We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time stay at Desire Pearl” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desire Pearl Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desire Pearl Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Desire Pearl Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Costera Norte, Lote 1 Sm10 Mz. 26, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“First time stay at Desire Pearl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have stayed at 2 other nude resorts in Cancun and enjoyed this one the most.

Hidden beach is a good drive from the airport, beach had tiny shells everywhere making it hard to walk, one restaurant on property, and you were approached everyday on the resort by the spa staff wanting to know if you wanted a massage. I don't know about you but if I want a massage, I make an appt. Staff was friendly. You could go to the resort next door and eat at their restaurants.

Desire RM is a really good place to stay, especially if you are in to "the lifestyle." We are no,t but still have had great stays at this resort. The staff is Excellent! Lots and lots of beach beds. rooms are nice, four restaurants, disco decor is nice, but the music played is not very good and it's the same songs every night. This is also true for the Desire Pearl disco. If you like to go for long walks on the beach, this resort cannot accommodate, but most couples that are there aren't interested in the walks, and that's okay. If Desire Pearl gets booked up next time we want to go, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at Desire RM.

Desire Pearl have very nice spacious rooms. If you want a quiet room they are on the property. Evaristo was our butler as well as Carlos, they covered the day and evening shift and always checked on us everyday. We are not demanding guests, but they always checked on us.
The pool is very big and lots of space to walk around without feeling like you are going to end up in someones' lap. Swim up bar is always a plus. If you go right on the beach you will end in Puerto Morales, if you to left, you end up walking past numerous resorts. Plenty of beach to walk on.
There are only two restaurants on the property, one is very casual, the other is only open for dinner and dress code is a little more strict. Food is average, lots of chicken and pork dishes. It would've been nice to have some hot pasta dishes in the casual restaurant for dinner. The casual restaurant staff needs more training. You would seat yourself, and sometimes you ended up waiting on yourself too. For instance, in order to get coffee a waiter has to bring it to you, two mornings we never did have a waiter come to our table to offer coffee, and were unable to draw there attention. Juices are self serve but coffee is not. Also, the lady cook at the grill in the am where you would order pancakes, omelets etc. would take your oder and then turn around and give it to someone else. It happened everyday, unless you were willing to stand right in front of her blocking other people, which isn't appropriate. At Desire RM the staff in the restaurants ran like a fine oiled machine and the food was better. I would like to mention that Roger and Miguel did a good job at the casual restaurant. Again, need more staff and training at the casual restaurant. Be sure to spray for mosquitos at night or your lower legs will get devoured.
We have never participated in activities at the previous resorts, however, Jessica, Jovani, Inge, and Charlie were hard to say "no" too. We had a great time participating everyday and appreciate their efforts to provide poolside entertainment. Ebe and Marvella did a great job around the pool. Probably one of the most demanding jobs on the resort. Victor took care of your chairs every am and provided towels for the day, great job! Jorge at the swim up bar did a great job as well. We ended up going to Yoga every morning on the pier with Lisa from Wisconsin, she was our instructor. She was wonderful. She will be back several times during the year so if you get the chance, check it out.
Disco was small and rectangular which made it difficult to accommodate everyone for the evening shows, if you wanted a good view. Decor was very nice. Music was not good. Same songs played every night, Pitbull, Shakira, Jennifer Lopez, etc. The music played out at the pool during the day was better than the music played in the disco.( I know it's hard to please everyone but I would say that it was a common complaint from other guests.) It seems like the same DJ at Desire RM was working at Desire Pearl. Mix it up, check with guests to see what music they want to hear and dance too.
We met some really nice people while we were there. A few were there for 'the lifestyle,' they were pretty easy to spot, but overall, most were there to soak up the sun in their birthday suit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    61
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
2
332
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Third time at Desire, but first time at Desire Pearl.
So you tend to spend time comparing Riviera Maya and Pearl.
Globally we preferred Pearl because it is quieter and nicer. The rooms are a little bit newer, the swimming pool is much bigger, divided in 2 parts, one for the day activities, the other one to relax.
The jacuzzi is larger but its bar is not very practical, as you cannot sit and drink from outside, if you decide not to stay in the pool. Also the jacuzzi at Riviera Maya has a better location, situated on the roof and overlooking the hotel, whereas it is a little bit "squeezed" at Pearl. Also the restaurants are nicer and more diverse at Riviera Maya ; at Pearl, only 2 restaurants, with no real atmosphere, specially the "luxury" one which is very cold.
For the night activities, both resorts are comparable. Nevertheless for livestyle people, Pearl is really lagging behind : the "sin room" is empty as really badly situated in the disco, too few beds around the jacuzzi. In that sense Riviera Maya is better conceived. Pearl has potential but some remodelation should be done.
In conclusion, we spent a great time relaxing, reading, swimming, but we found harder to build lifestyle relations with other couples, because too few elements drive you in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in Pearl for a few days in May 2013. The check- in was ok but we needed to ask for all the information about the hotel, meals, activities as the receptionist forgot to tell us anything.

The hotel is very nice, with big rooms, all are ocean view. It makes an impression that the resort is more upscale. We upgraded for a master suite which was very big, with 2 bathrooms, a living room and a patio, but we think that the standard room is really sufficient.

The beach was smaller than in RM, with small stones in the sea, which was a bit unpleasant but not a real problem. The swimming pool is big with a great bar. The jacuzzi is bigger than in RM but we liked the setting in RM better, notably the setting of beds which give you a bit more privacy than in Pearl. Also, some people blocked the beds in Pearl with cloths for the entire evening and night which prevented others to use them. The bar in jacuzzi was great and we enjoyed the really hot water.

The disco was beautiful but maybe too much light compared to RM. The music was so and so. DJ played techno mixes and maybe because of this the disco cleared like 40 minutes after it started. He often played good music later on when the disco was already empty. Thanks to a group which was present during our stay, more men were dressed to the theme but after the group left almost nobody dressed up. Only about half of the women dressed very sexy and to the theme and only very very few men did (still many more than in RM). The atmosphere in the disco was calmer than in RM but we did not mind to have the dance floor just for two of us:)

The playroom was very small, it was divided only by a curtain so you feel you are like in the disco. It was not used much during our stay.

There are only 2 restaurants in the hotel which was a pain. You are served in both so it is impossible to have a quick dinner. Moreover, during the high occupancy it is almost impossible to get into the Pearl restaurant as you need to wait at least 45 - 60 minutes. This is not acceptable. They should consider the system of reservations if they know that the peak hour is between 20-21. In case you come at 20.30- 21, you will get into restaurant only around 21.45 which means that you miss the programme at 22.30 unless you order just a salad. It is also not understandable why you need to wait for a desert in both restaurants for 15-25 minutes. We were told that a new Asian restaurant will be opened so this should resolve the issue with dinner.

We enjoyed though very much the breakfast at the ocean side restaurant. The lunch was good with excellent salads! The staff in both restaurants is very friendly. Overall, the food was good.

The wifi was not working well in the rooms.The hotel manager told us they are going to address this issue. Fortunately, the hotel stopped charging for the wi-fi. 15 USD was exaggerated.

If we come back one day, we will surely split our stay between the two Desires as each offers something else. RM is more a party place whereas Pearl seems to be calmer;) We enjoyed both.

Oh, forgot to mention that the entertainment staff, Inga, Raquel, Javier and others are very nice and great fun!

Room Tip: If you want to have a good sleep stay away from the swimming pool and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we visited desire pearl in april , didn"t know what to expect ,but boy were we surprized ,they made you feel so welcome from the moment you check in , staff was increadable , they couldn"t do enough , food was top notch , wait staff very good and really looked after you , always felt at home ,all guests great , one of the most relaxing holidays ever , will be returning in october for sure , worth the few extra bucks , been to several all inclusive resorts in mexico ,but never felt as comfortable as we did at the desire pearl

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have been to Desire RM twice and found the rooms to be a little disappointing. Regardless, we always enjoyed our stay and love the playful, adult environment. So, when we heard about Pearl, we decided to give it a try to see if it cured the few items we felt were lacking at Desire RM. After our 4-day stay at Pearl, our votes are cast to return to Pearl on our next adult adventure.

Notables...
Room was much better...bigger...nicer bathroom too.
Food was very good, but not much variety. If we stayed more than 4-days, I think we would have been bored with the food.
Entertainment was hit and miss. The Friday night acrobatics were spectacular. Other nights were just OK.
Pool service was best at the bar. We only saw the waitress twice in 4-days.
Remember...this is a clothing optional resort. Like Desire RM, there is no pressure. But, if considerable nakeness makes you uneasy, don't go to any Desire resort.
Loved the hot tub area...it is much bigger than Desire RM...sexy, yet conversational. Great bar service at the hot tub.

If we could change anything, it would be the food choices. Prep and service was great. Just need more options.

One tip for those making a reservation...use the TransBeach airport transfers offered by Desire. They are on time, easy to find at the airport, and friendly. (Be sure to quickly walk through the gauntlet of salesman in the terminal!)

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean view, albeit, very limited view in some cases. To us, it was not worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I have been here twice now because the first time was so enjoyable I couldn't wait to go back! My overall review is that it is like visiting your family. We felt welcomed and cared for. They made us feel relaxed, gave us privacy when we wanted it. They made us feel like a part of their family when we needed it. And when we left it was like saying goodby to family members only thinking about the next time we'll see each other. Special thanks to Valentina, Elessio, Mario, Jared, Rodolfo, Graciliano, Art, Josue, Martin, Melvina, And the incredible entertainment staff Charlie, Raquel, Jessica, Inga, Jovani, Javier. When you go these staff members will make your trip unforgettable.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good. However, if you need wi-fi service in your rooms ask for a lower floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent two weeks at DP during the first two weeks of April. A beautiful resort with great service by almost all the all the staff. The entertainment staff (Jessica, Rachael, Inga, Javier, Charlie and Jovani) worked constantly getting the crowds participating and did a great job as well as Marbella who constantly kept our drinks replenished. Christian, Hector and Jose delivered our meals in the Pearl Restaurant flawlessly, continually being overlooked by Jesus and David, the restaurant mgrs. Rooms and grounds were beautiful and well kept.
In my humble opinion, a number of issues need to be addressed at the resort. We had upgraded to a junior suite upon arrival, and for a room rate about 850us per night we expected to be checked into an all inclusive resort.
-meal selection for breakfast and lunch, along with the food preparation was really dissappointing. A box of Coco Puffs and a container of yogurt doesn't cut it. Selection was really poor, and quality of food was just marginal - 2 star resorts have better selection and quality.
-meal quality at the fine dining Pearl Restaurant was excellent, but we were told the menu would change every second night - and it did - back to the previous one. There were only two different menus for the entire two week period. Food taste and prep was great - the selection over two weeks was really poor. If you wanted a New York steak or Prime rib instead of the menu, be prepared to spend an extra $40.00us per serving. - 6 shrimp was an extra $30.00us, Crab was $40.00 us additional. For the room rate we paid, steak could have been served at no additional cost.
-If you wanted wi-fi there was an additional cost of $15.00 per day - this was supposed to work over the entire resort - but really worked marginally only in the lobby - if you could get one of the attendents to change networks for you.
- Desire Resort is about an hour's walk down the beach from Desire Pearl and we walked several times to spend the day. There was no shuttle between the resorts - add $15.00 us each time a cab was needed to go between the resorts. A shuttle that would run into Cancun a couple of times a week would be great to see the market or do some shopping - be prepared to spend $60.00us each way for a cab.
-If you wanted a bottle of wine with dinner, different from the house wine, bring out your wallet. The house wines were completely acceptable and good though.
-When it was busy, there were not nearly enough beds to sit beside the activity pool - a trip down at 7:00 in the morning assured a seat for a few dollars - usually. The balance of seats/beds were down on the beach - if the wind was not blowing too hard. The quiet end of the pool also had some beds.
- we really enjoy participating and dressing up for the theme nights at the resort - different every night - we looked on the DP website and brought costumes for each of the nights. Once we were were there - some of the theme nights were changed, and the costumes we packed not relevant. Maybe the website could be updated to reflect the correct themes for the evening.
- the disco - well, the resort needs to learn that loud is NOT better. It was loud enough to damage hearing. The people attending were 40 to 60 something - many people left as soon as the music started after the show. The music was constant boom boom boom - all the same, all night. Many people complained about the music chosen and the loudness - all complaints were ignored and music played only that the DJ wanted. Fire the DJ, and bring in someone who knows what someone older than 16 might listen and dance to. We love to dance - this was a real bitter dissappointment. People are in the disco to socalize and talk and meet others. The disco was so loud that even with the doors closed - it's noise in the lobby made it impossible to hear to a live trumpet player hired to play in the lobby.
- The spa was quiet with a lovely atmosphere. We did both, a couples sensous massage and a regular massage. For $275.00us the couples massage was well, boring and forgettable. For us, definately not worth the 50 minute price tag. The Palace resorts used to include a masage at no cost to introduce the spa and what it offered. The DP spa - $90.00us for a 50 minute session. A mans hair trim was $35.00us
For a high end resort, with a premium room rate, there are way too many add-ons. At every turn the resort had it's hand out to collect more money above it's rack rate. BRING MONEY! Even our local motels include wifi at no cost.

We will likely return for another stay - we did have a lot of fun - it just feels like we were being gouged far too often. Oh yes, FIRE the disco DJ

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desire Pearl Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desire Pearl Resort & Spa

Address: Costera Norte, Lote 1 Sm10 Mz. 26, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Desire Pearl Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, seductive, clothing optional sanctuary in the Mexican Caribbean, invites you to come with your partner to discover a world of deliciously sensual experiences. A paradise for couples only, this is the place where you can reinvent the meaning of passion, forget inhibitions and enjoy adventures that go beyond your imagination. Surrounded by lingering ocean breezes, powdery white sand and the captivating, picture-perfect hues of the Caribbean Sea, Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya is found in an alluring beach of Puerto Morelos, as an idyllic setting where your most secret fantasies can become true.With an architectural design that resembles an elegant villa and blends perfectly with its vibrant and tropical backdrop, our clothing optional resort features guest rooms, suites and penthouses that have been provided with a balcony or terrace, so that the only witness of those passionate encounters with your partner, will be the most breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. As the most exquisite deluxe all-inclusive hotel, Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya has been provided with superb amenities and features that will seduce all of your senses such as an erotic, clothing optional atmosphere, oceanfront pools, beach beds, beach/pool concierges, and an indulging spa. Two restaurants await you with delightful moments as you discover our variety of gourmet, signature dishes and sensual environments that will embrace you with the taste of Desire every night. At Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, the most enticing, adults oriented daily activities and nightly entertainment will set the perfect scene for flirtatious occasions to enjoy your partner's company, meet other guests as well as unparalleled opportunities to let yourself loose. For the ultimate seductive vacation, keep your mind open, unleash your imagination and surrender to the Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Desire Pearl Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desire Pearl Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.