We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit so time for a review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desire Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desire Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Desire Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos Km 27.5 SM 12 | Mza 41, Lote 1, Fracc. 2, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“3rd visit so time for a review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This was our third visit to Desire in 14 months. We have stayed a minimum of 7 days per visit and as long as 9. We have visited in the heat of the summer, late fall and winter. Every visit has been phenomenal.
Let me say that regardless of your lifestyle preferences, the atmosphere, people and surrounding of this resort are electric. In three visits we have only had one instance where someone got a little snippy when we were not interested in their advances. Yes, there is a chance someone may be interested in being more than social but, I say a 99% return rate on respectable and friendly behavior is a better return than all of the resorts I have visited in the past. The factor that cracks me up about the "lifestyle" write up's is that Desire does not represent itself as a lifestyles resort in it's web or print advertisements beyond "lifestyle amusement". Even though some reviews tell others that people not in the lifestyle are welcome, it is as much a romantic couples resort and a great one at that.
That said:
ROOMS: Even the small rooms are big. I am not sure where people are staying that review the rooms as too small. There are a few basic needs the rooms lack but are easy to manage. One power outlet in Garden View. Go by the local home supply store and grab a 6 outlet 3 foot cord power strip. Ladies, if you are bringing shoes, grab a travel or cloth shoe holder that hooks over the door. It can be used for shoes, rolled up clothes, blow dryer, etc. There is limited space for storage.
POOL: The pools is great and always clean. I have read complaints of the pool closing at 6:00pm which I understand, but can also appreciate the fact they do close the pool. If you have ever been to a resort with a party atmosphere where the pool stays open later, then you have seen a pool with fru fru drink scum floating in it the next morning. Note that the chairs along the pool edge are usually taken by 7:30 - 8:00 but many of the back row are available even later. They also remodeled an area to add more chairs.
ACTIVITIES: I agree the activities seem to be a little old with very few changes to the events or poolside entertainment. This being a resort that has many return guests, this is one area I would like to see more variety and ongoing changes in. Theme nights too. I think part of the fun of planning for a vacation at Desires is the preparation for theme nights and special events. If they don't change or vary regularly, where is the excitement in finding the right clothes or costume for return visitors? I love to know my wife is excited in the outfits and ideas she puts together for these evenings.
HOT TUB: The hot tub has it's very social and active times ( after noon and after disco)
while it also has very quiet and serene times in between. Bottom line, when it's busy, it is sexy. If you are offended by seeing people enjoying each other in an intimate environment, this doesn't mean write this resort off, it means give it a try and if it isn't for you, there really are times when you can enjoy the hot tub in a more calm and quiet environment.
STAFF: You will not find a more dedicated and helpful staff at any other resort, anywhere. It is that simple. They are the best.
BOTTOM LINE: If you want to be in a quiet romantic environment, you can have it here. If you want an electrical experience that reconnects you with your partner and envelopes you in a sensual and unique surrounding, you will get it here. We are return guests, always will be but are also travelers who enjoy other resorts in other locations. What no other resorts offer is that trip you need just to enjoy each other and, anything else you may want to explore.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    157
    44
    24
    9
See reviews for
2
490
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We have been to Desire two times now and can't wait to go back in August. We have been in the lifestyle for at least 4 years now. We stayed in the Passion Suites both times and would not recommend staying in anything less. The rooms are very expensive but worth it. Remember you are paying for the atmosphere so you can't really compare there rates to a regular resort. The other rooms are old and dark the Passion Suites have amazing views and are newer. Last trip we bought the VIP "timeshare" package. Mainly so we can get the 25% off we figure it will pay it's self off in the next 3 years. If you are interested in buying a timeshare there you can get out of the yearly maintenance fees, you will not get 50% off if you book early and just work them down they can negotiate all of it even though they say they can't. Other than that it's a great place to relax during the day and have a great time at night watching or playing. Go with an open mind and understand that some people go to play hard and others just want to relax. If you want to play hard go during takeovers. SDC has a good one in May and most of them are swingers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ac.nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

First trip to Desire we had done Hedo but we're not swingers. You don't have to be to enjoy Desire. There were days where we were bathing suits ,1/2 suit or no suit. You do whatever you want. There was no PRESSURE to do anything you just do what you like. The rooms are a bit small and can use a little updating but they are fine and kept very clean. The breakfast buffet is very good and there's plenty to chose from. The lunch buffet was ok it could be a little better. Dinner was fine they try their best with fine dinning for an all-inclusive hotel. Drinks were great anything they have and as strong you like it. As soon as you would set your glass down another drink was on the way. What we like best was the service the employees were very nice and friendly and they all did a great job of making our vacation fun & relaxing. The entertainment is awesome and the grounds are kept clean and beautiful. If you like a chair at the pool you need to get there early to reserve a spot. But the beach beds were great and there were always plenty available.Plus there was service on the beach as well as a beach bar. The beach was nice ,beautiful water but small. The employees would clean it every morning. Now for the HOT stuff. After dinner the place heats up with entertainment ,ladies wear their hottest and sexiest outfits. Trust me nothing's too revealing or over the top. They have a differnet theme every nigth which the entertainment staff helps to make sure everyone's having a good time. We didn't do the hot tub at night but we did visit it during the day it's on the roof with a bar and can heat up. The disco was GREAT alot of great music something for everyone and anything goes on & off the dance floor... We didn't go into the party room b/c there was plenty of partying going on in the disco. We never were pressured or bothered to do anything people were very respectfull and did their own thing. If you're looking to relax during the day, party at night and rekindle and spark your relationship this is a great place to do it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Ill start with this. We are in the lifestyle. People are respectful, enjoy being nude, socializing, and of course getting wild. If any of that offends you, it's not the place you want to go. It's not just a swinging resort, some people just want to enjoy being naked and they are very welcome. As for the resort, the service is AWESOME. The staff go out of their way to make sure you are well taken care of. If they saw me without a drink they would get me another. I didn't have to ask. This is TOP NOTCH service and makes a difference. The room are clean and well taken care of. I wouldn't say the are the highest end rooms I have ever stayed at but overall it's great. The beach has gotten smaller over the last two years. In some ways it doesn't matter much considering we stay on the wonderful beds and that works out just fine. The entertainment staff goes out of their way to make sure you are having fun. There is always something going on during the day. The afternoon hot tub is so much fun. Everyone is friendly and we had fun talking to other couples. The food was excellent. We always had something yummy to eat. If we didn't eat alot, there was always the 3am pizza to finish off the night. The Night club was improved 100%. They made the best use of the space...throw in some bed and really added to it. The play room is great. Once again, everyone is respectful. If you like showing off, it's the place for you. The resort is about the people more than the resort. It is expensive but you can't find the atmosphere any where else in the world! That's what you extra you are paying for. I can tell you it's worth it. Go with an open mind and be ready to have fun. The resort is perfect the way it is.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

I am going to start with the positive and continue with the negatives. Feel free to message me with any questions/comments you have.

The food was awesome, some of the best for any place I have travelled. You can order something from the kitchen if nothing appeals to you. The place was very clean and well kept. The pool lounge chairs were nice and very comfortable, the best I have ever layed on. The pool is nice, the hot tub is big. They provide you with robes that are very comfy. The "play room"/"sin room" is very very nice, but it is off the back of the disco and I didn't even know it was there until the second last day.

The best thing of all is the staff - they are amazing and so attentive. I spilled a drink on my chair and I jumped up and they were right there cleaning it up and replacing everything for me. They have a waitress come around (Sylivia). The other awesome thing is the towel system. You can simply go get a towel and do not have to sign it out. They just go around and pick them up after the pool closes at 6 pm. Hedo should start this system. Cards or signing out towels is stupid!!!!! Take a walk looking for the crocodiles in the lakes (awesome!!!!!!!!!!)

Now onto the negatives. I will try not to be too nasty. I would not recommend this resort and I will not be back. I have only been to Hedo 3 and this makes me even sadder they closed it, but spring of 2012 I will be trying Hedo 2!!!!!

The pool closes at 6:00 pm. The rooms are tiny, especially for the price you pay (almost $500 per couple for the lowest grade room). It is very difficult to get a pool chair since the premier clients (time share) can reserve them the night before. If you want a remote chance of getting a chair you have to go by 8:00 am and if not, you loose out. The people are nice enough, but during the day it is a regular resort, except for the fact you can take your bathing suit off. There is not social atmosphere at all. You find yourself waiting for late afternoon so you can go to the hot tub and socailize. It is VERY prudish during the day. I even tried to get things going with a few young couples who were throwing a ball around one day but eveyone just looked at us like we had 5 heads. Heaven forbit anyone have any fun!!! This may not be a negative for all, but for us it was. The entertainment stuff was great, I adored them, BUT the only time anything was ever happening was when they were doing their thing. Other then that there was nothing to do except sit or swim. There were no prizes for the volunteers except for the 1st place winners. And that was usually a hat or t-shirt. I got a shot glass one day and I contributed to just about everything!!! There were no floaties so I finally bought one at the gift shop on my 3rd last day and they blew it up for me. Once again I was looked at like I had 5 heads. I prefer to float and tan at the same time.

Now for the 2 most negatives things of all:

1. Hot tub - although is it bigger then H3 (as I said I have not been to H2 YET) it is not as fun or clean. I personally saw them drain and clean and refill the hot tubs at H3 every morning. I never once knew of them doing them at Desire. Mind you it would be a lot of work and water, but come on!!!! I saw them wiping the edges of it every day and they put lots of chemicals in it, but that's just not enough. We went there once in the late afternoon and after a bit took our sunglasses of and set them on the side and after people started getting in the water overflowed some and our glasses were covered with a slimy scum and it was sooooooo gross. (yet I went back day after day as it was the ONLY possible chance to see the very little action that happened there). I have only had one bladder infection in my life and within 2 days of getting home I got a nasty bladder infection. It was from the hot tub, I have no doubt in my mind. Also, it was COLD the first few days, the tempature was never right, either too hot or too cold.

2. Although the pizza bar made great pizza we had a very bad experience there. We went there early after the disco on our last night to get a pizza to take back to our room. I asked for a meat pizza to be made and she said only pepporni. I said ok. She took it out of the "warming oven" and put it on a plate, even though I had asked for one to be made. I didn't bother saying anything and took it. When we got back to our room it was cold. I was not happy and did not want a cold pizza on our last night so we dicided to take it back. I put the half eaten piece back on top of the pizza and we headed back down. When we go there she was gone to the kitchen so we decided to wait. I feed some of the piece of pizza to the cats that roam around and then threw the piece back ontop of the pizza on the plate. (they also have a family of racoons there) Once she finally got back we told her our pizza was cold and wanted a new one. She went to put it back in the oven and I said no, we wanted a fresh one (it would be like cardboard if she reheated it). So then she takes the half eaten piece of pizza off the top and puts the pizza back into the warming oven for others to eat. We were sooooooo grossed out!!!!! We waited for her to make our fresh pizza and put it in the oven and then went to see the manager. He said he was sorry but did not even offer anything to us. He offered to get us some beer, thanks!!! on a all inclusice resort!!! I ate most of the pizza, but Ricky still couldn't touch it.

Overall it was a beautiful resort, but we will not be back. It may be a great place and people may love it, but it is not for us. If you are a Hedo couple and love Hedo, stick with it and don't waste your money "trying" Desire.

Hedo would be better with the towel system Desire has, but the atmosphere at Hedo is what it is all about!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We have been to the area many times and try a different resort each time. This was our first trip to Desire. We had read the reviews and was curious. I usually go topless on the beaches in Mexico and by the pool if it is allowed.
To compare this resort to other 4 and 5 star resorts in Playa del Carmen or Cancun is not even close, but to go and add excitement to a marriage it is worth the trip at least once.
Like many others in these reviews, we are not picky eaters and were not expecting gourmet meals. Which is fine, we did not go hungry. (THE PIZZA IS AWESOME AT THE LOBBY BAR AT 3 a.m.). The food at the resort is cafeteria quality.
Rooms are OK. We had a garden view room. It needed MANY more lights and storage space! Few ants around the sink, no big deal. The beds were fine.
Entertainment was very good. The guests themselves provide as much entertainment as the staff. We met several couples that we enjoyed talking with. We are not swingers, but the opportunities do arise if you want them to. If you don't then that is perfectly fine also. My husband said the others didn't bring anything to barter with! LOL!!
We did get a taxi one evening to ride into Playa Del Carmen. $40 US each way. Well worth it for a change of scenery.
OK. now for what you really want to know!! Yes there is sexual activity starting at the hot tub around 3 every afternoon and then goes into the disco around 10 and playroom fires up around 11 and then goes back to the hottub until 3 in the morning! Be ready to see it ALL!!!!
We definitely recommend this resort at least once for those who are curious. We thought it was very exciting and will probably go back even though it is a little expensive for the quality of rooms and food.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Okay so we werent going back again but its so clean, the food is so good , our room was amazing and in a great location. Our marriage was getting stale, well Desire renewed us like we just met. We have been home for awhile now and we are still so renewed. We felt kind of out of place because we are not lifestylers or nudists. We felt kind of unexcepted. But I got to dress so sexy for my husband and he loves it. The people were very nice. The beach beds are so nice, service amazing. We are going back !!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desire Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos Km 27.5 SM 12 | Mza 41, Lote 1, Fracc. 2, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Desire Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desire Resort & Spa is a unique couples only resort, the first and only of its kind in Mexico, that located on Cancun’s Riviera Maya will surround you with amazing landscaping and a deliciously erotic atmosphere to unleash your imagination and stimulate your senses. A place of freedom where fantasies become real, a place to abandon inhibitions and truly be you. Imagine sharing this paradise with like-minded couples who also seek a sensuous, clothing optional upscale venue or an adventurous lifestyle experience.Desire Resort & Spa Riviera Maya is a unique, adults only resort (+21) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desire Hotel Riviera Maya
Desire Resort Mexico
Cancun Desire Resort
Desire Resort Cancun
Desire Resort And Spa
Desire Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desire Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.