We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Pescador

La Casa del Pescador
Lighthouse Road, Puerto Morelos, Mexico
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Bath
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went here due to the review on Trip Advisor, and both ordered fish.
Mine came with jacket potato and vegetables, neither were cook properly.
The Grouper fish tasted horrible and after talking to someone in a 100 times better restraurent, said Grouper is out of season, so must have been frozen.
Unfortunately we are not Spanish speakers although the ? manager asked us why we left most of the food, understood when we said it was inedible but did nothing about it.
Fortunately, we have since found some truely excellant and inexpensve places to eat, usually where other Mexicans so and not tourists as it likely to be lower standard.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    14
    18
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great service at La Casa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We keep coming back!!! Great service; absolutely great fish. No hogfish this year so I had grouper instead. My guy had the garlic shrimp. A meal of perfection and I just love sitting and watching everyone in the square. The best part of the meal....their salsa is just delicious. You receive enough nachos to ward off hunger but give you plenty of room for your meal. Truly a joy to eat at this establishment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great fish, but here is what you need to know!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

On our first visit my wife and I immediately decided this was a 5-star place and that we would keep coming back; we each shared our respective servings and raved. However on our second visit, while the superb flavor was still there both of our fish dishes were overcooked. Since I am fluent in Spanish I asked the gentleman who appeared to be the owner if they had changed chefs and he became curious about why I asked. While he claimed there had been no change, to his credit he later came back to say he had alerted the chef.

In other words this place really knows how to cook fish to perfection and provide delicious flavor, thus I recommend taking a simple extra step to avoid their inconsistency (that hopefully has been remedied). For instance, explain that "at another restaurant you were served over-cooked fish and that someone recommended Casa del Pescador as the best" - That should do it!

Arrive early in order to secure the best seating by their front railing. They are located on the second floor with a great view of the the Plaza (on Morelos St, almost across from the Taxi stand). Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“if you love garlic......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had the garlic shrimp and it was wonderful. The veggies and baked potato were covered with garlic and butter also...good thing my husband likes garlic because I am sure I carried it with me to the next day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

AMAZING FOOD!!! Highly recommend this place! The food was delicious. Bacon and cheese stuffed jumbo shrimp..... need I say more. Our waiter provided great service and entertained us with napkin tricks and balancing beer on his head. Probably the best seafood we had on our trip and the prices were way cheaper then restaurants in Playa. 5 thumbs up to the boys at La Casa del Pescador!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa del Pescador also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Casa del Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Pescador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.