We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach-mediocre rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ojo De Agua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ojo De Agua to your Saves list
Hotel Ojo De Agua
Av. Javier Rojo Gomez S.M. 2, Mza. 2, Lote 16 | Frac. Ojo de Agua, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great beach-mediocre rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel is in front of a beautiful stretch of beach in Puerto Morelos. Unfortunately the rooms are not all that nice. We had a room with a partial view of the water with a small balcony that we enjoyed using. The room itself was so-so. It was quite small and the walls were painted an odd colour. The bathroom was adequate but water pressure and hot water were not too plentiful. The staff were fine and helped us out calling taxis etc. I booked via email and there were no issues with the reservation or payment. The hotel also has free wireless which was great with a decent signal. You can use the chairs in front of the hotel but they are shared with the restaurant guests so chairs can be scarce. The guys who look after the beach will set up a chair and umbrellas for you and expect a small tip which was fine with us - they work very hard! When we were there someone had there bag stolen so be careful as this is a big public beach. We had an excellent rate for an adequate room and as we were moving on to a 5 star resort the next week - it was fine for a few nights. PS: the guy who stole the bag was caught and we saw him being led off the beach in handcuffs by the local police.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    20
    17
    21
See reviews for
24
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We just returned from 2 weeks at Ojo De Agua and found it warm, charming, authentically Mexican, and comfortable. The staff is great. They work hard to keep the hotel running smoothly. Our maid, Marie, was a true treasure. She works very hard every day to maintain the place. We always believe in showing our appreciation by tipping everybody the whole time. They really appreciate us noticing how hard they work to please us. The beach is fabulous with great swimming, snorkeling, walking, and people watching. The restaurant out front is most accommodating and the food and drinks are always refreshing. The hotel and town both feel very safe. We enjoyed many great restaurants, fabulous shopping, and the wonderful location on one of the nicest beaches on the Mayan riviera. If you want to be pampered by luxury this is not the place for you, but if you love Mexico and it's unique culture, then Ojo de Agua will feel like home. The studios are large but not that well equipped for cooking. If you plan on cooking ( we did not bother because eating out is inexpensive and fun) bring a good knife. There is no coffee maker, so bring a melita filter. The sheets and towels are threadbare and the furnishings are tired.....but you are on a fabulous beach and the price is incredible for the location. We always woke up at dawn and were on the beach walking only minutes later. It is fun to see all the dogs being walked at that time....a whole subculture. Many folks return to this hotel every year because of the great value and location. We will return one day as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The beach is great; the restaurant on the beach is nice. The rest blows. Broken shower head, no toilet seat, stolen credit card and stole bathing suit out of the room. Got a $10 discount from my troubles. This place should be $30/night and that is just for location. Beds are hard, pillows are made of scraps.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is on a lovely beach and is pretty central to Puerto Morelos which is a nice, not overly developed town, rare for the riviera Maya. Lots of locals use the beach on Sunday afternoons which is a good sign and very entertaining. The people in the hotel were friendly and helpful. The room was clean though it didnt seem to have a socket for recharging phone or camera. We used the beachside restaurant for lunch on the beach and it was good, loungers and umbrella for the beach was 150 pesos for 2. Wet Set dive shop (including snorkel tours) is part of the building. You can snorkel off the beach here as well with coral formations and plenty of fish, including big barracuda, only 50m out.
However the hotel itself could do with a fair bit of maintenance. The paint work is peeling, the corridors were dirty in the mornings (though clean by the pm), the door of our room rattled noisly in the breeze. The walls on the stairs and corridor on the upper floors were very low and a danger to anyone with a few drinks on board.
We stayed in PM twice during our visit to the region, this for the first visit but elsewhere for the 2nd as we wanted something a little less shabby particularly as the weather wasnt great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I was really worried about staying here because of the less than stellar reviews. It was so perfect for the way that we travel. This hotel needs a lot of work on the grounds etc, but, the rooms were clean and they had wifi and TV. It's right on a world class beautiful beach. We paid about $70 USD per night and had 2 rooms side by side. My daughter and her husband said some ants got into their room but, we think it was because we had a late night poker game and left some food around and they were gone the next day. You can walk one block and be where all the fantastic restaurants and shopping etc. We were here for a 3 night stay until our rental in Akumal was available. So glad we did I loved this little spot and would go back in a heartbeat. This is not the place for timeshare lovers but, for those that want a little athentic Mexico.
The Con's were that the pool was being worked on so it was drained and they really need to spruce up the grounds although the big beautiful Ocean is right there so no issue for us!
Pro's were they were painting and sprucing things up when we left and getting ready to fill the pool for the season. Loved the proximity to all the bars and restaurants..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Let me preface this by saying that I often stay at Motel 6. I do not have high expectations. I just want a clean room.

However, this place is so run down that it is less desirable than a Motel 6. The paint is peeling on the outside. This should have been a clue.

The front desk reception is great. Very helpful staff.

The hallways have burned out light bulbs. The room had a nice air conditioner that had been there for an amount of time, yet the wall still was unpainted & you could see the drywall. There was no cross breeze & no fan. The bathroom had one lonely light bulb in the ceiling. The towels were fraying on the edges & the detergent has a powerful perfume (maybe to make uo for the sewer smell?). No washcloths or hand towels were provided. Just 2 bath towels. The mirror was so ancient that it had all kind of large rust spots on it. The tile in the shower was chipping & the drain cover was broken.

Best of all,cold showers. When we heard the people from the next room complain that they had no hot water, we checked ours. It was hot. But 2 hours later it was cold & remained so through my morning shower. Not cool. Check the other reviews. This is a common complaint here. I stayed in low end hotels from Island Mujeres to Akumal & had hot showers the whole time. A lack of hot water is not common in the area. It is due to a lack of maintenance & care in general.

In addition, there are many safety hazards at this property. There are walls in the hallways that are short & would allow a child or drunk person to fall to their death from the third floor. Same goes for the balconies in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel had everything we needed:) Right on the beach, a pool, air conditioning and ceiling fans, kitchenettes, and an excellent restaurant!!
Mari was our maid and the room was kept very clean. There's tables & palapas on the beach if you order a drink or food or lounge chairs for a fee. (free loungers by the pool) The wifi is free but not reliable.
Just keep in mind its not a new hotel and you'll enjoy your stay:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ojo De Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ojo De Agua

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez S.M. 2, Mza. 2, Lote 16 | Frac. Ojo de Agua, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ojo De Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojo De Agua Hotel
Ojo De Agua Puerto Morelos
Hotel Ojo De Agua Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ojo De Agua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.