We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic beautiful eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playita

La Playita
Two Blocks from the main plaza, Puerto Morelos, Mexico
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic beautiful eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Good but not great. Overcooked a bit. Fair value. Typical beach cafe, very casual. I won't go out of my way to come back, but I'd eat there again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    53
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Run, do not walk, to this restaurant if you are in Puerto Morelos.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

La Playita came hightly recommended, and there were many people from our resort there. The fish was extremely fresh and delicious and eating at a table with your bare feet in the sand is wonderful. 25 peso beers to help you chill. The beach was barely occupied. I would go back here the next time I am in the area. There was live music when I was there, practically unheard of before dark.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“nice vibe on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

good cerviche and huac. I was there mid week around 4 and they had a guy playing live music. It had a great vibe and filled with locals and families on vacation. I was bummed that it had no fish tacos.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm, sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best beachrestaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The shrimptacos was to die for! A lot of locals, great food and drinks. Perfect or a lunch after a hot day at the beach!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown,pa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Local love it! Don't miss it the whole, fried fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

La Playita is a place the locals treat themselves to.. It's best known of it's fried fish that you can select from the catches of the day. Great ceviche and guac too! Generous portions at very reasonable prices. It's on the beach, you are literally sitting on plastic chairs in the sand under a tent. Without being annoying, they allow vendors to stop by with their wares-if those wares are music or dessert- and we did well with both! At precisely the right time, a man balancing a plate of homemade candy and dessert on his head came by and for $1 we enjoyed a most delicous ending to our meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playita also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Playita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.