We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic, but acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ojo De Agua

Best prices from these 3 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ojo De Agua to your Saves list
Hotel Ojo De Agua
Av. Javier Rojo Gomez S.M. 2, Mza. 2, Lote 16 | Frac. Ojo de Agua, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very basic, but acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had stayed in Puerto Morelos several years ago and hated it, so we wanted to try it again. We had read about the Ojo de Agua as being in a good location -- on the beach AND a few minutes walk to the center of town. It is a good value so long as you realize that it is very basic. The room we had was good sized. There was adequate lighting at night (unlike many rooms we have had in Mexico :) ). Our room had a small patio on a garden area with a small table, but there were no chairs. There was good water pressure in the shower. There were only two towels, but they were large. The hotel has a restaurant, with adequate food and service. The pool didn't seem as clean as I personally would have liked. The beach was not as good as I would have hoped.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    19
    17
    20
See reviews for
23
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

At some point in history Puerto Morelos has seen its glorious times, however, much of that is now gone and left is an older American crowd, many of which seem to come back year after year and some seem to have retired here. Unfortunately, it has one of the dirtiest waters that I have swum in ever. We had to swim through at least 30 meters of trash littered water (plastic debris clinging to our snorkel equipment and getting into our swim suits!) before we could se the bottom. The beach is crowded and has a look and feel of a mass public beach.
The hotel is old, plain and stale and maintenance is long overdue. All rooms overlook an inside patio and the swimming pool is rather cloudy.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, do so as far away from the pool as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Ok, the room was fairly inexpensive, a bit shabby, cold showers ( low water pressure ) and TV with volume pre-set so low it was Inaudiable, aside from that, really "grumpy" staff. When I checked out the receptionist didn't even acknowledge me even when I talked to her... Very rude. On the plus side. Fantastic location, right on the beach so if you are happy with really poor service, choose this one. For me... I won't go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel is in front of a beautiful stretch of beach in Puerto Morelos. Unfortunately the rooms are not all that nice. We had a room with a partial view of the water with a small balcony that we enjoyed using. The room itself was so-so. It was quite small and the walls were painted an odd colour. The bathroom was adequate but water pressure and hot water were not too plentiful. The staff were fine and helped us out calling taxis etc. I booked via email and there were no issues with the reservation or payment. The hotel also has free wireless which was great with a decent signal. You can use the chairs in front of the hotel but they are shared with the restaurant guests so chairs can be scarce. The guys who look after the beach will set up a chair and umbrellas for you and expect a small tip which was fine with us - they work very hard! When we were there someone had there bag stolen so be careful as this is a big public beach. We had an excellent rate for an adequate room and as we were moving on to a 5 star resort the next week - it was fine for a few nights. PS: the guy who stole the bag was caught and we saw him being led off the beach in handcuffs by the local police.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We just returned from 2 weeks at Ojo De Agua and found it warm, charming, authentically Mexican, and comfortable. The staff is great. They work hard to keep the hotel running smoothly. Our maid, Marie, was a true treasure. She works very hard every day to maintain the place. We always believe in showing our appreciation by tipping everybody the whole time. They really appreciate us noticing how hard they work to please us. The beach is fabulous with great swimming, snorkeling, walking, and people watching. The restaurant out front is most accommodating and the food and drinks are always refreshing. The hotel and town both feel very safe. We enjoyed many great restaurants, fabulous shopping, and the wonderful location on one of the nicest beaches on the Mayan riviera. If you want to be pampered by luxury this is not the place for you, but if you love Mexico and it's unique culture, then Ojo de Agua will feel like home. The studios are large but not that well equipped for cooking. If you plan on cooking ( we did not bother because eating out is inexpensive and fun) bring a good knife. There is no coffee maker, so bring a melita filter. The sheets and towels are threadbare and the furnishings are tired.....but you are on a fabulous beach and the price is incredible for the location. We always woke up at dawn and were on the beach walking only minutes later. It is fun to see all the dogs being walked at that time....a whole subculture. Many folks return to this hotel every year because of the great value and location. We will return one day as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The beach is great; the restaurant on the beach is nice. The rest blows. Broken shower head, no toilet seat, stolen credit card and stole bathing suit out of the room. Got a $10 discount from my troubles. This place should be $30/night and that is just for location. Beds are hard, pillows are made of scraps.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is on a lovely beach and is pretty central to Puerto Morelos which is a nice, not overly developed town, rare for the riviera Maya. Lots of locals use the beach on Sunday afternoons which is a good sign and very entertaining. The people in the hotel were friendly and helpful. The room was clean though it didnt seem to have a socket for recharging phone or camera. We used the beachside restaurant for lunch on the beach and it was good, loungers and umbrella for the beach was 150 pesos for 2. Wet Set dive shop (including snorkel tours) is part of the building. You can snorkel off the beach here as well with coral formations and plenty of fish, including big barracuda, only 50m out.
However the hotel itself could do with a fair bit of maintenance. The paint work is peeling, the corridors were dirty in the mornings (though clean by the pm), the door of our room rattled noisly in the breeze. The walls on the stairs and corridor on the upper floors were very low and a danger to anyone with a few drinks on board.
We stayed in PM twice during our visit to the region, this for the first visit but elsewhere for the 2nd as we wanted something a little less shabby particularly as the weather wasnt great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ojo De Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ojo De Agua

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez S.M. 2, Mza. 2, Lote 16 | Frac. Ojo de Agua, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ojo De Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojo De Agua Hotel
Ojo De Agua Puerto Morelos
Hotel Ojo De Agua Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ojo De Agua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.