We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families with toddlers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma to your Saves list
Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 27.5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 30%
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for families with toddlers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Azul Beach Hotel and we loved it! The service and food were amazing. The buffet at lunch and breakfast is vast with many healthy choices and many toddler choices. The dinners were outstanding -- we never had a decent meal - they were all great.
The playroom is great too. The staff there was very patient. loving and hands-on. We did the babysitting and my son didn't want to leave!
We highly recommend this resort for families. They have many, many items you can borrow such as toys, baby monitors, sterilizers, etc.

Room Tip: Any room is good but do consider a suite if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
On Behalf of all the starr at the Azul Beach Hotel I would like to thank you your review and sharing your recent experiences of your time with us.

As you said we are a great upscale, family hotel that caters to all ages. Our Gourmet Cuisine is the foundation of our Gourmet Inclusive philosophy. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed each and every one of your unique dining experiences .

In addition to your comments for anyone that is thinking about traveling to the Azul Beach Hotel with young children, not only do we have all the baby amenities, they are also well renonwed brands. Also with children in mind, we have a great fisher Price toy library so no need to pack all the toys. At the Aazul Beach Hotel , we take away the stress and provide the perfect family vacation experience.

I look forward to your next visit.

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,391
    379
    100
    59
    28
See reviews for
957
505
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were very displeased to see that the room that we reserved (and prepaid), a deluxe family swim-up suite, was not available. Instead of fairly trying to compensate us, we were given the lowest level room that was extremely noisy. The next day at 4pm were finally given the room for which we had paid. After much negotiations we were given about 500 US dollars in resort credit (which we likely would not have used). We were offered 2 free nights for a future stay, but we were not interested in coming back to a resort that played so loose with their reservation system (they should really watch the Seinfeld episode on car rental reservations). You might think this was an isolated incident, but in our limited interaction with other guests we learned of two other families that had the exact same experience (one of whom called in advance to make sure the room they had paid for was reserved for them). This occurred during the busy holiday season so may not be an issue during less busy times, but I would beware if you care about getting the room you reserve and pay for.

In fairness, the room we eventually got was very nice especially for families with young children. It was very large and you could separate the sleeping areas with sliding doors. The bathroom was nice with separate shower and bath tub. There was very easy access to the pools and beach (short walks).

The food was average to good (how hard is it to cook a decent hamburger?). The drinks were included but the wine is below average and the mixed drinks were ok at best. By no means gourmet in any way.

Room Tip: Villas 9 and 10 are clearly the best as they are the only villas near the heated pools. Villa 6 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We met our children and grandson for a family vacation at Azul. What a wonderful resort for families with a nice short transfer from the airport. Our grandson loved the playroom, the nice warm pool outside our rooms and of course, we all enjoyed the food from each restaurant. The food is probably the best we have had in any Mexican resorts. Bar service was excellent and we enjoyed many wonderful cocktails. We booked family swim up suites for the week. When we arrived however, two of these rooms were not available, which was strange because we booked three months prior to our stay. The room situation was corrected two days later and a credit offered. Swim up suites are fairly noisy so if you are looking for a quiet vacation, don't bother booking. We found the rooms beautifully appointed but the walls fairly thin. That was fine for us because we were next door to our family. The beach is small but very clean. Overall we had a great stay and we all agree that we would return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of your family vacation , it as a pleasure to host you and your family at the Azul Beach Hotel.

I'm sorry to hear about your room issues on arrival, as I do not have your reservation details I can't provide any specific comments however I'm happy that my staff were able to resolve this in a timely and effective manner. Despite this I am very happy you enjoyed each and every feature of the Azul Beach Hotel , from the Azulitos Playhouse to our Fantastic fine dining restaurants.

It brings us great happiness to know that we were successful in providing you and your family with the perfect family vacation experience and we look forward to your return.

Best Regards

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

After trying the big box resorts like the Turquesa and being thoroughly disappointed, our family of 7 returns every year to the small heaven of Azul Beach. The most friendly staff who remember your name and your preferences to a General Manager and Food Service Manager who will always be found walking around and talking with guests. The beach is well maintained and we always see many kind of fishes such as squid, rays, crabs, barracudas and a large variety of colorful fishes just a few meters from the shores. The 5 reataurants provide menues with a wide variety of gourmet dishes and there is no need for reservation and seldom a line-up at the door.

Room Tip: After 4 years and having used 12 different rooms, our family has not found a bad room. The rooms nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend yet another new year, celebrating in our company. I'm Glad that we , at the Azul Beach Hotel , can provide you with a special , unique experience that you have not found anywhere else and I hope that you and your family continue with this wonderful tradition.

I'm already looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Travelled with my husband, our kids (6, 2, 8 months) and both my husband and my mother, from Dec 27 to Jan 3 to Azul Beach. We stayed in adjoining deluxe rooms which was great for all of us to stay together and allowed the grandmas to easily watch the kids at night while we went for dinner. The rooms were basic, no worse than any other rooms we have stayed in Mexico but not outstanding either. Next time we would try to stay in a swim up family suite in villa 9 or 10 to be by the heated pool. It will be louder for sure but nice to be able to stay by the pool while the kids nap. On check in we were able to request the following baby items: stroller (decent for around the resort), crib (playpen with mattress although I saw others had real cribs), stool for toddler, bottle sterilizer (so much easier than boiling water in the coffee pot like we did last trip), bottle warmer and baby bathtub. We had no issue getting everything. They also have a variety of different 6 month Gerber baby food jars available.
The food was absolutely fantastic. We loved all the restaurants and it was definitely the best food we have had in Mexico. We talked to several other well traveled guests and they also said it was the best resort food they have had in Mexico. There is one kids menu that all the restaurants use with the standard items so the kids got a little tired of that but they could also easily have ordered off the adult menu too. My favourite part about the a la cart dinner restaurants is that you didn't need reservations ever! So no waking up early to stand in line for reservations or planning your day around what time dinner is. We tried all the restaurants and we recommend all of them. The sushi at the Asian restaurant was the only disappointing food but there was a lot of other great options. We usually ate right at 6 pm when they opened with the kids and it was never busy. Even when we went later it wasn't hard to get tables but if you had a bigger group it may be.
It took us a couple days to realize there was actually a heated pool, another guest told us and when we asked the front desk they said there was not. It is at the back by the bubbles bar and villa 9 and 10. It's a big pool and shallow enough for my 6 year old daughter to touch. We spent most of our time there. The kids pool and pool by the main bar were much closer to our room but were pretty cold to swim in. We didn't spend much time on the beach but there is an adequate amount of loungers so its not a big deal if you can't get a bed. It's not a big beach but big enough for the size of the resort.
The kids club is fantastic. Endless toys and activities for all ages from baby fisher price toys to mini trampoline and slide to wii and playstation games for the older kids. My 6 year old stayed at the kids club by herself one morning for the first time and did great. They take them to the pool for an hour and do a variety of activities all listed on the weekly schedule throughout the day. They take kids 4-12 by themselves or you can go with your younger kids to play in the club with them. We never used the babysitting service they provide but heard really good things and the women are amazing with the kids.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After an 11 hour flight from the UK and a mix up with the transfer of 2 hours extra we finally arrived at this hotel. We were met at reception with a glass of fizz and a lovely welcome by the reception staff. The hotel looked like it was set in Africa with its open plan lobby and direct view of the sea. We were dealt with efficiently and professionally and after paying for an up-grade were taken to our room. Unfortunately the room we up-graded to was located directly facing the swamp and had a terrible smell of drains! The bell - boy did highlight this and said not to worry, however after a night or two it became quite unpleasant and my husband had to then pay again to be moved. We were moved to a different block and to a family room which was very adequate for our needs - (the jacuzzi bath was especially welcomed by myself). We did have an amazing time though at this hotel and can definitely recommend it to families. The food in each of the restaurants was of good quality and varied. The staff were so efficient and friendly at all times and we wanted for nothing whilst we were there on our two week stay. The Christmas and New Year Menus consisted of five courses and were delicious. The entertainment on New Years Eve was superb and one of the best I have enjoyed for a very long time. My family and I will be returning again to this hotel due to the fantastic service we were provided and the facilities on offer. My only other negative and which is out of the hotels hands is the nudist beach located next door. If you are taking children for a walk along the beach to the right of the Azul Beach Hotel - do so with care!

Room Tip: You may need to up-grade to get the room you require and try to avoid the rooms facing the swamp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review , and as a experienced traveler , your comment definately mean alot. It is great to hear that our hoteland the experiences that you had are comparable to those spend all around the world. We were very happy to host your first visit to the Mexico and we look forward to your next visit to the Azul Beach Hotel

Peter Hechler
Azul Beach Hotel
gm@azulbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Where to even begin with this property, I just came back from one of the best holidays ever. We chose this because of the family travelled with an 8 month old baby, on arrival you are of course greeted to have your bags taken and then check in, you get to choose your own pillow and room fragrance thankfully he didn't have his samples so I don't think we were subjected to the Normal lengthy process that other people's reviews stated,
We decided to up grade prior to arriving and so pleased we did we had a swim up family room and were really impressed with the room. You can pipe your iPod music into the bathroom and listen to this whilst taking a jacuzzi.

The rooms for us were very spacious and big balconies corner sofa and 4 person table, you have two LCD flat screen tv one in the sitting room and one in the bedroom, with enough English channels to entertain you if have a night in, they even had baby tv ( in Spanish but 8 months can't tell the difference!)

Surrounding the swim up room was bubbles bar and this was also a swim up bar, we noted fro m other reviews that the swim up bar was shut but this was at the main pool by aquanox and was never open whilst we were there, the main pools surrounding the restaurants and aquanox bar were NOT HEATED as also stated in other reviews but the pool surrounding bubbles bar and villas 9 and 10 was always heated ( one hot day it was liking stepping in a bath!) when speaking to other guests staying in villas 2,3 and 4 they didn't seem to be aware of this heated pool so best to head straight to bubbles bar and swim although as you can imagine this can get very busy with kids.

Restaurants

Blue- main breakfast, dinner and lunch
For us the best place to eat breakfast and lunch you get the BEST service and serves great food
We loved being able to order off a menu although you could get some buffet which was also great,
Lunch again a menu selection serving pizzas, grill dishes, pasta etc.

Chil- mainly what I call snacky food but great can sit right on the beach it's the same menu at night so we never went but they do nachos burgers etc here

Latino- my FAV restaurant great food and great service DAVID in particular was my FAV,

Roma- good food to a great Italian food although here the service was nt as good as Latino but a great place to eat.

Japanese - has a sushi train so if you love sushi great to go to i actually wouldnt recommend here at all first time we went I waited 35 mins for my main course, my husband had already eaten his and they simply forgot about me even when we asked no apology. Second time ( my husband loved sushi!) we waited 15 mins for any water and then when the sushi menu didn't arrive husband just got up to see what was in the train ( menu you can order hand rolled) we then waited and waited and gave up there was only 3 tables! So we walked out,
3rd time they forgot the coffee and again we waited we only went back for the sushi it's just the worst service out of the whole hotel.

The way they treat young children here is amazing everyone was picking ours up always made such a fuss over him he loved everyone, I would never normally consider babysitters but the girls who work in the kids club I would utterly trust with his life they are great, the kids club it's self has entertainment for all kid ages we took ours in to play with the giant mound of fisher price toys!

It has a great beach and you can hire a bed if done the day before it's done as a lottery but we never had trouble the two times we did it, we also walked along the beach to the sensatori hotel I don't advise it once you pass the nudists next door the beach is disgusting I'm guessing as it doesn't belong to any hote, no one bothers to clean it it's that bad I was surprised I didn't get a needle stuck in my foot!
On a quick note about sensatori do NOT USE THE ATM MACHINE it's crazy charges, we took out $100 and it worked out at £88 clearly not a good rate but it charges you $7 and then 10% of whatever amount you take out plus your own bank charges,

We saw you could by a pass for senatori for $80 well we just walked in a got a drink so don't bother if you do want to go.

If you want a good room I would highly suggest villa 9 it's got great sun shine on the balconies plus villa 10 seemed to have some sort of smell wafting about,
The only bad thing about the rooms is the sound proofing you here EVERYTHING the lift pinging toilets flushing next door and housekeepers radios going off just generally everything and when we are trying to get the baby to sleep, also they seem to want to do a turn down service at 9.30 again when the baby is sleeping!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a peaceful relaxing holiday with great service. Don't go if your wanting a wild party!

We were disappointed with Xmas eve is was the poorest night of all but they made up for it at new years eve!! It would be nice if they recycled the entertainment every two weeks they do the same thing every week.

People who made are holiday were Miriam , revecca, jeshua, michal, shirly David
Also if you have a birthday ask for the room to be done for free! They did balloons and decorated the bedroom for my husband really nice.

Room Tip: Villa 9 by swim up rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I enjoyed reading about your experienced and I'm very happy to know that your stay at the Azul Beach Hotel was one of your best holidays to date.
I truly appreciate your feedback and I'm sure that your comments will help the trip advisor members when making the decision where to vacation.

I would like you to know that I have taken note of your comment concerning the beach and the ATM machine which I am currently reviewing.

Again, thank you for sharing the details of your experiences and we hope to see you very soon at the Azul Beach Hotel.

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 27.5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul Beach Hotel is a family-friendly, boutique-style property located on a gorgeous beach 20 minutes from Cancun International Airport. All of the newly renovated 148 rooms are just steps from the beach, pools, restaurants and bars.Featuring the Gourmet Inclusive® concept, epicurean offerings include candlelight dining on the beach, a fresh fish fry and butler service to the canopied beach beds. There’s an all-lobster menu, 24-hour room service and over 30 tequilas in the tequila lounge.Azul Beach especially caters to families with young children with loaner baby equipment, kid's club and parent support. The exclusive Family & Friends Vacation Planner coordinates family reunions. Romantic couples love Beachfront Sky Massages and Suite Scenes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Beach Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Resort All Inclusive Beach
Azul Beach Resort
Azul Hotel Beach Resort
Azul Beach Hotel, By Karisma Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.