollar cab ride from Canucun, which we thought was a bit misleading, so we never got to go there which was a shame, as it would have worked out very expensive.

All in all a great Christmas here.

Room Tip: Go for the excellence club even if it costs more, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
07921
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The name Excellence says it all. What a fabulous vacation. The restaurants, the bars, the rooms, the staff. Everything about this resort says five star quality. The staff was so professional, so courteous, happy, friendly, accomodating with everything. I have to eat gluten-free. They could not do enough to make sure that was accomplished at every meal. We had a wonderful New Years Eve night with a party and fun. We loved our vacation here. Food was delicious and plentiful, drinks flowing from the many bars. You could not want for anything. Thank you, Excellence. Roberto was the best. We loved him. Look for him. Tell him Luis Velazquez, my boyfriend said hello. This place was a piece of Heaven.

Room Tip: Junior Suite over pool - excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place was great, we have been recommending it all of our friends since we left. We even looked at booking another trip while we were there! I will admit, I was a little nervous when we pulled up and their signage was torn up and missing letters. Not the best first impression, but everything after that blew us away. My husband keeps saying he kept expecting to be let down, but was always impressed instead. Dinners were top notch at Spice and Chez Isabelle, while lunches were good. Amenities were great, and so was the service. Entertainment exceeded expectations. Pricing was reasonable, too! We went a week before peak resort season started and we were definitely happy with that decision. Things really picked up our last day there and we preferred the quieter atmosphere. Be sure to take note of when you are traveling depending on what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Excellence club rooms might be nice and in the middle of the resort, but the other rooms are farther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Excellence Group LLC, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.