We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma to your Saves list
Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 27.5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Azul Beach Hotel was glorious. The rooms are spacious. The meals were delicious and well prepared. The service was impeccable from the moment we arrived. Thank you for making us feel welcome and special to Alberto (who made our arrival welcoming and our departure less painful - we did not want to leave), Meriela (Blue), Jorge (Bubbles), Wilbert (tequila lounge), Fernando (beach services), Sebastien (Wait staff) and Yadi and Carlos (Concierge). We will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, it was an honor to host your holiday. I enjoyed reading your comments and can assure you that will be shared with all staff.

Again many thanks and I hope to see you very soon at the Azul Beach Resort.

Best Regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    364
    96
    58
    29
See reviews for
925
491
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a great time! The staff was friendly and the resort was beautiful. The last couple of days they were working on something to do with sewage, so it was a bit stinky near our room. I wish there was more to do for my 10 year old. Apparently one of their resorts has a water park- that would've been fun. The staff caters to all your needs which is lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, sharing your experiences of your recent stay.

It was a pleasure to host your holiday at the Azul Beach Hotel and I hope that you will return again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We've just returned from our 10th stay at Azul Beach, most of which were 3 generations of family including grandkids ages 5-9. Aside from a hiccup with the rooms we were assigned, the stay was again fabulous - wonderful accommodations, terrific and varied food and choices, ideal beach and pools and mostly the intimate size of Azul Beach and the unsurpassed, caring and thoughtful people who are there year after year. The joy with which we are greeted and served is genuine and universal, from the bellmen to the beach crew, and includes all the servers, front desk folks, management and spa staff. Everyone we encounter is smiling and seems to enjoy their work and the guests. Then entertainment is charming (and not Las Vegas like) and enjoyed by all ages in our group, and the young guys who run the exercise, volleyball and other activities are enthusiastic and skilled. We hate to leave and look forward to returning all year.

Room Tip: While the premium rooms are modern and full of comfortable amenities, we also love the deluxe room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just back from a week at Azul Beach. It was a lovely week with perfect weather. I write this having spent a week at Azul Sensatori last year at the same time of year, so there will definitely be some comparisons and contrasts. Overall , it was an excellent stay here. Ill break it down into sections.
The Room: This was our biggest negative of the trip. We were in connected deluxe rooms. These were obviously the oldest most basic rooms. Our king room had no dresser or any other storage site for our clothes, save for the shelves at the top of our closet. I didn't like the idea that my wife had to pull over a chair every time she wanted an article of clothing. The bathrooms are ill conceived, with obviously redone tiling, and a roughed in bidet. The shower stall is like a phonebooth. That being said, almost everything worked. We did have to return to the front desk our entire first day to be let into our rooms, as the computer system at the resort for reservations was down. So we weren't issued our keys until after 10 pm. And curiously, on three different occasions throughout the week, our room keys stopped working. Housekeeping was efficient, fridge was regularly restocked, all the amenities were attended to. So while everything was functional, this was the only aspect of the trip I felt was not worth the money.
The Food: Easily the best food of the half dozen all inclusives we've been to in Mexico. The flagship resto is Blue, serving b l and d. Only breakfast has buffet component. Lunch here and at Chil, and all the dinner venues are a la carte. We ate everything, salads, raw fish, carpaccio, fruits, drank the table water. Everything was delicious, no illnesses, nothing tasted "off". With all the families there with little children, I assume some sort of buffet option at lunch and even dinner would be appreciated. We did not use room service, which I'm told was another frequently used option by families with little ones. They did do a lunch buffet a couple of times on the beach which was a lovely change of pace.
The Grounds: Very neat and clean, easy to get around. There are multiple smaller pools, not all heated. There were always chairs and towels readily available. Personally, I preferred the bigger main pool at Sensatori. The Beach is well maintained. Yes, there is seagrass, but plenty of areas to wade in and swim in. Lots of lovely day beds on the beach. These are reserved the day before by queuing up at the beach kiosk to sign up for one at 3pm, for the next days use. They have snorkel gear for use, req $20 deposit, which you get back upon returning the equipment.
The Bars: Again, better quality than almost all other AI's we've been to, and the drinks were better prepared. They had live music a few nights at the main bar in the center of the property, Aquinox, which was great. Families with little ones with early bedtimes take note. They played until about 11pm. We loved it.
The staff: This is where the place really shines. Folks are friendly, helpful, and well trained in hospitality. They truly couldn't do enough for you, waitstaff, bartenders, front desk, bell hops, housekeeping etc. All aimed to please.
A few last tips: Overall a wonderful place. If I could, I would have taken off only half a circle in the ratings. This place caters to families with children, and there are a lot of them. If you're looking for a child free getaway, I'd think twice. Take a look at a property map to help you figure out where you'd like to be. The swim up rooms in the NW corner of the property were the most popular. Don't forget sunblock and bug spray, the sun and the little buggers will get you! They have two computers for use off the lobby for internet, and packages for purchase for wifi. We used the wifi and there were no glitches, it worked great. Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

What can I say this hotel is amazing !!
Wonderful staff, beautiful grounds, food amazing. Drinks are all premium branded and they will make any cocktail you want. The beach butler service is great if you don't fancy moving all day. Hotel is quiet small compared to soon in that area but I think that makes it all the better as you don't have to rush for a sun lounger Only down side is not enough entertainment at night
Will defiantly go back!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We just got back from a 7 day stay at the Azul Beach Hotel. We traveled with our 9 month old daughter. I cannot say enough about this hotel. I was apprehensive about travelling with a baby, but they have basically everything you need. We upgraded to a family suite and it was beautiful. My only regret was not getting a swim up room, it would have been well worth the extra money. The food was unbelievable. On the last day, the staff had prepared a special dessert that had written on it, to have a wonderful trip home. We never had a problem getting a cabana on the beach, although we did have to wait in line for about 30 minutes the day before. Even if we hadn't had the cabanas there were plenty of chairs and shade available. There was always a clean towel around. Because it is a smaller hotel, you didn't feel like you were packed in or rushed. The staff always seemed to genuinely want to ensure you had the best possible time. Had a massage at the beach - amazing. All the positive reviews weren't exaggerating. A real gem!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a swim up room, the ones without oceanview are better. Look for building 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Had the most amazing time, felt really looked after and the army of staff were first rate and always at hand. Never said Hola so much in my life ;)!
Special thanks to Rosario our concierge for the week, totally invaluble and special thanks to Henry our porter / bell boy / driver & friend.
We'll be back…….

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 27.5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul Beach Hotel is a family-friendly, boutique-style property located on a gorgeous beach 20 minutes from Cancun International Airport. All of the newly renovated 148 rooms are just steps from the beach, pools, restaurants and bars.Featuring the Gourmet Inclusive® concept, epicurean offerings include candlelight dining on the beach, a fresh fish fry and butler service to the canopied beach beds. There’s an all-lobster menu, 24-hour room service and over 30 tequilas in the tequila lounge.Azul Beach especially caters to families with young children with loaner baby equipment, kid's club and parent support. The exclusive Family & Friends Vacation Planner coordinates family reunions. Romantic couples love Beachfront Sky Massages and Suite Scenes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Beach Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Resort All Inclusive Beach
Azul Beach Resort
Azul Hotel Beach Resort
Azul Beach Hotel, By Karisma Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.