We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievably wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma to your Saves list
Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 27.5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“unbelievably wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We just got back from a 7 day stay at the Azul Beach Hotel. We traveled with our 9 month old daughter. I cannot say enough about this hotel. I was apprehensive about travelling with a baby, but they have basically everything you need. We upgraded to a family suite and it was beautiful. My only regret was not getting a swim up room, it would have been well worth the extra money. The food was unbelievable. On the last day, the staff had prepared a special dessert that had written on it, to have a wonderful trip home. We never had a problem getting a cabana on the beach, although we did have to wait in line for about 30 minutes the day before. Even if we hadn't had the cabanas there were plenty of chairs and shade available. There was always a clean towel around. Because it is a smaller hotel, you didn't feel like you were packed in or rushed. The staff always seemed to genuinely want to ensure you had the best possible time. Had a massage at the beach - amazing. All the positive reviews weren't exaggerating. A real gem!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a swim up room, the ones without oceanview are better. Look for building 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,296
    344
    92
    56
    26
See reviews for
877
475
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Had the most amazing time, felt really looked after and the army of staff were first rate and always at hand. Never said Hola so much in my life ;)!
Special thanks to Rosario our concierge for the week, totally invaluble and special thanks to Henry our porter / bell boy / driver & friend.
We'll be back…….

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

All the positive reviews are totally true, couldnt agree more!!!! I didnt want to come home from this beautifull hotel......the only issue i had was making the mistake of not booking my excursions through my own tour operator ( Thomson) i booked with another operator who gave me a brilliant sales brief and the excursions couldnt of been any worse, something went wrong on each and every one of them. When it came to speaking to our rep, she couldnt do anything because we wasnt insured. We would only be insured through thomson. Which was complelty our fault.


Both playa del carman and cancun are amazing , both very different but worth a visit if your a shopper! I Recomend take pesos, it works out better than dollars.

Dont hesitate to book this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your honest and detailed review of your recent stay, I truly appreciate the time taken to share your experiences.

Thank you for recommending us with all Trip Advisor followers and we hope to see you at the Azul Beach Hotel again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We are currently staying at the Azul Beach Hotel and having one of our best vacations ever. We are staying in a Family Suite in Building 11 which is spacious and in a very quiet location. The service is the best we have every experienced. Our concierge, Carlos; Waiters/Hosts Mariela and Miguel; and housekeeper Lety are just a few of the many outstanding staff that have gone out of their way to make our trip special and personal. We had a romantic anniversay dinner on the beach last night which culminated in a beautiful dessert presented by the resort's head chef, then off to a fire show on the beach and then arrived back at our room to a beautiful heart sculpted out of towels which was placed on our bed amongst a scattering a red rose petals - so romantic - and doesn't get much better than this....... This is a family resort and we are here only as a couple this time - but definitely plan on returning and bringing some of the family with us. Thanks to all at the Azul Beach Hotel - you are awesome!

Room Tip: Building 7 is closer to activities - but a bit noisier. Building 11 is located towards the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! It is an honor to host your holiday. I'm very happy to hear that you are enjoying your vacation at the Azul Beach Hotel. I'm very proud of each and every employee at the Azul Beach Hotel and will share your comments with all of them.

On behalf of the entire staff, we would like to thank you for choosing the Azul Beach Resort.

Best regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a wonderful family vacation. The accommodations were excellent, the grounds impeccable, the staff friendly and attentive, the food diverse and tasty. Our only concerns were the delay in checking in because of late stayers, and the children having to wait for their foods. Having healthy munchies on tables when families are seated would alleviate that problem rather than crayons or toys. One other improvement would be to have a better system of signing up for the beach cabanas.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your brief review. We truly appreciate your comments and feedback.

Many thanks for sharing your experiences with future travelers. We look forward to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I am lucky enough to frequently stay at some of the best resorts throughout the Caribbean & Mexico as a travel concierge with Beach Bum Vacation. When it comes to amazing resorts for my family vacations with young kids, Azul Beach is hands down the BEST!

We first vacationed at Azul Beach when my son was 7 months old and cannot wait to take him back again with his little sister. I know it can be very nerve-wracking to travel with little ones but when you go to Azul Beach it is SO much easier & so relaxing!! They provide everything you need for the littlest guests -- strollers, Gerber baby food, bottle sterilizers, bottle warmers, baby monitors, cribs, pack n plays, baby bathtubs, etc. Plus there is a really fun Azulito's Kids Club with so many activities for the kids to enjoy and a Fisher Price toy lending program which allows you to borrow toys from the concierge lounges for the kids to play with in your room. If you are taking little kids, the resort does not supply tear free baby shampoo/body wash, sippy cups or bottles so you will want to bring your own if your child needs them.

Beyond the amenities that the resort offers for the little ones, the small size of the resort is perfect if you do not want to feel overwhelmed at a larger property. You can walk anywhere on property in under 5 minutes, very easy. All the rooms are quite close to the beach, so even if you do not have an oceanfront room, no worries because you will not be far from the ocean at all. The beach cabana beds are awesome for providing shade for the whole family and the perfect napping spot! Wait service at the beach was nice too since you could easily order drinks without having to move.

The staff was SO sweet & accommodating to us and our son and the waiters would great our little guy by name after we had been there a day or two. :) "Senor Jack" loved the attention and it was easy for us that they had high chairs, booster seats and toys in the restaurants.

Speaking of the restaurants, the food everywhere we ate was AMAZING!! The fresh ceviche at Chil was so good and we loved the little "energy bar" to stop by and grab a quick smoothie or snack. Pico de gallo and guacamole are SO fresh and yummy too. Dinner at Roma (Italian) & Tainan (Asian) was great and we were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed Latino. We weren't really sure what to expect there but it turned out to be one of our favorites!

We stayed in a Swim Up Family Suite which was great for us (2 adults + baby). These rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults + 3 kids under 12. Personally, I think it would feel a little cramped if you had more than 2 kids and 2 adults. For larger families, I think they would feel more comfortable to have 2 separate Deluxe rooms (request adjoining).

If you are booking a Swim Up Family Suite, you might want to consider if you would like to request to have your suite close to the swim up bar or further away from it. Pros/cons to either option. For us, we were right by it and considering we had a "unique" sleeping schedule with a little one who, we probably would have been better being further away from it for less noise. Never caused a major issue but definitely something to keep in mind depending on if you want the convenience of being right by the bar or if you think it would be better for you to be somewhere that is going to be quiet.

I've helped many couples to plan their weddings at Azul Beach and each & every time, the guests and the couple come home raving about how awesome their experience was. I think the on-site wedding staff and overall management at Azul Beach are the BEST in Riviera Maya. They really take care of couples and make each wedding very special.

If you are looking for a resort with a LOT of activities & your kids are school age, you probably would be better off at Azul Sensatori vs. Azul Beach. Azul Beach is much better for the littler ones (babies, toddlers, preschool).

Room Tip: Swim up suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review, I thoroughly enjoyed reading your experiences and found your comment very insightful. I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed all the features that we offer, from our Azulitos Kids Club to our selection of Gourmet, fine dining restaurants. I do agree the Azulitos is great for the kids and they are sure to have a great time in the safe hands of our qualified Nannies and kids club staff.

Thank you again for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was our second trip to the Azul Beach Resort and we were impressed once again with the welcome as soon as we arrived, the top class service throughout the property, which included the staff, beach butlers, restaurant staff, the chef at Blue, who came out to meet our family, the constant greeting "ola", the ambiance, the food. the candlelight dinner on the beach, the spa....I could go on and on.

Normally my husband and I would not go to an all inclusive beach resort because we like to be busy. However, my daughter and her family with two grandkids, have made this an annual tradition and we could not be happier for the choice of making Azul Beach our home away from home.

Last year we stayed in a suite, which was lavish and comfortable. This year we opted for the deluxe room and we were happy with it as well. The ground floor was what we had requested and the location was convenient for us to access and we were able to get to and from our family's suite easily.

The grounds and pools are kept clean and tidy. There were at least two weddings during the week that we spent at Azul Beach but there were no disruptions to take away from the rest of the guests enjoying their vacation and family time.

The restaurants and quality of food are exceptional. We tried all 4 restaurants and the service, choices, variety, quality and quantity were excellent at each and everyone of them. Each meal time was an experience and I must say the wait staff at Blue are very courteous and kind. They make everyone feel "special". The staff at Roma were excellent as well, especially the jovial Salvadore!!! The atmosphere at the pool bar is superb - any time of the day or night.

The spa at Azul Beach resort is what I looked forward to again this year. Last year my daughter had treated me to a massage and I was lucky to have found Wilbar. So this year when we booked the massage, I specifically asked for him and it was well worth flying down to Cancun just to get the treatment! Need I say any more?

We had one day of rain and cool, so we took the grandchildren to the kid's club. Even though it was a busy place, it was an enjoyable experience for the kids and everyone seemed to enjoy the toys and "stuff" and there was plenty of everything to go around, since the room was full of kids and parents.

The waters were warm and inviting. Unfortunately, we found that there were a lot of seaweed and trash coming on the beach, which was upsetting. However, that is not the fault of the hotel. There were a couple of days when the waters were really clear, but most times we had to fight the seaweeds and go further into the water, to enjoy wading/swimming.

In conclusion, I would like to add that we hope to make this an annual family tradition and we hope that the Resort continues to provide the same quality of service and ambiance that we have had the pleasure of enjoying these past two years.

Thank you to the Management and staff at Azul Beach Resort, especially Victor, whom we got to know well during our short stay there. He made sure that our Candlelight dinner was exceptional and it was. Our waiter, Hector was superb as well. He made our dinner experience very special. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
On behalf of us all at the Azul Beach Hotel, Thank you for your glowing review. Your comments are motivating as there is nothing more satisfing that to receive the praise of our valued guests. Great food , perfect location and superor service are just a little of what we offer at the Hotel.

Again, thank you for choosing the Azul Beach Hotel for this vacation and we hope to share many more in the future.

Best Regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 27.5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul Beach Hotel is a family-friendly, boutique-style property located on a gorgeous beach 20 minutes from Cancun International Airport. All of the newly renovated 148 rooms are just steps from the beach, pools, restaurants and bars.Featuring the Gourmet Inclusive® concept, epicurean offerings include candlelight dining on the beach, a fresh fish fry and butler service to the canopied beach beds. There’s an all-lobster menu, 24-hour room service and over 30 tequilas in the tequila lounge.Azul Beach especially caters to families with young children with loaner baby equipment, kid's club and parent support. The exclusive Family & Friends Vacation Planner coordinates family reunions. Romantic couples love Beachfront Sky Massages and Suite Scenes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Beach Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Resort All Inclusive Beach
Azul Beach Resort
Azul Hotel Beach Resort
Azul Beach Hotel, By Karisma Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.